We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room/Poor Departing Policy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893 (Allston / Brighton)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from just $139!
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Northfield, United States
1 review
“Great room/Poor Departing Policy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is nice, easy drive into Boston. Bed/pillows were excellent. Front desk staff superior. But for such a high room price, you would think they would offer a continental breakfast upon departing. Even a cup of coffee. They do not. It's fun to get a warm cookie when you check in, but sometimes being able to grab a quick coffee and muffin and hit the road makes departing much easier. Of course you can buy breakfast there at not a cheap rate, but other Hilton hotels offer complimentary breakfast items and this one should too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our "superior" staff and "excellent" bed and pillows! Although breakfast is not included for all stays, we do offer a Bed and Breakfast package which may interest you should you be staying with us again. Additional, we do offer complimentary coffee in the guest rooms as each suite is equipped with a single serve coffee maker. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    424
    129
    49
    33
See reviews for
340
179
67
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just a great Hotel! Everyone was so helpful, and nice. Room was a great size and location was great for a central spot for college tours. We could walk to most places, but a $10-$15 cab ride brought you everywhere around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We're so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge and that our location was so convenient for you. We hope to see you again should you be traveling back to the Boston/Cambridge area soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was initially a bit concerned that this hotel was in an awkward location - not near public transit, etc. I needn't have worried! The hotel provides an excellent, frequent shuttle bus that brings you to Harvard Square, Copley Square or the Waterfront area several times per day, including Sundays. It's quick - avg trip 10 mins - and it also collects you at the other end and brings you back again.

The hotel facilities were excellent - large, clean rooms, good food options, a nice if small indoor pool with whirlpool, and a lovely little roof terrace overlooking the river. Everyone I dealt with was pleasant and extremely helpful, especially when my flight was cancelled and I had to change plans at very short notice.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
It is such a pleasure to be rated as a "super hotel". We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and that your worries were put to rest once you saw that we offered a shuttle that would bring you to/from different locations in Cambridge and Boston! So great that you were able to take advantage of multiple hotel amenities and had pleasant interactions with our team! We hope to see you again should you be traveling back to the Boston/Cambridge area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Business travel, 3 nights at this hotel. Staff were pleasant, always helpful. The clean room and bed and shower/towels were excellent - the furnishings were a little bit worn/dated. Overall I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your reveiw on your recent stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was pleasant and helpful. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for a conference. Extremely convenient, right off of the Mass Pike. No hassle to get to and made leaving easy. A typical Double Tree experience - friendly checkin, cookie, room was appointed nicely for business traveler. Bathroom and shower very good. One beef is parking - $35 day in their own garage on premises.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel very convenient for your needs. Your comments about our parking charges have been noted; although are prices are comparable to all hotels in the area. We hope to be your hotel of choice again should you be travelling to the Boston/Cambridge area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights while attending a workshop at Harvard, in a suite on the Executive floor. Is the second time we stay here, we were quite pleased with the hotel. The suite is really comfortable and nice, ours had a view to the river. Very silent, so you can sleep pleasantly. Complimentary wi-fi works well, comfortable bed, spacious bedroom, bathroom and living room, small kitchenett. Very clean. Service was very good, the staff quite friendly. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, nothing to do at walking distance, but the hotel provides free shuttle transportation to and from Harvard Square, Copley Square and the Aquarium. Our driver was very friendly and kind. If you like jogging, is perfect, because you can jog by the river.
Breakfast is not included, food at the restaurant is nice and reasonably priced.
I would suggest improving the pillows and the hair dryer. I don't understand why most hotels provide low quality hair dryers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you chose to stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge on your recent trip to Boston and that you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your kind words as it is an honor to be called a "very nice hotel". It's wonderful that you were able to take advantage of the hotel amenities and had such positive interactions with our staff. Your comments regarding our pillows and hairdryers have been noted; we will be sure to look into this to see what we can do to improve. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The suites are OK...spacious and clean. They can accommodate a family of three or even four (if young children). I had three complaints: 1) the soft mattress on the king bed (it was so soft it felt like a waterbed!); 2) the noisy air conditioner that woke me up when it automatically turned on; and 3) the very low-pressure shower head. While I have a low-pressure shower head at home for environmental reasons, this one was ridiculous. Why is the water pressure so low at 11 am? It doesn't make sense. It certainly isn't for environmental reasons given that the toilet is an older water-wasting model. The general area is not pedestrian-friendly. You're on the Charles River, but right off the highway, so you must take a taxi or drive to Harvard/Cambridge or downtown Boston. You could walk to Harvard Square but it's a long walk. The hotel restaurant was nothing special. The prices in the little shop in the lobby are laughable ($9 for a pint of ice cream?)

Room Tip: To block out the highway noise, ask for a room on floors 10+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for providing your honest feedback in regards to your recent stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge. We're disappointed that you found a number of things to be to your disliking. We will be sure to pass this information to our Management team and follow up to find ways to improve for the future. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle services that goes to Harvard Square, Copley Square, and the Aquarium – giving guests an alternative to driving or taking a taxi. We appreciate your review and hope you would chose to give us a second chance should you be traveling to the Boston/Cambridge area again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.