We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way over the hill!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Park Plaza to your Saves list
Boston Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Boston
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Way over the hill!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We only spent one night at the hotel - thank goodness. This place is in serious need of renovation! While the lobby may be attractive, our room was terribly shabby for the price. Peeling paint on ceiling, loose tile in the bathroom, ancient looking room door. The first room we were given reeked of cigarette smoke so we requested another. The people at the front desk were helpful - I'll give them that much.
The hallways were also constantly filled with soiled linen carts, room service trays etc.... There just seemed to be no sense of pride of place.
Location-wise, you can't beat this hotel.
Bottom line, The Boston Park Plaza may have been a very elegant, attractive hotel but not any more - it is seriously dated and is showing its age.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,253
    917
    597
    456
See reviews for
596
1,168
278
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just stayed one night at the Park Plaza in Boston through a Jet Blue Vacation Package. We could not have booked the flight and hotel separately and have gotten as good of a price. The location of the hotel is only 1 block from the Green T Line and only 1 block from a beautiful park. There are also several choices of restaurants in the immediate area. We have found that not to be the case in other Boston hotels that we have stayed in.

I too read reviews about the hotel being past its prime, but the vacation package was too good to pass up. We ended up finding it very charming and cool. The hotel lobby is beautiful! The service at the registration desk was very good. Based upon other reviews, I asked for a high floor facing the street. Our room was on the 10th floor and we had nice city views. Based upon what I read online, I was practically expecting to be sleeping in a closet since there were lots of statements about the rooms being small. We were in a "standard" room and found ours to be an adequate size for 1 bed. The rooms have a cozy feel and have original hardware on the doors. The door to our room has a door within the door for valet/laundry service. We found this quite unique and were intrigued by it! Some past reviewers complained about the street noise, we just laughed about that because....well you are in a city! Yes, we did hear some traffic but is was not a problem for us. Regarding the walls being thin, at one point we did hear someone next door snoring loud enough that we could hear him but it was only temporary. If it had continued, we would have left the TV on low for some white noise. Even with this issue, we would still stay here again in the future. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom and room was clean and you can't beat the easy access to the Arlington T Subway Stop when you are visiting the city without a car! We took the subway right from the airport to the hotel with two easy train switches...Blue to Red to Green! All other cities should have subway access from the airport!

We ate at M.J. O’Connor’s Irish Pub for dinner and the food was delicious! It is located on the first floor of the hotel but you access it by going outside and down the street. We also ate breakfast at Au Bon Pain. A little take out place located on the first floor of the hotel. Again you access it by going outside and down the street.

For those who want to go shopping there are also high end boutiques nearby. The park is lovely and offers boat rides in swan shaped boats in the summer.

It is an old school hotel, the lobby is grand but if you are looking for marble sinks and extra large standard rooms this is not the place for you. When comparing prices with other hotels keep this in mind. Our vacation package with our flight made us consider it and we would definitely stay here again (even if we booked the hotel room and flight separately).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for a 2 night conference. Rate was reasonable, staff pleasant but not overly friendly which is why 4 stars. Restaurant service slow although food very good once arrived. One night no hot water, then following evening a fire alarm requiring us to vacate hotel for 30 min. Unusual occurrences, very little information shared with guests. I Love Boston, and the location is great access to Newbury St, Public Garden, Commons. Quick taxi ride from Logan, approx 25.00
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

a company booked a room for me for 2 days in this hotel. i knew in advance the price per night was $ 400+, so i expected a palace. the lobby is indeed very nice but the rooms are crap. old, dirty, nearly empty, too few light points, very little desk space, very dirty bathroom, barely functioning. the heating in the room didnt work, and the heating in the room was an extremely noisy air convection system. restaurant was very poor, i had to wait 45 minutes for a burger. i highly recommend to stay away from this very overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Anderson-GM, General Manager at Boston Park Plaza, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear frankv_belgium,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent visit. We hope that you will accept our sincere apologies for neither meeting nor exceeding your expectations during your time here with us. At the Boston Park Plaza, we aim to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and we can certainly understand that the noise and service challenges you experienced were both a disappointment and inconvenience on your visit. We appreciate your feedback and we understand that you have many options to choose from when making your travel plans. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of service you have every right to expect from the Park Plaza. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Plaza for a political event. The service was very good from the valet to registration. Our room was a nice size, but nothing special. The floor heating unit was poor for providing warm air and very loud. The bath/shower was average, the linens and pillows were average, so over all just an average place. I’m very glad we did not pay the regular daily rate of $279 plus tax. Our rate was part of a block set aside for the event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, CT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

LOVE this hotel...old, nostalgic and perfectly situatied in town. We have stayed here several times and we are always happy. This time there were 6 of us, so we reserved a 2 bedroom suite...I wasn't as impressed as with the 1 bedroom suite - it was literally three rooms, 2 not connected but with a hallway if you opened the door to each room. the other was an adjoining room via a door in the closet. Somewhat small for the price tag but suited our purpose perfectly. Attentive, friendly staff, good food in the lobby restaurant (pricey - as to be expected). The bathrooms in the rooms were all pretty old and in need of updating but definitely not a reason not to stay there. $47/Day for valet was a bit hefty but more convenient than walking down to public parking. Will definitely be back again. Definitely a fave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Customer service here well exceeded my expectations. Today it is not easy to find great, no, outstanding service. I was very impressed with a young lady named Ruth and how graceful & respectful she was-- even when she had a customer screaming I'm her face.
Impressed is an understatement! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Park Plaza

Address: 50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 1054
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Back Bay, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel & Towers is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation’s first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boston Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel And Towers
Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.