We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Save Saved
You added Hilton Boston Back Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Back Bay Parking Package
Ranked #45 of 77 hotels in Boston
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A great location for exploring Boston as almost all the Hop On Hop off tours stop just outside the entrance. Room very large (especially as had just come from a Washington DC Hotel! and clean. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Arrived on a Saturday just in time for a RedSox game at Fennway so hotel busy but quiet during the night. Starbucks in lobby great for breakfast but take your own butter!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our Team Members took such good care of you and you found the amenities of our property to your liking. Upon your next visit, please do not hesiate to be in touch with our food and beverage team to supply you with butter for your breakfast!

Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    608
    222
    71
    21
See reviews for
346
377
106
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wi-Fi is bad in the rooms...for $14.95 a day (which is RIDICULOUS), it is a slow and poor connection.
$45 for room service for 2 eggs, bacon, toast & coffee??? Seriously???

Other than that the hotel was clean and the room was clean and well kept for guests.

I would recommend it for folks who are not in town on business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience with room service while at our hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate Guest needs and meet Guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located to shopping in back bay and Fenway Park. A subway station is only a block away for connecting to the north end. The room was clean and spacious. We were very pleased with our stay. The cost was over $100 less per night that comparable hotels on the harbor.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Can't add much to what others have already said. Do be forewarned that they will charge your credit card OR place a hold on your debit card up front for the entire stay which, in our case, was over $1,200. In addition, they will do the same for $50 per night. In my case, this was over $1,400 hold on my debit card. Due to an "error", they placed a hold for another $200 (now over $1,600). I go to investigate the charges. Told they would reverse the additional $200. HOWEVER, they placed a hold for yet another $100! It was not until I checked out that I was finally charged the proper amount.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a Hilton, so overall it is usually a nice hotel. The hotel is well located, walking distance to Fenway, the Prudential Building, the shopping mall and a lot of placed to eat. It is in front of the Sheraton that has a stop where all the duck tours and sightseeing tours stop and take people. The hotel offered free Wi-Fi on the lobby, and has a business center with computers and TV’s. They charge an additional amount of $15 for WI-FI in the room, that other cheaper hotels offer for free. There is also a Starbucks coffee bar on the lobby. The rooms are comfortable and clean, even though the bathroom is quite small for the room size, but it was clean. Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel was as you'd expect from a Hilton in a large city. Massive room, spotless, large bathroom, all the modern facilities you'd expect. Efficient staff, very helpful doorman who was genuinely interested in the guests and what they had planned in Boston. Ours was a quick stay, just a 1 night stopover to watch the Celtics game. Great location if you want to go to Fenway Park for the Red Sox. From the hotel we bought hop on/hop off bus ticket as the bus stops right around the corner, and had a crash course of the city on the way to the game.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had to change rooms an hour after check in due to confusion about the number of beds reserved - not entirely the hotel's fault as the first in our party to check in hadn't made the reservation and so wasn't aware of the problem. It was a nice showcase of the on-the-fly skills of the desk and housekeeping staff that they made this painless.

Our eventual room was lovely and the pool and workout area were top-notch. Unfortunately my view of the whole stay is colored by the truly awful experience we had at the restaurant for dinner. I suppose we should have been warned off by the fact that the place was deserted on a Friday night. The waitress seemed harried and didn't even take drink orders. After ordering we waited for over half an hour to learn that they only had two orders left of a dish that three of us had picked (the only meat-free entree!). One of the three picked a different entree, and we waited another half an hour for our food. This is not hyperbole, we waited *an hour* from the time we ordered until the food was brought to us. The food was a mixed bag - those who ordered seafood enjoyed it, the pasta was sub-par. There was a piece of what appeared to be lobster shell inside a veggie ravioli! We raised this last issue with the waitress and she offered 20% off that entree, but when the check came the discount was taken on a different dish. Not worth fighting over since the cost was the same, but just seemed like the place was a mess.

Interestingly, we had similar though less extreme issues when getting breakfast at the Starbucks in the lobby. The barista didn't know the menu and gave us the wrong breakfast sandwiches before another passing employee got us all straightened out. It would be great if the staff and logistics of the dining options within the hotel could be brought up to the standard set by the desk and housekeeping staff.

Again I'll say that the hotel was nice enough, but I just can't get over the restaurant. Given that the restaurant is in the hotel and touted in all their literature, I think it's fair to bring my rating down over it. I would give the hotel a 4, but the restaurant a one, so I settled on 2 overall.

Room Tip: Don't eat at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, eCommerce at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with your entrée and the service provided. I have brought your comment to the attention of our Food and Beverage Department and we are actively reworking our offerings and service with your recommendations in mind. The next time you are in Boston, we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#38 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Boston Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.