We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Boston
epsom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great City Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A good location for Boylston Street and Newbury Street. A 20 min walk to Boston common and downtown. If you don'nt want to walk ( which is a nice walk down Newbury street which takes you to the common, as does Boylston street ) a sudway station is a coulpe of mins away. Comfortable clean rooms, friendly staff.Coffee shop selling Starbucks coffee till 6pm also a hotel bar which also serves breakfast.
We had breakfast in the executive lounge as we are gold card holders which serves the same as the bar.There is also a gym which we did not use.

Room Tip: We were upgraded as we are gold card holders, we had the corner room on the 24th floor with great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment the team and I am glad you enjoyed our location in the Back Bay! I look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    685
    258
    81
    23
See reviews for
390
425
113
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed on the 20th floor of this wonderful hotel for my husband's 3rd Boston Marathon! The location is ideal for business, shopping, restaurants and sight seeing. The hotel is very clean, internet worked great. We easily took the sub-way to the Sam Adams Brewery. The next day we walked to the Aquarium/IMAX, which is fabulous! On Sunday, we took the City Bus Tour; which we boarded right at the hotel, lots of sights and history. A special thank you, to Oneal, the security officer who looked out for me at 5am one morning while I went for coffee and who hooked us up with transportation to the airport the day after the race since getting out of the area was tricky! I would highly recommend staying here, we will return for sure! GO BOSTON!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I'm so glad that you and your husband had a great time here in Boston and more importantly – that you are both safe! Thank you again for taking the time to post a detailed account of your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Check-in was courteous and rapid; the corner-size room was large, though there was a dirty towel from a previous guest on the floor. The bathroom felt a little worn and dated.

For a brief overnight stay, it met requirements, but breakfast was ordinary, with limited buffet choices in a small room. Some of the hot food was quite tepid. The serving staff were effusive while actually doing little other than providing a bill (c$21) that already had the service charge filled in, plus a blank space for a further tip! This is poor practice.

The local Marriott, while usually more pricey, provides a better overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate your review of our hotel and value. I understand that you were disappointed with your breakfast and we will review our offerings, keeping your comments in mind. The next time you are in town please visit us again so we may show you the improved complete quality stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a review of our unplanned stay at the Hilton Back Bay on the day of the 2013 Boston Marathon and the bombings which took place just a few blocks from the hotel. It is also a heartfelt Thank You! to the staff of the Hilton, whose professionalism, dedication and kindness--to hotel guests as well as scores of others who were not--were beyond all expectations.

Our party of five walked into the Hilton lobby 10-15 minutes after the bombs exploded. We were seeking temporary refuge while we tried to figure out how to connect with our relative who was running in the marathon and how, or even if, we could get back to our lodgings in the suburbs. Of course, we also wondered about, and feared, the prospect of additional bombs exploding.

As we entered the lobby, Hilton staff were already offering water and blankets to those present and inquiring if anyone needed medical attention. We quickly began to realize the gravity of the situation and that we would have to “shelter in place.” To our surprise and great relief, the Hilton had a room available, at a price we'd expect to pay under more ordinary circumstances, and with the further availability of a double rollaway bed so everyone in our party would have a place to sleep.

Since the hotel's restaurant was serving meals to a huge number of people as well as providing sandwiches and other food to first responder personnel, they soon ran out of food. Despite this, they offered to make pizzas and provide room service if we would wait a couple of hours. We waited gladly and, in the interim, other staff allowed us to charge our cell phones using their personal chargers.

On top of all this, another hotel had to evacuate guests to the Hilton. These folks, as well as others who had to bunk down in the Hilton lobby, were provided blankets and served water and hot chocolate.

Under extraordinary and intensely challenging conditions throughout this long night and the following morning, hotel personnel--from housekeeping through management--exhibited kindness, patience and professionalism, with little outward concern for their own fatigue or fears.

If ever a hotel earned a figurative sixth star, the Hilton Back Bay unquestionably did on Patriot's Day, 2013. They also earned our deepest admiration and appreciation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed response of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton! I appreciate your very kind comments and I will be sure to share your feedback with hotel. The Marathon Bombings was an extremely difficult time for everyone and I am exceedingly proud of how my staff responded and took care of our guests in a time of need! I look forward to welcoming you backto Boston in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While visiting my niece in college, this was hotel was in the perfect location for us to walk and get around the city of Boston. Within walking distance of Newbury and Boylston Streets. Where is plenty of shopping and wonderful places to eat. Room was very clean and the staff was very accommodating to us checking in early. Parking garage is attached to the hotel. Overall experience was Excellent. Would stay here on our next visit to Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I'm so glad that you and your niece had a great experience at the Hotel! Making the most out of our convenient location is easy, with our hotel being in the heart of the Back Bay just steps away from some of the best eateries, shopping and transportation in Boston. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom could have used a little bit more attention but overall very good! The staff were awesome...especially Vernon! Very polite and ready and willing to assist.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you encountered. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our Guests deserve better. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were here on business with a couple days after for leisure. We have never been to Boston and happened to be there after the Boston bombing occurred. Despite the chaos surrounding this horrific event, the Hilton did everything they could to make us feel safe and were continuously updated on the current events as they happened. We never felt we were compromised in any way and it made our experience in Boston very memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I am delighted that your recent stay at the Back Bay Hilton was one that exceeded your expectations. Your wonderful compliments of the hotel are sincerely appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.