We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate European style hotel, charming with superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eliot Hotel to your Saves list
Eliot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
“Intimate European style hotel, charming with superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Eliot hotel is the rare hotel in the USA that still manages to have old world charm, but yet has two of the most chic, modern, upscale restaurants as part of the hotel. It's really best of both worlds. Rooms are well appointed, spacious, and super comfortable. Wonderful beds and bedding and some rooms have treasured views over the park in the center of Commonwealth Avenue. It's truly the only hotel to stay in when visiting Boston.

Room Tip: rooms with windows facing the front of the hotel have extra charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    183
    65
    29
    23
See reviews for
207
194
29
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there to celebrate our 33 anniversary, after a nice, late evening out we were very much looking forward to sleeping a bit late ( a luxury) but house keeping knocked on our door at 9 AM and didn't stop until my husband got up to answer! Least to say, we were not pleased.
Room was lovely, location excellent..but pretty much our whole experience was soured but this event.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph P, Assistant General Manager at Eliot Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
I wish to thank this guest for taking the time to share her experience being a guest at the Eliot Hotel and for her kind comments about our rooms and location. It is also an honor that we were chosen to be the hotel to celebrate such a momentous occasion as a 33rd wedding anniversary for which we extend congratulations!

I wish to apologize for the disruption this guest experienced from our housekeeping staff in the morning, but it is important for the TripAdvisor readership to know that we seriously honor "do not disturb" requests. Once a "do not disturb" sign is hung on the guestroom door, no staff will knock or enter the room under any circumstances, unless of course there is some emergency. Our prospective guests can have confidence that we will certainly honor a "do not disturb" request to ensure their privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I agree with all the positive things that other reviewers have mentioned: proximity to the T, close to Fenway Park, 5 minutes from Newbury St, friendly service. We had a suite: nice and spacious. But, you must avoid Room 110: in the bedroom there was a pipe with a noisy sound like a loud mechanical rumbling all 24 hours. We were very tired upon arrival and ignored the noise but the second and last night it really bothered us. So, if you are assigned Room 110, don't accept it.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Visited the hotel for two nights this past weekend. I initially chose it because it was close to the T in a location that I enjoy, but I found the hotel to be very pleasant. It's smaller so you don't get visitors wandering through and attention to detail seems to be a focus: front desk is always available for you rather than making you wait, and doormen are always standing by. Hard to put the experience into words, so I'll just say that it would easily be the place I'll choose again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at The Eliot Hotel with my parents for 4 days and had a one room suite. Room was big and spacious and the staff was very helpful. Every morning Manny the doorman would ask us how we were doing and ask how our big went and wS very friendly. Location was key...15 minute walk to Copley Square, 10 minute walk to Prudential Center, 15 minute walk to Fenway Park and just a short cab ride to downtown Boston. Also close to the #1 bus stop to MIT and Harvard. The stay at the hotel was great and if we are back in Boston, The Eliot would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Eliot Hotel. Very accommodating and efficient staff, and a great location if you're going to Fenway Park, BU, or the Newbury Street/Pru Center/Copley Square shopping scene. Two excellent restaurants in the hotel: Clio and Uni. We had a nice two part suite on the 7th floor which was very comfortable. Quiet even though facing Comm Ave; very comfortable pillow top king bed, two flat screen TVs, free WiFi (always appreciated), and Keurig machine. The bathroom was pretty small, but had an area on the way in for makeup, and the walk-in shower was tastefully arranged despite it being a little narrow. A couple of minuses: (1) no free newspaper in the AM; (2) ice wasn't readily accessible; maid went to another floor to get it; (3) no real bar area for guests....after the Red Sox night game, we tried to have a drink in the bar in the hotel at Clio, there being no other option. The bar was packed, there were tables open, and the hostess said we couldn't sit at one since they were reserved for Clio patrons, even though we were hotel guests. So we had to walk over to Towne Stove at Pru to get a drink. They tout the restaurants in the rooms, but if you're not eating there, forget about having a drink there unless you can snare a seat at the bar. It was a Saturday night, albeit before college starts, and it was still packed. They have valet parking for the car, a plus on the very busy corner of Comm Ave and Mass Ave. So on balance, we liked it and will definitely add it to our list of nice places to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights (a family of 3) and had a mini suite in the 8th floor. The room was great with windows on two sides. It included tea and coffee facilities plus a fridge. The hotel was about a 10 minutes walk to shops and restaurants and 5 minutes to the underground. Staff were friendly throughout our stay. Only point to note is the hotel has no lounge although this would not stop us visiting again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.