We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copley Square Hotel to your Saves list
Copley Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We really loved our stay in the hotel.
Staff is so friendly and always willing to help, with anything, even last minute tickets for NBA game..;-)
Location is perfect, with shopping and plenty of good restaurants all near by!
We actually walked everywhere and it was great!
Hotel has free coffee or chocolate and also free wine in the afternoon in the lobby and a very cool bar directly connected to the hotel.
Its a small boutique hotel, rooms are actually not too small and bed is very comfy. And they provide everything if you ask, even yoga mats.
We def would come back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Copley Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Krissi55:

Thank you for your recent review of Copley Square Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to assist you with any special requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Boston. Again, thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,
Alisa Mathews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    346
    97
    25
    15
See reviews for
183
399
85
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in Back Bay area, close to shops on Newbury, Boston Public Garden, etc. Complimentary glass of wine in the early evenings is a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Are
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Checked in... Loved the new modern updates. Great room although small. Really great modern accents.

Great service checking in. Help with luggage to room. Concierge etc. great so far.

Then... Returned after Super Bowl viewing event at the Marriott. Walked in the snow / ice freezing cold ( to me ) . Headed towards the GREAT bar. Sorry slipped on way into hotel (see cold snow ice freezing above). Bar douche says sorry you are not ok to come in. I talked to him for a few mins. No change.

No issue with us as we are very mellow. But now I am really upset that the 20 something gets to use his "powers" to decide our fate. We are hotel guests. Hotel manager where are you ???

Thanks Copley We would like a response.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Copley Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Troy and Helen:

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor.com, dated February 4, 2013. Although you submitted your review as a "live review", we just received it today (February 13) from TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the physical properties of the hotel and were graciously assisted by our team members at check-in.

Regarding your situation with the GREAT bar, we believe that you are referring to MiniBar, which is a leased food and beverage outlet within our hotel. We apologize that you experienced difficulty with entrance to this establishment. If we had been made aware of the situation, our Copley Square Hotel team would have been happy to assist you with any challenges you faced within the confines of our hotel.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies that you were unable to enjoy the amenities of Minibar. We will ensure that the leadership team of the Minibar are aware of your frustration during your visit.

If you would like to discuss the situation further, please contact me at 617-536-9000, and I will be happy to speak with you. Thank you so much for taking the time to make us aware of this unfortunate situation and to follow up with the management team at MiniBar. This will allow us to take steps to ensure that a situation such as this doesn't happen again.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Copley Square Hotel in the future. Please contact either Leslie or Rebecca, our leaders of the Intuition Team (reception desk) by phone at 617 536 9000 or via email at info@copleysquarehotel.com when you are visiting Boston again. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Copley Square Hotel and ensure that every aspect of your hotel stay exceeds your expectations.

Warm Regards,
Alisa Mathews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Before even walking into the hotel, we almost went across the street to the Westin. The entire building was surrounded by scaffolding. There was also a protective construction material around the scaffolding. The lobby was weird, their "updates" are too modern for such an old, historic building. It looked awkward at best.

The elevators were the slowest I have ever seen. The hallways are winding and lots of corners and angles. The room was more of a triangle and the shape was hard to get used to. The wind blowing the construction material around made it hard to fall asleep. But when we were asleep, the fire trucks hardly woke us up at all.

The parking is a joke... Just like all of Boston. The valet service is so overpriced we parked across the street at the Marriott.

The best thing about this hotel was the location. Good restaurants close by, it was walking distance to the prudential center and there was a t station close by also.

I would pay extra to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Copley Square hotel last weekend and loved our stay. Went for a weekend away from the kids. Hotel was right in Back Bay only a few minutes from Newbury and Boylston St shops. Lots of restaurants close by but make sure to stop in to La Cocina for a real treat!

Staff at the hotel were wonderful. Leslie and Ana were fantastic and couldn't have been more friendly or inviting. The restaurant in the hotel was also delicious. Room was clean, huge and newly renovated. Much better than we expected for the price!! You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Brillant location,close to bars, shops etc.
Staff are nothing but top draw, from doormen to reception, Rebecca and Aiden are all about
service at the highest level and they could not have done enough to make my short stay as comfortable as possible,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel Copley Square is extremely well located in the trendy Back Bay district of Boston. I was travelling alone and the location was excellent as I was able to walk everywhere safely.
The hotel has a classy, luxurious feel without being stuffy and pretentious.
The rooms are small, but beautifully appointed. A small detail, but I really liked the black face washers marked "make up" for washing your face.
Unfortunately, I was only in Boston for a short time and Ana (very friendly and knowledgeable) on the front desk was able to help me make the most of my stay by recommending and booking excellent tours (Boston city and Cape Cod) as well as recommending and booking lovely restaurants.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Boston and it was made extra special by staying at Copley Square Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated with $18 Million Dollars. The Copley Square Hotel is in the heart of Boston's fashionable Back Bay and minutes from Boston's Logan Airport. Enjoy the many well known attractions that are steps away; Prudential Center, Trinity Church, Newbury street with its street lined cafes, restaurants and world class shops, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Public Library and Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copley Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.