We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it was in the past” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Park Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Park Plaza to your Saves list
Boston Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Boston
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was in the past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here in September and we were disappointed. The beds were much too soft and uncomfortable. The room had a view of a wall and the service was not as good as it was in the past. We have stayed at this hotel in the past and it was much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bob,

Please accept our apologies for any discomfort you experienced in our guestrooms; we understand the importance of a good night's rest and we regret that we fell short in this situation. While we know that does not change your experience, we hope that you can feel confident that we heard you. Your business is very important to us and we hope that you will continue to be guests of ours in the future.

Yours in service,
The Boston Park Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    1,252
    917
    595
    455
See reviews for
593
1,167
278
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is a scam. They charge you US$12.50 per day for EACH device you want connected to the internet. Besides that, they do not offer breakfast, as they announce, they give you a cup of coffee and a crap pastry for you to eat OUT IN THE STREET - "grab'n'go" they call it. They also charge you an amount of money on you credit card as a pledge, and it takes 07 days to get it back after the checkout. If you are traveling on a visa travel money, as I was, the amount goes instantly off your account and it is your problem. Stay away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Tiago,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your latest stay. Your comments were very disappointing, and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We regret that you did not enjoy the breakfast we served and have have passed your comments to the appropriate departments for further review. Please also accept our apologies for the challenges in regards to the authorization of your credit card. We, like most hotels, require a deposit to hold your room, and authorizations may take between 5-7 business days to be released by the card's issuing bank.

We hope that you will give the Park Plaza another opportunity to show you the fine service and accommodations we are capable of providing and that you'll think of us the next time you visit Boston. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had never stayed in Boston more than a connection at Logan Airport so I sought out a referral for a nice central place to stay in Boston. Friends commented on this property as a lovely place that is especially nice at Christmas and located near Boston Common along with wonderful shopping. We were delighted to have been upgraded to the Patriot Suite on the top floor. Very spacious with an amazing view of the city. My only comment is that the bathrooms are OK. I expected small, but they were a little clumsily remodeled and looked somewhat run down. Otherwise the room was great, the beds very comfortable and the continental breakfast was convenient (not all rooms get this service so be sure to ask ahead of time). The lobby staff were very polite and efficient. You have access to 30 mins of free WiFi in the lobby. If I was there on business, that would never do. However, being on vacation I could have cared less. It was Christmas for heaven's sake! :-) Thoroughly enjoyed my visit!

Room Tip: Ask for the concierge level so you can have access to the continental breakfast and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sheila,

We, at the Park Plaza, would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. It is always a pleasure to receive such a great review and we appreciate your positive review for our staff and service. Our guests are our top priority and our staff is always available to help make your stay a truly world-class experience. We're so glad you could enjoy the holidays with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit to Boston!

Yours in service,
The Boston Park Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have traveled extensively and usually stay in five star rated properties. My experience at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel and Towers was less than desirable. Although this hotel must have been a significant presence in Boston in it's heyday due to it's proximity to the Boston Common and the nearby shopping and dining possibilities, it was extremely disappointing that a hotel of this stature would have guests stay in rooms that were not in keeping with the grandeur of the hotel. The bathrooms were outdated, and in need of repair, the room temperature could not be regulated, and though cleaned daily still showed signs of neglect. For a property of this magnitude there was no turn down service in the evening and the offering of amenities was of a very poor quality. I was expecting a completely different experience, and honestly would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear KOHINOOR185,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the challenges that you faced. This is certainly not the Park Plaza experience we aim to provide our guests and we are truly sorry you were unhappy. Hopefully, if your travels bring you back to Boston, you will consider staying with us again and seeing our improvements. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family drove down from Maine for a single night, just to see Boston for the first time. The Plaza did not disappoint. The desk was extremely helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side, but that's to be expected in a historic hotel. We had a lovely view of Boston. It was walking distance to the main city park and to numerous restaurants. Very active nightlife in the area. Very comfortable, though be advised the valet parking will cost you---and you don't have an option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear nurcyn76,

Thank you kindly for your review of the Boston Park Plaza Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Yours in service,
The Boston Park Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I come to Boston every December (this being the second one) to be with his family for Christmas. We have to stay in the Back Bay to be close to everyone. Last year we stayed at The Lenox which we loved. It was a perfectly located quaint boutique hotel under $200. We ended up at the Park Plaza this year because it was also a good location and turned out to be $60 cheaper and considering we really only sleep there, we thought the savings were worth it. NEVER again. First of all, it was huge and difficult to navigate. Then they said they were giving us an upgrade. The room was tiny and the bathroom hasn't been touched since the 60s. When I inquired to make sure that we actually got the upgrade, they claimed we did because we got a King bed instead of a Queen. I also asked about their supposed renovations because again the bathroom was gross. It was explained that they did not focus on the bathrooms in their renovations. To top it off when we first arrived the elevator opened a giant wad of dust flew down as the doors opened. Even though it was cheaper than The Lenox and we only sleep at the hotel when we are in town because we are with family all day I would never stay at the Park Plaza again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at our hotel. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to make improvements to our services. While there is never a second chance to make a good first impression, we thank you for your genuine input about your visit and hope that you will consider staying with us again during your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited Boston in November and were extremely pleased with the Park Plaza. The hotel is lovely and the lobby feels very luxurious, but still we payed a very reasonable price for our room. Got upgraded to a small suite on the top floor, which was very nice - super clean, comfortable bed. The interior is old-fashioned but doesn't feel dated or used. We didn't get a view, but on the other hand we didn't specifically ask for one. The room was very quite and we were never disturbed.

The location is ideal, with the Commons just outside the door and close to pretty much everything - we never had to take a taxi.

The breakfast was superb; fresh fruit, bagels, bread, pancakes - the works. It wasn't included in our room and was quite pricey, so if you can, have it included.

We wouldn't chose another hotel if were coming back to Boston, and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Lis087,

Thank you for your review. Your satisfaction is paramount to the success of our business, and we want to let you know that we value you and your patronage very much. This is the culture of service that we strive to foster, each and every day. We are thrilled that you had a lovely stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in service,
The Boston Park Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Park Plaza

Address: 50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 1054
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Back Bay, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel & Towers is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation’s first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boston Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel And Towers
Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.