We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Save Saved
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Back Bay Parking Package
Ranked #47 of 77 hotels in Boston
Wuppertal, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel specifically, as it was close to the Prudential Centre and the fact that the trolley stop is outside. The Hilton is opposite the Sheraton (where the trolley stop is), and to get to the Prudential Centre, go into the Sheraton, left up the escalator, then straight ahead and right to the shops....easy.

We had booked our hotel via a consolidator, who shall remain nameless, but provided us with weeks of worry after we had booked and then found the reviews online. If booking via someone, always call the hotel a couple of weeks before, to check you do actually have a room..

We came off a cruise ship early Sunday. Room not ready, but staff stored our bags in a locked room, whilst we went on our hoho tour.

When we checked in, we were offered a king or double. We went for the king. We had room 613. On getting in there, and flopping on the bed for a nap, we started hearing strange noises......as if the T train was going past our door! On investigation, we found it to be resonance from the elevator shaft, as our room was directly behind. Luckily, at night this is not a problem, but anyone wanting to sleep before 10 pm or after 7 am, be warned. It is most annoying. Also, flushing the toilet in the bathroom produced a sound as if the toilet was exploding.Weird.

Room itself fine, bed comfy, ac quiet if u put the fan on low. Has a window that opens, for some fresh air. Breakfast is ridiculosly priced at USD 17. Food court and food concessions in the Mall provide everything much cheaper. Also there is a branch of Legal Seafoods there, plus other dining options.

We used the free wifi in the lobby. During the day, found lots of other locations with free wifi, so no issues with no free wifi in the room.

All staff were extremely friendly, although the concierge was notable by his absence during almost all our stay.....

We would only stay there again if we got a room with no elevator noise.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the elevator noise you encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in Boston you will consider staying with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    591
    216
    67
    21
See reviews for
327
362
105
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A great location for exploring Boston as almost all the Hop On Hop off tours stop just outside the entrance. Room very large (especially as had just come from a Washington DC Hotel! and clean. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Arrived on a Saturday just in time for a RedSox game at Fennway so hotel busy but quiet during the night. Starbucks in lobby great for breakfast but take your own butter!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our Team Members took such good care of you and you found the amenities of our property to your liking. Upon your next visit, please do not hesiate to be in touch with our food and beverage team to supply you with butter for your breakfast!

Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wi-Fi is bad in the rooms...for $14.95 a day (which is RIDICULOUS), it is a slow and poor connection.
$45 for room service for 2 eggs, bacon, toast & coffee??? Seriously???

Other than that the hotel was clean and the room was clean and well kept for guests.

I would recommend it for folks who are not in town on business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience with room service while at our hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate Guest needs and meet Guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located to shopping in back bay and Fenway Park. A subway station is only a block away for connecting to the north end. The room was clean and spacious. We were very pleased with our stay. The cost was over $100 less per night that comparable hotels on the harbor.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Can't add much to what others have already said. Do be forewarned that they will charge your credit card OR place a hold on your debit card up front for the entire stay which, in our case, was over $1,200. In addition, they will do the same for $50 per night. In my case, this was over $1,400 hold on my debit card. Due to an "error", they placed a hold for another $200 (now over $1,600). I go to investigate the charges. Told they would reverse the additional $200. HOWEVER, they placed a hold for yet another $100! It was not until I checked out that I was finally charged the proper amount.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a Hilton, so overall it is usually a nice hotel. The hotel is well located, walking distance to Fenway, the Prudential Building, the shopping mall and a lot of placed to eat. It is in front of the Sheraton that has a stop where all the duck tours and sightseeing tours stop and take people. The hotel offered free Wi-Fi on the lobby, and has a business center with computers and TV’s. They charge an additional amount of $15 for WI-FI in the room, that other cheaper hotels offer for free. There is also a Starbucks coffee bar on the lobby. The rooms are comfortable and clean, even though the bathroom is quite small for the room size, but it was clean. Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel was as you'd expect from a Hilton in a large city. Massive room, spotless, large bathroom, all the modern facilities you'd expect. Efficient staff, very helpful doorman who was genuinely interested in the guests and what they had planned in Boston. Ours was a quick stay, just a 1 night stopover to watch the Celtics game. Great location if you want to go to Fenway Park for the Red Sox. From the hotel we bought hop on/hop off bus ticket as the bus stops right around the corner, and had a crash course of the city on the way to the game.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Bar/Lounge, Cit...
Show More
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#58 of 77 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,067 reviews
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay / Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Ch...
Show More
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place
Charming, Resta...
Show More
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Family-friendly...
Show More
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.