We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Park Plaza to your Saves list
Boston Park Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Exclusive
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lodging was pretty expensive so we actually booked this through online bidding. Stayed 2 nights and location was great. Rooms are pretty tiny, including the bed. Tried to upgrade after arrival but apparently, the hotel was booked full. I'm not sure if it was quieter but our room didn't have much of a view as it faced the interior (buildings form a triangle). There are limited outlets in the room. Free WIFI is only available in the lobby. A/C was pretty noisy and thermostat didn't seem to work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear lilgoldfrog,

Our hotel staff consistently strives to provide a service that is superior in every respect, and it is through the constructive comments of our customers that we are able to address problems so that appropriate corrections are made. Thanks for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in service,
Bob Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    1,432
    1,109
    729
    554
See reviews for
703
1,323
325
1,349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southern NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This charming old hotel is excellently located close to restaurants, shopping, and historic sights. The rooms are unique. I have stayed here several times and never had the same shape room twice. The ballroom is absolutely beautiful. My one complaint is the bathroom. It is very small with only a tiny shelf above a pedestal sink. I've stayed here a few times for a ballroom dance competition, and it is not possible for two women to share the bathroom. It was fine when I was here alone for a conference. This hotel is very pricey, even with event promotional rates. But if you're looking for old world charm, this is the place.

We did have a problem checking in. The desk clerk disappeared as we waited in line and never returned. We had to start again in another line. A bit annoying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear southernNHKayaker,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. We apologize for the guestroom challenges you faced and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Our hotel is undergoing some changes, some of which you touched on, and this helps provide more feedback for future changes. We would also like to apologize for any inconvenience we caused you during check-in. This situation will be discussed with our Front Office staff so that it doesn't happen again. On a happier note, we are thrilled that you love our ballroom! The Imperial Ballroom is a great source of pride for us and we thank you for your comments. We sincerely hope to have you back with us again soon!

Yours in service,
Bob Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here in August with 2 friends for 2 days. We booked through Priceline and got a good rate, but requested 2 beds and were initially given only 1. We did get a room with a second bed, but had to pay extra. The initial room, with only 1 double bed was TINY! After about an hour, we got a second room and that room was good sized. We had the handicapped room, so that may be why we had extra space. The view from our room was directly into other rooms (either at the hotel or a high rise, could not confirm). There is wifi in the lobby but it was sketchy in the room. Our second night, we came home and our room key did not work. I waited in line for about 1/2 hour (with everyone else who's key was not working) to get a replacement.

We waited for a bellman for over 1/2 hour on Saturday when checking out. We ended up leaving and carrying our bags.

Valet people were great!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Maureen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the multiple challenges you experienced during your stay and can understand why you felt disappointed with the service you received. We also apologize for the fact that your room key get demagnetized so many times. Your comments have been shared with our Executive Office so that we can make proper adjustments for the comfort of future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again so that we can make amends.

Yours in service,
Bob Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for three nights as part of a larger tour around New England. Boston is a beautiful city and the Plaza is conveniently located to explore it, whether on foot or by public transport. The room was comfortable, clean and of a good size (standard King), and the staff very helpful. I was a bit disappointed that there was no free wifi in the room. To use this service you had to go down to the Lobby, which was very busy and often hard to find somewhere to sit. Every other hotel we stayed at, including those in the countryside, had free wifi in the rooms, so a little surprising that a hotel of this stature did not offer this service. A small point which did not stop a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Didn't use the swimming pool or spa so defaulted to an average rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed everything about your stay except for our Wifi fee. We apologize that you didn't like our internet pricing and hope you understand that extra costs like wireless internet does come at a premium in Boston. We want to assure you that our rates are very competitive with the other downtown hotels close by. Despite this hiccup, we sincerely hope that you will consider coming back to visit us in the future.

Yours in service,
Bob Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we went there for an extended stop over back to germany. The Rooms are clean and the Room Service is helpful, they asked if we need a fridge or a microwave and delivered it within minutes.
The Info about the services offered by the hotel wasn't really good and complet, which we discovered on our last day. The Rooms are not that huge, we had a DB with 2 KingSize Beds for us and the 2 Kids and that was a bit to small. There was no Internet access within the rooms, so we had to get to the Lobby to read our emails - there it is free, otherwise it costs 13$ for 24h.

So if you just need a place to sleep within walking distance to the major point it is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear robbyjansch,

We are extremely saddened to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate department heads, and we will look into ways we can improve our product and service so that we can hopefully "wow" you on your next visit. We hope you will provide us with that opportunity in the future.

Yours in service,
Bob Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed 5 days and thought the hotel very over priced for what it offered. The room was small, breakfast was very expensive and I cant really think of any redeeming features. The location is very close to Arlington station on the green line, so if that's important to you fair enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW-GeneralMgr, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Peterl1234,

We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope that you will stay with us again to allow us another opportunity to "wow" you during your stay.

Yours in service,
Bob Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Park Plaza

Address: 50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Park Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1054
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Back Bay, Boston Park Plaza is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation's first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and EasyToBook so you can book your Boston Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel And Towers
Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.