We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893 (Allston / Brighton)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Lewisville Tx
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed the 1st and 2nd of Oct. room was average at best. Torn fabric on chair one bar of soap for 3 days and two nights. Ordered room service and they brought part of the order had to call back and they brought most of the rest but still no dinner rolls and I got charged for soup that never arrived service in the restraunt was almost as bad. Had tickets for free breakfast and after being seated the first day never saw a waitress again and on the second day they didnt bring any coffee or juice until I was almost done. This hotel is out of the way for downtown and certainly not worth staying at if that is what you are looking to do. If you are going to sight see stay downtown. And I am a Hilton Diamond member so if I was getting preferred service I would hate to think what they give to regular guest.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    448
    142
    60
    36
See reviews for
372
197
69
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Spent the night here recently while moving daughter into college. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable....will stay again! Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

We stayed at the Doubletree Suites for two nights as our son began college. The one bedroom suite was more than enough for three people. The HDTV in the "living room", which has the pull-out couch, is great. (The number of cable channels is very high for a hotel.) There's a second TV in the bedroom. There are telephones everywhere, including the bathroom. The special phone number for Honors guests is a gimmick as it rings to the same place as the help number for every guest. The shuttle to Cambridge was timely in both directions. The concierge is helpful with getting around town. The staff is reserved but polite, ending every conversation with "my pleasure." The buffet is outstanding. Make sure you get the cookies!

Being 3 miles from Harvard Square, we found the Doubletree to be a strong alternative to the more pricey hotels in Cambridge and recommend it to all travelers.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I stayed for three nights on business.

Pros: Overall great accommodations, Good Service, big rooms, freshly renovated, maintained and yummy cookies!

Cons: Poor air conditioning. No minibar. Tasteless generic in-room coffee. Horrible location. Taxi required to access practically anywhere.

Details: First, the hotel should be called “Cambridge” as it far from major Boston sites, business and areas of interest. Harvard and other parts of Cambridge are much closer -- but still a bit of a hike for the typical traveler. The nearest transit stop is 3/10th of a mile at the “Central” stop on redline. To access Backbay and Newberry Street it is a beautiful walk along the banks of the Charles River -- albeit 3 miles away.

My room #302 was newly renovated and looked over both the Charles (exterior) and the hotel's 16-story atrium (interior). The room was orderly, contemporary, properly maintained and absolutely huge. I had enough seating for eight guests (too bad I was alone on business). The living room is nice, but I simply did not use. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom average. There is a mini-kitchen with refrigerator and microwave – but no minibar.

I agree that a major downside to the room is the climate control, which does NOT cool the room. I f the windows opened this would not be a problem. The result is a stuffy situation. In my room the air also made a loud rattle noise as it ran.

Furthermore, beware of the third floor as some rooms sit directly above the hotel’s award winning destination jazz club. The club is first class and popular with the locals. My room was exactly atop the club and I could hear the beat of percussion and live horns. Luckily management requires the club to shut down at 10 PM.

  • Liked — Overall great accommodations, Good Service, big rooms, freshly renovated, maintained and yummy cookies!
  • Disliked — Poor air conditioning. No minibar. Tasteless generic in-room coffee. Horrible location. Taxi required to access practically anywhere.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

I recently stayed at the Doubltree Suites Boston for three nights on business.

The hotel rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. They are clean and a great size, its very nice having the living room to stretch out in and the hi-def plasma TV is a nice touch. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is a good size. There is a mini-kitchen with refrigerator and microwave in the room as well. Housekeeping does a good job keeping everything stocked and cleaned.

The only downside to the room that I could find is the climate control doesnt get the room very cold which is a problem if you like a cold room to sleep in.

The hotel's restaurant is pretty good which is important because there is nothing else around the hotel that you can walk to, you must drive to everything. The location isnt the greatest but the view is nice on the Charles River.

The pool is ok, the heater was broken when I was there but if it worked the pool would be very nice and there is a spa in the room as well and a dry sauna.

Other then the location the hotel was a pleasant place to stay. The only thing that would keep me from returning is the location.

  • Liked — Very large and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Location is horrible
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We checked in for two nights in a suite at this Doubletree hotel. When we went up to the room, there were drink spills on counters, general grime on many things that had not been cleaned in a long time, and the room just was not clean. We returned to the counter and were shown another room. As soon as the bellboy and I entered, we saw a washcloth lying on the floor near the door. I went over to the sink and saw that the remains of food that had been poured into the sink. It went downhill from there. By the time we finished, the night manager was checking rooms with me and we went to six rooms.
It turned out that the first room we were assigned was the cleanest of the six. He agreed that none of the rooms were suitable and said that if we kept the original room, he would send a cleaning crew up immediately and we could tell them what we wanted cleaned. We waited for an hour and a half and no cleaning crew arrived. I went back to the counter and he was surprised because he said he sent them right away.
No cleaning crew ever arrived and we ended up cleaning the room ourselves enough to sleep in it. The night manager was very apologetic and said that he would satisfy us by making a significant adjustment on our bill. Our bill for two nights came to over $600 - he took off $20 for one night's parking!
The restaurant was nice and the hotel has the potential to be nice, but the rooms badly need refurbishing and CLEANING! He said that some of the rooms had been refurbished and showed me one, but the only thing they really did was replace a few items and the walls were still dirty.
The air conditioning was also bad in the rooms we saw. It doesn't keep things cool and is noisy.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — Room cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

A walm welcome from staff and a fresh cookie for all. 3 miles from the city centre but a great view across the Charles river to the city beyond. A free and regular shuttle bus takes you in to the city in a few minutes. An excellent breakfast overlooking the river. A very comfortable suite with a room for the children and one for the parents, I would reccomend this hotel for visiting families who need a two room suite and a good breakfast or evening meal. All in all excellent value and friendly staff.

  • Liked — Breakfast and views
  • Disliked — No garden
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#49 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.