We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Save Saved
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Back Bay Parking Package
Ranked #47 of 77 hotels in Boston
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel has a very good location, a few minutes from Newbury Street, Prudential Place and Copley Square. Staff was very kind and helpful. They helped me with every request I made, including rushing an urgent Fedex mail to my room. Rooms are a bit plain and there is not much to see looking out of the window but I had a very good stay here. I rarely use swimming pools and gyms in these type of hotels but I used them here and both were good. Particularly gym. Pool was nice but it was very small for laps. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I need to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took such great care of you! All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    619
    227
    71
    21
See reviews for
353
383
106
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is our fourth or fifth multi-day stay at this hotel and likely the last one as well. The location is good and lobby is nice. The variety and quantity of the breakfast is also good. On the downside, parking costs $41 per day and there are few alternatives. More importantly, because it has always been an issue to find reasonable parking there, is that the rooms are in need of renovations. Primarily, the beds are uncomfortable. They are old and likely to negatively affect your sleep. The bathrooms are also in need of major cleaning and upgrades. The bath gets clogged and if you spend more than 30 seconds you will be standing in unclean water ankle high. The shower head can also use an upgrade. The flushing in the toilet is VERY noisy. Almost $500 for two nights (with parking) is not a good deal. Finally, there is a good gym and an okay pool but not a very clean one - one can see many hairs floating in the water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent 3 nights here for a holiday before heading to NY. The Staff were absolutely amazing, cannot fault them one bit. The hotel was in a great location. Close to the train station, all the shopping and about a 20 minute walk from the parks (Boston Common & Public Garden) and more shopping. Very big Town but also very homey! I loved Boston. The Hard Rock Cafe was great too!! Definitely visit to the Quincey Market are you are a food lover -- just food stands / restaurants / bars all the way through -- i didnt know where to look first!!

The hotel really was amazing and if you can get a high floor with a view of the Charles River you are in for a treat! What an amazing view! And the rooms were amazing -- stocked with coffee everyday for the coffee machine and new bottles of water.

A trip to Salem is a must. We visited around Halloween so it was extra FAB but definitely take a day trip there -- you wont regret it!!

Would definitely visit here again and stay at the Hilton!

Room Tip: Request a High Floor Room with a View of the Charles River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at the Hilton Boston Back Bay! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent four nights in a standard double-double room at the Back Bay Hilton the week before Thanksgiving and had a great time! Some "pros":

* Location! Close to a lot of cool stuff, including the Prudential Center mall (accessible through the lobby of the Sheraton across the street), Newbury Street, Copley Square, and public transportation. It was only about a fifteen-minute walk to the Museum of Fine Arts!
* Price--although in Boston this is all relative
* Friendly and attentive staff. They go out of their way to help. We didn't hear the word "no" our entire stay. When we had a tiny bit of trouble checking in, the front desk gave us a coupon for free wireless internet (which is spottty, but at what hotel isn't it spotty?). Genuinely nice people on the Back Bay Hilton staff
* Relatively big rooms compared to other Back Bay hotels at which I've stayed
* Clean bathrooms with nice toiletries
* World-record level water pressure in the showers! Wow!
* A Starbucks in the lobby!
* A small but well-equipped fitness center and pool/whirlpool

Some "cons":
* As others have noted, the walls are not exactly soundproof. You can hear people talking in the next room, and the jet engine-like toilet flush noise from next door woke me up early on a couple of mornings
* Rather small and cramped lobby (not good for people watching, if you're into that)

One other note: there are only three elevators, and in other reviews, I read complaints about how slow they are. We never waited more than two minutes for an elevator during our stay, and the hotel seemed to be pretty full. Several times we walked into the lobby and found an empty elevator waiting for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you had a great experience with us at the Hilton Boston Back Bay and that our team members took such great care of you!. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was in Boston for the weekend on business - a trade fair at the Hynes Center right across the street. I had a huge, corner room in which I could have had a cocktail party for more than 20 people, had I been so inclined! I'm a Hilton Silver Honors member, but this particular hotel does not have an Executive floor with the usual perks. However, the woman who checked me in quietly gave a tickets for breakfast in the "special" breakfast room, just to the side of the main dining-room; the buffet breakfasts were excellent. I also had a very good dinner there on the Friday night that I checked in; the waiter was rather overwhelmed as there was a huge loud crowd at the bar; however, when that crowd dissipated and more wait staff was brought in, I was served pleasantly and with good humour. In addition, the food was very, very good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hilton Boston Back Bay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that out Food & Beverage staff were helpful. I will be sure to share your comments and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night for a girls night in Boston. Around $200 for the night total. Great, safe location with many attractions within walking distance. Lots of restaurants close by. Hotel itself was clean and everyone was very friendly. Linens and toiletries were very nice and bathroom is bright and clean. Parking is expensive but that is to be expected. Loved that Starbucks was downstairs in the lobby. We also enjoyed the coffee in the room. There was some street noise from the room so if you are a light sleeper this may be a problem, but we were ok with it. Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return to Boston soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a 2nd visit in about 14 months. We are Hilton Gold and again we were upgraded to one of the panoramic rooms. On our last visit it was raining so the view was wasted; this time we got to enjoy the view even though we weren't in the room that much. It seems people can get this hotel for a wide range of prices, but for us it is reasonable (low end $$) and a great location. The two best things about this hotel are the staff; everyone is pleasant and helpful. And the shower, we don't know if the all the showers in the hotel have the same water pressure and double shower heads but I would book here again just for shower :-). The cons that others have mention about internet speed - yes it is inconsistent and slow but this is common in many hotels; and the cable/dish TV had a picture stuttering issue (didn't report because non-issue for us but probably should have because it may be correctable).

Room Tip: Go to Room77 - great website about rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share and I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
#38 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.