We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're planning on getting some sleep, DO NOT stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Park Plaza to your Saves list
Boston Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you're planning on getting some sleep, DO NOT stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was by far my worst experience ever at a hotel. My boyfriend and I live in the Boston area and when I found a Groupon for a great rate, about $90.00 including taxes, I thought it would be great to treat him to a night out in the city for his birthday. We returned to our room, after having dinner, and that's when the nightmare began. People were up and down the hallways, screaming, laughing and talking really loud. Some were hanging out in groups so it wasn't like they were just walking to their rooms. They were lingering in the hallway, laughing at the top of their lungs. At about 11:30, we tried to go to sleep, but I was concerned with all the loud noise around us. Turns out my concerns were justified. For an hour and a half, my boyfriend and I tossed and turned as we were repeatedly woken up by groups of guests, hanging out in the hallway, screaming and laughing. The walls were thin, so we could hear the guests in the next room talking so inconsiderately loud. There was a lot of door slamming and a whole lot of banging. My boyfriend had enough and told me to get dressed, we were leaving. So we were forced to check out of the hotel at 1:30 in the morning so we could drive home and get quiet sleep. When I told the girl at check out why we were leaving, she didn't say anything. Just smiled and said I didn't have any other charges. Well, that's a good thing because I wouldn't have paid them if I did. She obviously didn't care about our comfort. Meanwhile, the lobby was just as loud with groups of guests just hanging around like it was some sort of night club. This hotel is nothing but a Party Hotel. If you want to hang out and party and disturb the guests, then by all means stay here. But if you are looking for a great experience in Boston, please, please, please stay somewhere else. Boston is awesome and has so many other hotels that I've stayed at that do not have this problem. This place is a nightmare and a rip off. You WILL be disappointed. Because I can't leave the rating blank, they get one star for location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneM-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience staying in our hotel. Guest feedback is very important to us as it helps us understand how well we are meeting guest expectations. This is certainly not the Park Plaza experience we aim to provide our guests and we are truly sorry you experienced loud neighbors. As this is an anonymous review, we are unable to investigate the circumstances of your visit further. If you could be so kind as to contact our Executive Office, we would love to speak with you. Thank you.

Yours in service,
June McDougall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,253
    917
    596
    456
See reviews for
595
1,168
278
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Old hotel with beautiful public spaces, meeting room, and a great staff. Convenient location near the commons and walking distance to excellent restaurants.

Rooms are small, noisy, and poor temperature control. We could hear conversation of the people in the room next to us. Sleeping was difficult.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneM-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Alicia,

Please let us take this opportunity to express our remorse for your recent visit to the Boston Park Plaza. We hope that you will give the Boston Park Plaza another opportunity to show you the fine service and accommodations we are capable of providing and that you'll think of us the next time you visit Boston.

Yours in service,
June McDougall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I treated myself to a tower room after reading the reviews-- figured why not get a better room. Room was mediocre,old, stained mirrors. No closet , old furniture. Only good thing was a strong shower. Stay elsewhere and walk there if attending conference at the Park Plaza. Should be renovated or torn down.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneM-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Neil,

Thank you for your comments. Please be assured we are coming up with a plan to update our guestrooms and hope that you might reconsider and come back and see our changes. Thank you again for reviewing us. We wish you safe travels.

Yours in service,
June McDougall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night mid week. The room was small but quaint. Just enough for two people. Very clean, comfortable bed, not noisy. They serve a yummy buffet breakfast in the mornings, which was a little pricey @ $25 per person but worth the convenience. Parking in the garage was $31 for the day and was located behind the building which I thought was very reasonable. I would love to stay here again. Great location very central to everything.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneM-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Kymcnamara,

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that you had such an enjoyable experience with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and your guestroom. Please come back again soon!

Yours in service,
June McDougall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The location was great - close to a subway and several key sights. We also got a good deal on the room, which did make up for some of the negatives. As an out-of-country traveller, I rely on wifi to stay in touch and get information about the city I'm visiting. I was rather disappointed to discover the hotel charged for wifi outside of the lobby, which I haven't encountered anywhere else I've stayed. The lobby was nice, and the room was tidy, but outdated. I probably wouldn't stay here again, especially not at full price, but if you get a good deal and are just looking for a place to lay your head, I'd recommend Boston Park Plaza.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneM-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Jade,

Thank you for your review. We were happy to note that you enjoyed our downtown Boston location. Apologies, however, for your disappointment with our internet pricing. We hope you understand that extra costs like wireless internet does come at a premium in Boston and we want to assure you that our rates are competitive with the other downtown hotels close by. Thank you again for your genuine input about your visit and we hope that you will consider staying with us again during your next trip to Boston so that we can make amends.

Yours in service,
June McDougall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The location is great, near a subway station (Arlington) other than that only negative. Rooms are small, mine had a view to a brick wall. Furniture is not only old, it's not good looking. Only one chair to sit instead of two. Bed was very average. Bathroom had some kind of renovation in the recent past. They choose to install plastic walls into the bath-shower. Strange for a building with history. The floor was white grey (probably original) but they repainted with sky blue on some walls and let the orange wallpaper on other. In a terribly small bathroom, imagine the results. The person who did that must had been color blind!
Breakfast is so incredibly expensive that almost everybody goes next door to get one. Lobby is very noisy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneM-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Claire308272,

Thank you for your suggestions. Please be assured we are coming up with a plan to update our guestrooms. We hope that you might reconsider and come back and see our changes. Thank you again for commenting. We wish you safe travels.

Yours in service,
June McDougall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Out of nine nights I spent there, on seven there happened to be some sort of louder noise between the 2AM-4Am period. Otherwise well situated and fairly clean place. Budget place to be, specially when you are a hard sleeper and dont mind the noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneM-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear zutzutzut,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us concerning your stay at our hotel. It was very disappointing to read and we must apologize for the noise challenges you experienced while with us. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to use your review as a guideline for service and communication improvement and hope that you'll allow us another chance in the future to make amends.

Yours in service,
June McDougall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Park Plaza

Address: 50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 1054
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Back Bay, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel & Towers is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation’s first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boston Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel And Towers
Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.