We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best find in Boston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eliot Hotel to your Saves list
Eliot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best find in Boston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Eliot Hotel is absolutely the best find in Boston. Centrally located: walking distance to great restaurants, shops, everything. Service exceptional. Sleep quality exceptional (room are a suite). Food exceptional. You're getting a 5 star hotel at a discount. Imagine the Four Seasons packaged in a small european feel hotel. If you haven't stayed at the Eliot, the next time you are in Boston DO. Well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    197
    65
    30
    24
See reviews for
225
209
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here with my daughters during the week to see a concert at the House of Blues. I picked the hotel because it was within walking distance to the concert. The bonus was how close it was to Newbury Street. Our stay more than exceeded my expectations. The suite was beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The pillows were all down and best I've had in a hotel. The suite easily accommodated five of us. We truly enjoyed the chocolate cookies left for us after a long day of shopping and the Keurig coffee maker was a nice touch. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful with our car and our bags. We arrived three hours before check -in and our room was ready for us and on check out they stored our bags while we toured Boston before leaving. The added bonus was how easy it was to get on I90 to leave the city - literally two turns. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an elegant boutique hotel near Fenway, House of Blues or Newbury Street for a family trip, romantic weekend or girls trip for shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband, son and daughter in law were in Boston overnight to see a Red Sox game. We wanted a hotel close by the stadium. I booked on line never expecting the type of hotel we pulled up to. The most beautiful boutique hotel on the most gorgeous block. So convenient to many things. Around the corner from Newbury Street and about a 10 mintue walk from the stadium. The hotel was charming, the service was exceptional. From the bellhops to the parking valets to the front desk everyone couldnt be nicer. The room was really nice and so clean and the beds very comfortable. I will only stay at this hotel when I come back to Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The staff are courteous, extremely helpful and the attention to detail puts this hotel above the rest. Very comfortable and great location - walking distance to restaurants, shops, Fenway, museums & galleries and easy access to Harvard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our stay at the Eliot for our honeymoon was perfect. The room was large and very clean. We had everything we needed, and the staff was extremely accommodating. The location was also the perfect starting point for all the activities we wanted to do whether it was shopping, getting great coffee, walking the riverside, catching a game at Fenway, or taking the train to Cambridge or Newton.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Eliot (one bedroom suite, two double beds) when we visited Boston for the 10-year anniversary celebration of the 2004 Red Sox "curse-breaking" world series win. My wife had scored my daughter and me tickets to the game.

To be honest, we chose the Eliot largely because of its walking proximity to Fenway (about ten minutes each way). But that's just an added perk. The Eliot is a jewel. From the moment the doorman ushered us in, we felt as if we'd stepped into a 5-star European boutique hotel.

The lobby is not one that impresses with size, but rather with its intimacy, charming ambience, and attention to detail.

Check-in was efficient, and we found ourselves in our corner suite within five minutes of arrival. The suite was larger than we expected: a kitchenette (with a Keurig brewer), a living room with views of both Commonwealth and Massachusetts Avenues, and plenty of seating (including a pull-out couch).

Waiting for us on the living room table were delicious chocolate-chocolate chip cookies wrapped in gift cellophane and tied with a bow.

The roomy bedroom, with two double beds, is separated by beautiful French doors, adorned in white sheers for privacy. Soundproofing was excellent; with the French doors closed, we did not hear the television in the living room.

The bathroom, accessible from the bedroom, was immaculate. It features a shower, but no tub (which suited us fine). This is the one room that is a touch on the tight side. The toilet and sink are right next to each other. My wife got a nasty bruise on her elbow when she accidentally hit the sink.

The Eliot does something very right--it provides an abundance of pillows. My wife was pleased. She often requests extra pillows at other hotels (even when we've stayed in suites). There was no need this time. "Every hotel should provide this many," she said with a happy sigh.

Because my wife did not attend the game, she ordered room service. The crispy Asian dumplings, which she insisted that my daughter and I try, were, we all agreed, the best we've ever had.

The beds were comfortable. We slept soundly (and contentedly--the Sox won that night).

We highly recommend the Eliot.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor, a corner suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our stay at the Eliot was booked at short notice for our first stay in Boston. What a find! We were upgraded on arrival and found our room on the eighth floor to be extremely spacious and comfortable desite not having a view. We had one excellent meal at the in house restaurant Clio. The menu was interesting and the food great, the waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and the wine. Pity there was not enough time to try their Uni Sashimi Bar too. We spent two days walking and visiting the sights close by and to top it all Newbury Street was around the corner for incredible retail therapy. Lovely city, lovely people. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.