We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok. Good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893 (Allston / Brighton)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from just $139!
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's ok. Good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ok. Like an Embassy Suites without the free breakfast. Be prepared for the unnecessary $35 for parking. Good jazz club on premises. Location on the river with nice views. Very convenient to Cambridge/Harvard/MIT/BU. Good access to Mass Turnpike.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    425
    129
    49
    33
See reviews for
340
179
67
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very friendly front desk staff, ask for Yesly Villafrance, Front Office Manager. She is great. Good bar service and food selection. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only minor issue was that I thought the whirpool needed cleaning (inside). The next day the whirlpool was emptied for cleaning. Not sure but maybe they were reading my mind?! Also wanted to note, hotel is in a good location. Whole Foods and Trader Joes right over the bridge. Close to Harvard and BU and right near Storrow Drive for easy access downtown. If we go to Boston again then we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We have two kids so we had a suite. Recommend getting a suite. It's the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komodokd
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My friends and I chose to stay at this hotel since it was not far from Harvard and since I had enough Hilton points to get the room for free. As in all Doubletree hotels we were each welcomed to the hotel with a warm chocolate chip cookie. Staff were courteous and friendly. Our room had two twin beds in the bedroom and a double sleeper sofa in the living area. There was ample space in both rooms. Didn't feel cluttered even when the sleeper sofa was out. Twin mattresses were Sealy pousturepedic with a mattress pillow pad on top and were very comfortable to sleep on. In fact it was so comfortable that we decided to sleep in an skip the morning plans.

Self parking is on the expensive side at $35 per night with in/out privileges. But money saved by taking the hotel's complimentary shuttle service makes up for it. The hotel has shuttle stops at the aquarium, Copley square and Harvard Square (hourly from 7:30am-7:30pm). The shuttle ride to Harvard from the hotel only took 5 min.

The fitness room was very impressive. It was spacious and had a good variety of machines. It even had a shower and two bathrooms in it. Earbuds were also available for free since several of the machines had tv screens on them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is very luxurious. It overlooks the river, and is located close to Cambridge, where you can find Harvard University. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to various locations, and the drivers are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very big, and will more than satisfy even the fussiest person. Very nice, would definately stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wow after our experience in NY (see review Affinia), Doubletree Suites by Hilton - Boston was just what we needed.

The room was modern & clean with room to spare for our family. Eventhough we arrived early morning our room was ready and available.

The staff were fantastic......attentive, thoughtful, helpful.

Even with the cd weather outside the kids made use of the indoor heated pool.

Location wise the hotel was perfect for our needs. General Boston visitors may want something closer to the centre. Getting into the centre was easy and inexpensive.

Nothing negative to say.... Even with refurbishments occurring at the hotel we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was on a 10 day business trip and this hotel was great. Very conveniently located near Cambridge and Watertown. Good location if you have a rental car or your own--easy to get in and out of. Staff is very friendly and it felt like I was more like in an apartment community than at a hotel. Beautiful location right near the Charles River. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay in the hotel as a first time member of the Hilton Hotels. We stayed for 3 nights in the Doubletree on Soldiers Field Rd and although it seems far away from the center of the city with no public transportation near by, the hotel provided a shuttle to take us to Harvard Square, Copley and other important sites of the city. The staff members were friendly and VERY helpful. Upon our arrival we were told that our room had been upgraded to the 14th floor suite, were we had a beautiful view of the river. The suite was very comfortable, ample and quiet. Although we enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the only down side was the food. We found it to be not too tasty and very expensive, maybe because we order our meal late at night (the first night) and at the bar of the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.