We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not welcoming? Go somewhere else. Hospitality, cold/warm depending on who helps you.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not welcoming? Go somewhere else. Hospitality, cold/warm depending on who helps you.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Maybe it was just the day. The greeting and hospitality at the front desk was rude and hostile. Omar was less than helpful. We knew we would have to wait but who knew it would be sooooo long. He also said we would not get the rooms we reserved three months in advance. He said we just don't have them. Um, this is a hotel right. We had reserved 9 rooms with double beds for a school trip. He was trying to put us in rooms with one bed and roll aways. We could have stayed at a friends house if we wanted to sleep on the floor, the couch, a cot. He said we needed a special reservation. I showed our reservations he said that wasn't good enough. We have stayed there before with little or no problems, but this was unacceptable. The end result was a clean up crew. A manager who gave us upgraded rooms and a delightful hospitality person named Adrianna who I am sure was sent out for damage control. Geez, they could have avoided all of that stuff if Omar was just a bit nicer and more accommodating. Here's hoping this was just one bad day for the Hilton Back Bay. Going to try a new hotel next year. Sorry.

Room Tip: Away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with the Front Desk regarding your check in, have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to Boston next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    680
    255
    81
    23
See reviews for
388
423
112
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a nice enough place--about what you'd expect for a Hilton.

The staff is what stood out to me. From our check-in to the moment we left, I felt catered to in a way that doesn't happen all that often. Everyone had a smile, a kind word, and seemed intent on making us happy (which they did!). That sort of service goes a long way for me.

Room Tip: I'd guess the higher the better. It's a busy area and street noise is a given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am very happy to see our staff took such great care of you and that you were able to experience true Hilton Hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The service/ location/ room was great! Nothing to complain about. We were very satisfied with our stay.
We had the last floor room, which gave us the great city view. All attractions/ dining/ nightlife was available withing the walking distance. No car necessary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your following stay with us. It is through such feedback that we are able to continually improve our property to meet and exceed the needs of our guests. I am very happy to see you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hilton Boston Back Bay upon your next visit to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband aand I decided to stay in the city after seeing a musical. I found a great advancedrate so we decided to try it. For Boston inner city we got a $119/nite rate. We were about 12 blocks from the theatre but an easy walk. Didn't. Want to be near hospitals and dealing w sirens all night (we're quieter country folk). However once we settled down to go to.bed I heard a noise that sounded like a plane taking off or flying overhead. My husband astutely recognized it as the elevator motors working. We were adjacent to 3 elevators that ran all night. We were on the 15th floor. Eventually the constant hum lulled me to sleep. Highly recommend requesting a room away from elevator!
The thermostat was unresponsive so we cracked a window to cool room down.
Near lots of shopping or easy walk to a mbta stop.
Might consider another stay. Parkinf was $41 for the stay. Still cheaper than alrernative transportation from NH.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We always appreciate hearing from our Guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that the elevator noise and heating were some issue during your stay. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted and I have shared your review with our team. I do hope the next time you return to Boston you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
711 reviews 711 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I stay in Hilton properties all over the world. The Back Bay Boston Hilton is solidly in the middle of the pack. It has the kind of first-class service that you expect in a Hilton. We were very comfortable in our room, and the location is fabulous - not far from Copley Square and many other attractions in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to see our staff took such great care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Boson soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hotels for conferences, and this is one of the nicest. From the well-appointed rooms to the free bottles of water, the Hilton goes the extra step, despite having a somewhat captive audience. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. I am very happy to see you were able to experience true Hilton Hospitality and that you found the amenities to your liking! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hilton Boston Back Bay upon your next visit to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, ma.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hilton Back Bay, Boston, for Valentine's Day. The hotel is situated close to many restaurants and shops. If it wasn't so cold out we probably would have done more outside exploring. Our room was nicely decorated and clean, and we had a Charles River water view which was nice, as well.
We arrived at 3 pm only to find our room was not ready. when it was, 40 minutes later, the check in service lacked information other than room number and key. No mention about internet wifi, ( even though we found the pw wrapped in the key envelope and being a Hilton Honor Member we got 1 invite for breakfast, with nothing being said about that.
If i had to chose another Hilton in Boston would probably stay at Logan Airport. We liked it there much better.

Room Tip: request a room on upper floors facing The Charles River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience here at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. I'm very sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional Guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Business Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.