We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and Historic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copley Square Hotel to your Saves list
Copley Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Boston
North Shore, MA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Hip and Historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We recently spent a short, close-to-home vacation at the hip and historic Copley Square Hotel after snagging a promotional rate for a Saturday evening. Following a speedy check-in with a pleasant “intuition specialist” in a lobby with subdued lighting and dark, trendy colors, I commented to my husband that we just weren’t hip enough to stay here!

The trendy color scheme continued through the corridors, which also offered some interesting photos of the hotel throughout its 118-year history, to our “Boutique Queen” room. This well-appointed room was quite small (though not unexpected for a downtown hotel), but was efficiently arranged to maximize space. It had a generous closet and very comfy bed. We weren’t disturbed by interior or exterior noise. The bathroom had a terrific shower and other up-to-date fixtures, though it also offered some history: The wallpaper included the Longfellow poem, Paul Revere’s Ride! A tall person might have difficulty with the modern-style elongated toilet in this long, narrow bathroom as there was little room between my knees and the opposing wall once seated. I’d guess there are other bathroom configurations (based on a look at the fire escape floor plan), so if you have long legs, it may be worth asking about this.

We stopped in at the “Wine Down,” a nightly, hour-long gathering in the lobby area with complimentary wine. There were a number of young, trendy folks befitting the surroundings, but as we looked more closely, we realized that there were several families and some not-so-hip (and more historic!) older folks like us. The staff treated all in a friendly, courteous manner. In fact, in all our interactions with the “intuition specialists” they were always friendly, despite being saddled with this pretentious (IMHO) title.

The hotel is in a great location in Boston’s Back Bay section. The Copley (green line) and Back Bay (orange line; also Amtrak) “T” stops are just a short distance away. It’s also an easy walk to the Public Garden, Trinity Church, the Prudential Center, the Charles River Esplanade, and Boston’s South End. I was pleased to note that a visit to the South End was included in the listing of events and suggested activities that was delivered to our room and would encourage visitors to enjoy the South End’s great restaurants and have a look at its traditional brownstone architecture.

Overall, this hip hotel in a historic area of Boston was a fine experience. With its comfortable rooms and helpful staff, I think it would provide an excellent base for visitors of all ages.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    346
    97
    25
    15
See reviews for
184
399
85
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Just returned for a 3 night stay at the Copley and loved every minute of it. From the 'intuition specialist' assisting us even though we had a late check in to the water bottles that are delivered to the room every night - they really have thought of everything. The food at Xhale was very nice, especially breakfast, which was the usual Boston portions! Room was very clean and I loved the orange scented toiletries - wish they had been bigger bottles to take home. Very close to the T line and round the corner from Newbury Street and all the great restaurants there. Overall, I loved the feeling I was not in a bog standard hotel and loved the attention to detail, even down to the wallpapar - just as a true boutique hotel should.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed here 4 nights. Got a great deal, 4 nights for the price of 3, and a $100 credit for the restaurant. All the staff are friendly and helpful.
The MiniBar is their bar just off the lobby, and is a major hot spot for Boston. Great atmosphere in the MiniBar, especially if you are single!
The restaurant served a terrific basic menu for dinner (Gordon Ramsay would be pleased). Breakfast was a la carte, no buffet, but for less than $15 you could put together a great breakfast. Lox and bagel platter was superb; so were the waffles and omelets. The 2 gentlemen and the lady who worked the breakfast service were wonderful.
Room and bathroom size were fine, with the nicest of everything. Free WiFi everywhere was a nice touch. Good workout room.
Perfect location at the corner of Huntington and Exeter.
Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

we had a wonderful stay here,loved everything about the hotel,great location ,great staff especially the restraunt staff,and the family rooms we had were beautfully decorated and spotlessly clean,will use next time we get back to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Staff was VERY helpful and accommodating of a sick friend. They also did not charge me extra when my one-person room ended up being crashing space for 6 people. However, for $180/night I expected bigger. I had a room at the end of a hallway, and it was angled awkwardly. I have stayed at 3 other surrounding hotels, and they were all bigger and cheaper. The room also had a musty smell to it.

On a positive note, the chic decor was very nice. Very urban, very hip.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed for the second time on the Copley square hotel in August. What more could you ask for, great location, great rooms, great service. My wife and i stayed at the C2 hotel as part of their birthday celebration, checked in pretty early went down to the lounge area for the wine tasting, walked into Boston had a bite to eat, then back to the hotel bar and eventually to the club below the hotel. Best hotel in Boston, will def be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I simply can not say enough about the staff's desire to make our trip the best. Everyone from Jose the bellmen ( always smiling and always full of information) on up were very eager to see that our every expection was exceeded. The 5:00 Wine Down was an added treat, it's not often you get complimentary wine served to you by the manager who greeted us by name on day 2. President Obama was across the steet at another Hotel for Ted Kennedy's funeral and he probably never saw the level of service we did. The location is great and very convenient to all that Boston has to offer.

All we need now is a Copley Square Hotel Frequent Stayers Club. Sign me up!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated with $18 Million Dollars. The Copley Square Hotel is in the heart of Boston's fashionable Back Bay and minutes from Boston's Logan Airport. Enjoy the many well known attractions that are steps away; Prudential Center, Trinity Church, Newbury street with its street lined cafes, restaurants and world class shops, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Public Library and Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copley Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.