We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eliot Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eliot Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Very good indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Location great - close to Newbury etc for shopping and dining.  Public Garden and Boston Common a 10-15 walk away. Close to river etc. 

Rooms very nice - spacious, elegant, clean, quiet. Comfortable beds. Quality linen and towels. Good complimentary wi-fi. We did miss a coffee machine in the room though. 

Service - exceptional at every level. Front desk, bell men, housekeeping, all super friendly and accomodating.

We travel with two young children, and we always appreciate when they are welcomed and cared for. The staff at Eliot made them feel very special. Thank you! 

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    168
    61
    27
    22
See reviews for
186
167
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Eliot Hotel, and not only are the rooms spacious and comfortable, the STAFF is second to none! Top-notch service! They go way out of their way to help. For example, when we arrived by car, Manuel came running up and insisted that I not get out until he brought me an umbrella. Less than 30 seconds later, he had one for me. "Is there anything I can do for you?" was a common question.
The Eliot is a home away from home and the location IS PERFECT! I highly recommend it, whether you're on a romantic getaway or have your children with you.

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing Commonwealth Avenue. We were on the third floor, but didn't hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I travel a lot for work and stay at many hotels so when I go away with my family I really look for something of high quality and family friendly. This hotel is rated number 2 for families and the Four Seasons is number 1. I chose this hotel based on a recommendation by a friend with pretty high standards.

Overall my stay was pretty good but it was close to being great. The location is obviously fantastic. The rooms were renovated about 2 years ago so all pretty new and nice. The staff varied from average to great. Breakfast was very good and staff excellent. Front desk was all right. They were responsive and very good with basic requests but what lacked was the creative solutions that you would expect from a higher quality hotel. For example my check out time extension request was a flat out no as opposed to we will try to work something out on the day. I had two rooms so they certainly could come up with something. Little things like movies - children TV shows are available but you pay every time it is watched. Why not charge one fee for unlimited viewing? And if you want to be a great family friendly hotel maybe have baby baths available for us. Just simple fixes. I spoke to the assistant general manager and he made a huge effort to resolve my requests and I must say I was very satisfied with his efforts.

Other comments would be comfy beds, nice rooms (a bit noisy but probably due to Boston buildings just being old), excellent location, great breakfast and pretty good value.

Overall, a pretty good experience here and would stay again depending on the price of the Four Seasons.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Eliot has a fantastic location offering the best of the back bay, while also providing easy access to Fenway Park. The staff were very nice and professional, and the rooms were clean big and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the first check in, to the check out and all points in between the staff could not do enough to help. They checked out which sports bars were showing the world cup on TV so myself and business colleagues could get to see the games that were on. They were courteous, helpful, knowledgeable and just really nice people. The room was clean, comfortable and with a sense of luxury. Altogether a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. I would recommend the hotel for business and leisure equally. It is only a short walk away from many bars and restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My daughter and I were so pleased to come across the Eliot Hotel on Tripadvisor. When we arrived it was incredibly hot and we were very tired, we were upgraded to a suite on floor 10 and had a beautifully furnished pair of rooms to relax in. The door staff helped us out looking after the hire car and we were able to follow their excellent directions. It is only a few minutes from the shops in Newbury street, and maybe 20 walking to Fenway Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at Eliot Hotel for attending a wedding in Boston for 2 nights. The room was decorated nicely, super clean and well upgraded with enough power outlet for our modern needs with fast WiFi. The staffs were very friendly and attentive to any extra services. They even had an umbrella in the closet in case we needed one. It was located close to many restaurants, shops and baseball stadium. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.