We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome building, amazing location, cool staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copley Square Hotel to your Saves list
Copley Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome building, amazing location, cool staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel in under construction, but who cares! The building is beautiful and in an amazing location to visit Boston! First room wasn't to my liking, two guys visiting the city and only one medium size bed in a small room. They comped us to a beautiful room with a King size bed, they clearly warned us it was above the bar and might be loud. We were in Boston to party so I knew we'd be getting home after the bar closed anyways! Overall great stay! The girl who checked us in Friday night was awesome and so was the guy who helped us out Sunday morning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    382
    112
    31
    19
See reviews for
199
446
92
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend have stayed here twice for New Year's Eve festivities. This hotel is in a perfect spot if you're new to Boston and want to see the sights. It's centrally located and easy to get to. When we stay, we just walk to wherever we need to go.

If you're going to New Year's like us, the parade goes right past the hotel. The ice sculpture contest is just out the front door and across the street. It gets a little crowded and crazy, but it's a fun crowd and we didn't mind.

The hotel staff are unfailingly polite and helpful. The rooms are lovely and well furnished and supplied. I liked the historic fixtures in the bathroom.

It's not cheap, but it the level of elegance and location make it worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laporte, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Loved our stay at the Copley Square Hotel! Extremely friendly staff, room was good-sized, super clean and comfortable! Lobby ambiance is lovely - decor is tasteful with understated elegance.

Loved the complimentary coffee in the morning and the "Wine Down" every afternoon! Nice touches and greatly appreciated!

Would stay again! Location can't be beat - a 2 min walk to the T.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is in a fabulously handy spot. Quiet, despite central location. The staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful. The rooms carefully considered...as a female traveler I often find hotels lack skirt hangers, or full mirrors. Copley Square has it all.
My favorite is finding windows that OPEN! There is nothing better than sleeping with fresh air.
This hotel was clearly appointed with everyone in mind. A fairly fierce critic, was delighted by how much was so very right.
Note. During Hurricane Sandy, flights were cancelled, and the staff was completely competent and gracious, helping me with an extended stay. Wouldn't even think of staying elsewhere next Boston trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel has just completed extensive interior renovations and will be finisihed with the exterior before long. While the charming touches of what was the old hotel have been replaced with modern touches and furniture, the welcoming staff went above and beyond to be helpful and kind. My travelling partners and I checked in the night before Hurricane Sandy was to hit, so they were all very helpful in assisting us with printing docs from computers, etc.

The rooms are very sleek, allbeit small - the bathrooms are too tight as are the closets, but it works beautifully for a short stay. The lighting was good and there was ample space on the desk to work, but not much room to move about.

We were able to greatly enjoy complimentary coffee service in the lobby in the morning as well as a newspaper delivered to our doors. The beds, linens and pillows were what we all would like to enjoy at home -

This is a wonderful hotel, a bit lacking in some of the charm of yesteryear, but worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed a while ago. Good hotel. Good position. All restaurants we went in very good value for money. Experience of a lifetime go Whale watching. Visit Quincy market and walk the Freedom Trail round the City. Must go on a Duck tour. Go also on a coach tour. Wonderful City.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location. Lots of bars, restaurants and hotels within walking distance. That said, everything you need for a great stay is in-house. The bar/lounge is top notch-- lovely cocktails and great snacks. In addition, the overall service is exemplary. The men at the front desk, Daniel and Aiden, really went the extra mile to make my stay special. Although this was a business trip, their extra care made me feel like I was on vacation. Kudos!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,665 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#22 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copley Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.