We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Location in Back Bay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Location in Back Bay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed here over st. patrick's day weekend. i booked the room through priceline package with united airfare (room was about $240 for 1 night). we checked in around 3pm, they pulled up my reservation immediately through priceline.com and gave me the key. the room was clean and tidy. the bathroom was nice, although a little small. the room had a flatscreen TV, desk/study, and lounge chair. there was also

i enjoyed my stay at the hotel. the staff was friendly, the room was nice and cozy and they have free internet in the lobby.

location was hard to beat. it is just minutes away from the hynes convention center. it is walking distance to boylston street and newberry st.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good hotel to stay in near back bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and appreciate your time and input on our property layout and amenities.We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    685
    257
    81
    23
See reviews for
389
425
113
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed in a mind-blowing selection of hotels in the Back Bay/Copley Place area as well as around the BCEC and I've finally reached a point after my third stay here where I've realised how poor the Hilton is as an option. The rooms are perfectly well appointed, but far behind the Sheraton and Marriott in the immediate area. The floors feel like a rabbit warren when finding a room away from the elevator. Breakfast is ok and the bar is nice enough in that it is away from the reception, but it lacks any atmosphere.

This hotel isn't bad, it's just that it's immediate neighbors are much better for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stays with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your time and input on our property layout and amenities and we will use your comments as we look for future refresh options. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the quality and value you expect from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed two nights for PLRB conference across the street. Hotel is a little older but clean & comfortable with easy access to conference center via Sheraton across the street. Was amazed at large fully functional fitness center with great views of falling snow & good size pool. Ladies room was really locker room with working medical scale & lockers & shower. Key features for me in hotel. Staff very helpful & friendly. Also, very quiet. Slept well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope that next time you’re in Boston you will consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good location in Boston Back Bay district, which is good shopping area, with walking access to Boston Common. Just opposite the Sheraton, which gives direct access into the Prudential Center and Boylston Street, good places to eat, shop and the 'T' Underground network. Nice lobby, with Internet access, though charges extra in the rooms. Decent pool and gym, open 24 hrs, not cheap, but I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am very happy to see you had such a great stay with us and you were able to enjoy the fitness center and the gym! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed one night when visiting on personal business. I stayed on the 24th floor and it was very quiet. The bathroom was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was no hairdryer in the unit which surprised me but isn't a big deal. I got a free voucher for breakfast since it was my first stay and they threw in another for my husband. The coffee was good and the breakfast was decent. There is a starbucks in the lobby with wifi.

The location is convenient witha subway 1.5 blocks away. You can cross the street and cut through the Sheraton and get to a large mall and subway. It was freezing when I was there so this was convenient. There are chain restaurants in the mall (e.g. Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs) but you can walk one - two blocks for other options.

Overall a good visit and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: It was pleasant to look out over the city from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your guestroom along with Breakfast in Forty Dalton. I am glad you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Boston soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

clean, comfortable and in a good, convenient location. No hot water one morning and the front desk apologized for the inconvenience and offered us free breakfast buffet while they worked on correcting the problem. Hot water was back on after breakfast. No complaints, and seemed to be good value for the area. Not fancy but nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to see you had such a great stay however I am sincerely sorry for the trouble with the hot water! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Spain
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This si a really good hotel in a Vero good Place in Boston very close to the train station and Downtown. The Room si large with a King size bed, good bathroom and very nice views.
Available free wifi at th lobby, something that I do not understand thinking about the price for one night when free wifi is not available in the room.

Starbucks in the hotel, good... For breakfast.

Good location near the shopping area and at 20 mns from airport by car.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is through such feedback that we are able to continually improve our property to exceed the needs of our guests. I am very happy to see you had such a great stay with us and I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Business Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.