We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How refreshing after New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893 (Allston / Brighton)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer rates from $189!
Ranked #44 of 77 hotels in Boston
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How refreshing after New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wow after our experience in NY (see review Affinia), Doubletree Suites by Hilton - Boston was just what we needed.

The room was modern & clean with room to spare for our family. Eventhough we arrived early morning our room was ready and available.

The staff were fantastic......attentive, thoughtful, helpful.

Even with the cd weather outside the kids made use of the indoor heated pool.

Location wise the hotel was perfect for our needs. General Boston visitors may want something closer to the centre. Getting into the centre was easy and inexpensive.

Nothing negative to say.... Even with refurbishments occurring at the hotel we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    372
    111
    41
    32
See reviews for
283
153
64
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was on a 10 day business trip and this hotel was great. Very conveniently located near Cambridge and Watertown. Good location if you have a rental car or your own--easy to get in and out of. Staff is very friendly and it felt like I was more like in an apartment community than at a hotel. Beautiful location right near the Charles River. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay in the hotel as a first time member of the Hilton Hotels. We stayed for 3 nights in the Doubletree on Soldiers Field Rd and although it seems far away from the center of the city with no public transportation near by, the hotel provided a shuttle to take us to Harvard Square, Copley and other important sites of the city. The staff members were friendly and VERY helpful. Upon our arrival we were told that our room had been upgraded to the 14th floor suite, were we had a beautiful view of the river. The suite was very comfortable, ample and quiet. Although we enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the only down side was the food. We found it to be not too tasty and very expensive, maybe because we order our meal late at night (the first night) and at the bar of the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed two nights on business, staff was very helpful. The front desk folks were great and welcoming. Beautiful, clean and a very nice/quiet hotel. Views of Cambridge and the river. Roomy suite and great breakfast. Very impressed. I will stay there again even if not the closest to my meeting locations.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the 2nd floor bar. We could hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree on Soldiers Field Rd. in Boston for a night and was very impressed. The hotel is built around a large internal atrium and the room was large with a living area separate from the bedroom. The fellow who checked me in (Brian) was friendly, efficient, and extremely helpful. The room was clean, well lighted, and had a refrigerator and a microwave. The one drawback about the room was that the vent in the bathroom was very loud, and I could still hear it even if the bathroom door and the door that separated the bedroom from the living room were closed. There was also some highway noise (the room I was given overlooked the river, which was lovely, but also Soldiers Field Rd., which is not).

I had six people from my office staying at the hotel as well and I wanted to take them to dinner. The restaurant was closed but they were service restaurant food in the bar. There really was no table large enough for seven people but we were able to sit together in a corner, with a couch on one side and some chairs at the other. The food was very good, but the service was a bit overwhelmed by the number of people in the bar looking for dinner service.

The breakfast the next day was easily able to take care of our party and was very good. There was a standard hotel buffet; the food was hot and fresh, and very good. Kudos to the hotel for have a great staff in the morning.

The hotel's fitness center was large for a hotel. It has dumbbells up to 50 pounds, several cardio machines, and so cables.

The hotel is within walking distance to Harvard Square and offers a shuttle service to the square if you want. It really is a very nice hotel with nice staff and facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we very much enjoyed our stay at the soldiers field double tree suites. lots of room, quiet, clean, great room rates, and comfortable. extremely helpful staff, wonderful food. it was close to the event we were attending at b.u. and would have provided free transport to back bay or havard square had we needed that. we were very happy with our stay, and have all ready recommended it to friends who will be vacationing in boston this summer.

Room Tip: since we booked 2 rooms, i must say that any room is great! our view was spectular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Recently my wife and I got away to Boston for a week of business and life planning as is our custom each new year. We selected the Double Tree because it was close to Boston University which was attended by one of our children a decade or so ago.
The room was solid, well appointed, clean and the staff was awesome. Didn't find anyone on the staff that didn't want to try and accommodate our every need. Dining room staff was great, the food was good and the dining room hours accommodating. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: As Hhonors members we upgraded to a river view room on the 14th floor. It was worth it to us and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.