We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accommodations for a Couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Boston
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Accommodations for a Couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I were here for one night and it was a nice stay. We have not stayed in a Hilton in years, but it is what I remember. You get a decent room, clean bed, and good service. The room was not outdated and it was very clean. The staff at the Desk always was helpful and friendly, albeit appearing overwhelmed. The only thing I had trouble with was the noise from the neighbors. My husband sleeps through a storm, but I kept waking up by the people using the bathroom next door. Overall, we liked the hotel. It's a solid choice, but it won't knock your socks off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are very happy to hear that our front desk staff was friendly and helpful during your check-in experience, we will be sure to share that with their team! We apologize for any incovenience you experienced due to the noise next door and hope it didn't effect your experience too severely. We would love to host you again should you return to the area and have the chance to provide an experience that will knock your socks off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    683
    255
    81
    23
See reviews for
387
423
113
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willow Glen California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stay at lots of Hilton properties and this one is on the low end. The executive lounge requires that you use coupons for breakfast and have zero bar service. The room was dated and subpar. The location was good but this felt much more like a low end hotel than a flagship named. Will not be returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We apologize that you felt your experience did not live up to the Hilton standards and we were not able to meet your expectations. Our guests are our first priority and we strive to provide the best service and stay possible, so we take your feedback to heart and will share it with our team. We hope you will give us a second chance should you return to the Boston area so we can show you the true Hilton hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The staff is very accommodating and attentive. The only complaint that I have is a lack of an array of television programming options. If you plan to tour the city and don't plan to spend much time in your room, the television won't be a problem. Room service is excellent and the food us quite tasty.

Room Tip: Order room service! It is certainly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. It is a pleasure to hear that our staff was accommodating and you appreciated all the qualities of our convenient location. Our dining staff will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room-service meal and we will be sure to share that with them! Should you return to the Boston area in the future we would love the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great hotel, super-nice staff. Great location, very clean, super-nice lobby area. I enjoyed my stay, and will definitely stay again when in Boston on business -- they made the processes (checking in, checking out, etc) very smooth and easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Boston back bay. We are thrilled to hear that your experience was able to exceed your expectations and you got a feel for the Hilton hospitality in Boston. It is always a pleasure to hear that the staff were a part of a successful stay and able to make check-in quick and painless! We certainly hope you will return in the future should you come back to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The front desk was not managed well. My room wasn't ready (at 3pm) and the front desk wasn't able (for 30 minutes) to tell me when the room would be ready. The location is great, but there are too many other nice hotels in the area to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We truly appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience you faced during check-in. Our guests are our number one priority and we strive to provide the best Hilton service possible. We hope you will give us a second chance to show you the true Hilton hospitality should you return to the Boston area so you can enjoy our convenient location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This overall was a nice place to stay. I did have a little trouble with the hours of the coffee shop in the lobby. It was not open late enough for my needs. I would stay again if I had the chance and utilize the shopping nearby. The room was clean, fresh and comfortable. I really enjoyed the panoramic window.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay, we greatly appreciate all of your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and the view of Boston from the window, we apologize that our Starbucks couldn't accomodate your needs but we appreciate your feedback. Should you return to the area we would love to host you again so you can take advantage of the views and the great location in the heart of Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Location, and the staff, of this hotel are both simply outstanding. Each was always there to provide whatever service was necessary with a smile and, made my wife and I feel as if we were a regular guest within the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife felt at home during your recent stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the convenient location and that our staff went out of their way to exceed your expectations. It was our pleasure to host you during your first trip to New England and we certainly hope you will come back for a second visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.