We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eliot Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eliot Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 77 hotels in Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great location, traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The suites at the Eliot are very comfortable, traditional and offer great value. The room service menu was eclectic and more interesting than the usual room service offerings. Service is good, only room for improvement is in the valet parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    164
    61
    27
    21
See reviews for
172
162
26
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel in December 2013 after a night out with friends. It has a beautiful lobby, clean and elegant with a professional staff that made me feel welcome. I thought it was a great value. It is a short walk for shopping on Newbury and Boylston Street. It was a easy walked to Fenway Park. I have stayed at a number of hotels in Boston. I think this is the best value for the experience.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with a separate living room and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

First let me start by saying we travel a lot and have seen quite a few hotel rooms. The room size and layout is a great value. Well decorated and very clean. Overall a good experience. Now for the nitty gritty... We stayed over NYE and it was hard regulating the room temp. We had to turn the heat off completely because it was far too warm to sleep. Even then, the temp was never great. The temperature and bed was probably the worst part of our stay. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. We barely slept the two nights we were there. The bathroom, although adequate and aesthetically pleasing, was not as functional as we like when traveling. The only electrical outlet was by the toilet and sink even though there was a nice mirrored vanity area, it made it tough to use a hair dryer anywhere other than in the front entry using the coat closet door mirror. The shower was one that only has a half glass wall and no door making it chilly even while showering. No fan in bathroom which was also an issue when trying to get rid of steam etc.
our rate included continental breakfast in Clio, which was very good, but the waitstaff was not very easy to communicate with.
For reference we booked a king suite.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after going to a wedding. Wife picked the hotel and since she has a nose for this stuff I didn't question. I liked the feel of the hotel as soon as I entered the lobby as it has a lot of character. It was my wife's birthday and they were kind enough to upgrade us to a corner suite. Our room was huge! The bed was firm and very comfortable and the hotel is close to restaurants and the train stops. We did not need a car. For a weekend in Boston this hotel met our needs and we definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our recent stay at the Eliot was a huge disappointment. We planned a short trip to Boston, and the Eliot came highly recommended. While the staff was pleasant, the hotel is tired and in need of a face-lift. Our bedroom was so dark, I asked for an extra light. Housekeeping did a poor job- we went out for the day and when we returned, our pillows were just as we had left them- tossed on the chairs of the sitting room- the beds were lumpy and not neatly made.When I asked the evening housekeeper about it, she told us she was just there to turn down the beds, and that it was the morning housekeeping staff's problem, not hers. The hallways and staircases were not clean with dust on the edges of the stairs. The restaurant's restroom smelled of urine. At Clio, we both ordered the truffle risotto special. The entrees were so salty we returned them. After we complained, our waitress sent over an officious captain who all but suggested we didn't know what truffles should taste like! We assured him we did, and that the ones they brought us were wildly oversalted and impossible to eat. We will certainly not return, and I would advise travelers to avoid this overpriced, poor place.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph P, Assistant General Manager at Eliot Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It is regrettable this guest’s experience was fraught with disappointment. This experience is clearly the antithesis of what we strive so hard to provide, impeccable accommodations and unsurpassed service. Although the hotel’s accommodations are continually upgraded and maintained, I am excited to inform all potential guests that as of January of this year, all of the rooms in the hotel will be newly decorated, creating a new modernity featuring crisp clear lines, flatter surfaces and warm, relaxing colors, resulting in a product that would be pleasing to even the most discerning guests.

I would like to apologize to this guest for the extremely callous and unprofessional response of the housekeeper. I wish to assure all prospective guests that this is contrary to our standards and is being investigated with the utmost priority. Our entire staff has been groomed to be proactive and highly attentive to all our guest’s needs, something we take great pride in, and certainly not anything we wish to jeopardize. I am grateful this has been brought to our attention.

Lastly, our restaurant Clio’s manager who was the “captain” this guest refers to recalls the event. As a restaurant of Clio’s caliber and with national reputation, the entire staff is always concerned whenever a patron is dissatisfied. The experienced and knowledgeable manager did not intend to challenge the guest’s assessment, but simply tried to obtain more information to determine weather there was a genuine flaw or simply a matter of subjectivity.

Although striving for perfection is our mission, problems can, nevertheless, arise, in which case it is usually best to make one’s concerns known soon as soon as possible; this way, the hotel has an opportunity to address the problem and find the best resolution to ensure guest satisfaction. I invite this guest to contact me directly the next time he or she visits Boston. If so we will ensure a stay that is commensurate with both of our expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very convenient location- minutes from the T. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Have stayed in many hotels in Boston- this will become our go to hotel in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed here 3times-most recently for New Years Eve 2012. The hotel is in a great location and is vey comfortable and quiet. The service is great and the rooms a very clean.

I would rate it higher, but the front desk needs to be briefed on the packages they offer. There was a bit of confusion about the New Years package-including an overcharge for parking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph P, Assistant General Manager at Eliot Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I wish to thank this guest for her kind words about the Eliot Hotel, and am gratified she rates our cleanliness, service and location so highly; it is always an extra special compliment coming from repeat guests. I extend my apologies for any confusion at the front desk regarding the New Year's Eve package. Normally, our small staff is quite well versed in all aspects of our packages as they are cross-trained and perform reservation functions as well. We will definitely look into this but I wish to assure our valued guest and the Tripadvisor readership that they can have confidence in the information they receive from any of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.