We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Back Bay Parking Package
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Have stayed here many times and the room was a bit of a disappointment after the grand description. Lobby is unimpressive but lots of shopping within a stone's throw, Bathrooms typically disappointing Hilton type...very small with no shower stall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience here at the Back Bay Hilton! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    752
    292
    93
    28
See reviews for
423
470
121
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at this Hilton for four nights while at a conference at the Hynes. I was a little disappointed when the taxi first arrived as the reception area is stark but other things about the hotel made up for it:

1. The Diamond Club for Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members is very nice. HHonors members get coupons for access to the club which offers a better-than-expected breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, plus the usual cold offerings), snacks throughout the day (bags of chips & pretzels, dispensers with nuts), and hot evening hors d'oeuvres. The refrigerator is stocked with sodas, juices, and water 24-hours a day. It's on the ground floor next to the restaurant which helps to ensure that the hot items are hot and fresh.

2. As others have said, this hotel has a great location. There's a Trader Joe's around the corner and is an easy walk through the Sheraton across the street to access the Hynes convention center.

As expected, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I was a little surprised that the bathroom was so small (prepare to close the door part-way to get into the shower) but overall, I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed response of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton! I appreciate your very kind comments and I will be sure to share your feedback with hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hey, just wanted to give a shout out to a wonderful hotel that was the prefect location to walking to all the local spots. The beds were comfy, perfect for a great night in the hotel on business where I just wanted to relax. The views are much better from up top (my colleagues) room, but it was sufficient. The bartenders were great in the hotel bar for a great nightcap.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors! there is a starbucks downstairs too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you again for taking the time to post a detailed account of your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Back Bay Hilton is a full service, hotel, with the most accommodating staff you will ever wish to meet. this hotel always meets all of my needs. the location is superb for all types of events and shopping and tours of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment our staff! I am fortunate to have a great team that focuses on taking care of our guests, and I thank you for noting it! I look forward to welcoming you back to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Well kept property. Wonderful hhonors lounge, nice beds and kind staff. Within walking distance to subway and so many attractions. Would recommend and would stay here again. Very nice hilton property.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I am glad you found our location to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to Boston soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hilton while in Boston to see a game at historic Fenway Park, a bucket list destination of his. The hotel is ideally situated for anyone in town to see a game: it’s within comfortable walking distance of Fenway, and it’s also close to the Prudential Center – with shopping, sit-down chain restaurants, and a food court for quick dining. Unfortunately, I had an underwhelmed feeling for the two nights that we stayed there, which was only strengthened after we stayed at another, far superior Hilton during our return trip.

The lobby is small and cramped, which was further exacerbated by the fact that there were large tour groups staying at the hotel that would assemble there every morning, making us feel like we were navigating the crowds in Times Square on New Year's Eve in order to cross from the elevators to the door. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and the service was the slowest I’ve ever experienced – from the wait to be seated through the wait for the check, after we’d endured the wait for food. It was clear the large tour groups staying there had swamped the restaurant staff. I don't understand why hotels book these large groups and don't make arrangements to deal with the fact that the entire group is going to hit the restaurant at the same time. It just seemed like normal travelers like us got lost in the shuffle, and someone from the hotel management should have approached the tour management to discuss the impact they were having on the other guests. There was also considerable noise from the group in the hallways at night.

The channel selection for the television was extremely limited. We arrived the night before the game for which we had tickets, expecting to be able to watch that night’s game in our room, only to find out that the hotel doesn’t include NESN, which carries Red Sox games, in its channel selection.

We went to use the pool, which is good sized, only to find ourselves under the observation of what appeared to be the hotel's entire housekeeping staff taking a break on the attached sundeck. It was a little weird.

Check-in was slow, even as the only person in line, and both the front desk and the concierge kept referring us to the same restaurant for dinner, which had no availability on the nights we were there. Are they getting kickbacks from it? We ended up walking around the neighborhood until we found the Prudential Center, which has a number of places to eat.

The lobby "store" is bizarrely divided into two alcoves on either side of the reception desk. We were there for a day before we realized that cold drinks were in the other alcove.

On the plus side, we had a lovely King Bed Corner Room which appeared to be one of the updated rooms, decorated in forest greens and browns with a cute, curved sofa in the corner. The lighting was very good for a hotel room, which are usually awful for reading in, and there were outlets everywhere (i.e., built into the side of the nightstands.) The room and bathroom were both scrupulously clean. The pool area and fitness are updated and very nice for a downtown hotel.

However, if I ever find myself in Boston again, I would consider staying elsewhere. At the prices they charge, we deserved better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed response of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your very kind comments and I will be sure to share your feedback with hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great Location! Close to the "T". Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel bar was reasonable. Hilton Club was clean and nice selection of breakfast foods. Pool and work out area were well maintained. Hotel staff excellent! Will be returning!

Room Tip: View from eleventh floor was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I'm so glad that you had a great time here at the Back Bay Hilton and more importantly – enjoyed your weekend away! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Family Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.