We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but really small room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Park Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Park Plaza to your Saves list
Boston Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location but really small room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location. Walking distance to most attractions. Cheaper parking at the Boston Common Garden underground parking.

Our first room was supposed to be with just 1 a FULL -not a Queen bed. I requested to be transferred the next day when they have at least 2 full beds in the room.

Will recommend if only of the location.

Room Tip: try and always ask for an upgrade to a room with 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    1,251
    916
    595
    455
See reviews for
593
1,167
276
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights, when arrived our room was not up to standard as the shampoo and shower gels were half empty, reception were delightful, no more to do, change rooms, 2nd room lights did not work, so back to reception, at last 3rd room excellent, could not fault at all,
The Hotel is lovely and spacious, and in an ideal location for doing the Freedom Trail following the Red line around Boston visiting all the places of interest, it is a must. the Park which was so near to the Hotel is just lovely, and another must is a ride on the Swan, my Husband and I enjoyed our trip around the lake after a full day looking at all the places of interest. Went for a Cup of Tea by the Harbour, and you would not believe they had run out of Tea in Boston!! Lovely City clean and friendly.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good, as long as the lights work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis Center, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

On 9/22 we stayed at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel. Upon check in we met Alyssa, who could not have been nicer to work with. She went above and beyond to accommodate us, offered an upgrade on our rooms, and made us feel like we were the most important people she dealt with all day. Truly great customer service, a rarity these days. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and all in all we were very happy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights while in Boston preparing for a family wedding. We booked a block of rooms at the Park Plaza at a great rate for down-town Boston ($189 per night for a standard room and $225 for upgraded). The upgraded room was large, well appointed and comfortable with an elegant, renovated bath room. The breakfast room on the executive floor was a bit disappointing (very limited selection of food and always seemed to be overcrowded) but it represented good value (free) compared to the very expensive restaurant on the entry level ....you will save a lot by walking around the corner to Au Bon Pain for breakfast or to the Irish pub next door if you want a drink. Some parts of the hotel are looking a bit old and the elevators are very slow so plan accordingly if you need to be somewhere punctually!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded since the standard rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

On 9/20 we arrived at the Boston Park Plaza. The doormen were courteous and helpful, and the check in process was painless. Upon seeing our room a "petite double", with 3 busy elevator shafts right behind the bed.(Thank You Expedia) for rm 699. We inquired about a possible upgrade and were informed the hotel was at full capacity, but in the event of a cancellation they would put us in a different room. By chance at 11 pm, we approached the front desk and to our delight a room became available down the hall. We moved!! As we were leaving we realized my husbands sunglasses had not made the room transfer. After several inquiries with the front desk and housekeeping, they came up empty. Security officer Coleman took over the chase. We then departed for Long Island sans glasses. Half way across the Long Island Sound, my husband received a phone call from sec. officer Coleman. He recovered the 200 dollar pair of Costas.
We feel he went above and beyond to help us and deserves special recognition!

Room Tip: do not choose petite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently stayed at the PARK PLAZA for 2 nights (SAT/SUN). Permitted to check-in 2 hours early. Upon check-in encountered a very nice young man at the front desk, MIGUEL. He is extremely polite and eager to answer all my questions. Booked room online and found it to be as described. Very comfortable & roomy. I think the rates could have been better as in less expensive. Calling the hotel directly DOES NOT save you any money.. Asked for late checkout and was given an extra hour. I asked for an additional 30 minutes when I arrived late back to hotel, I was confronted with curtness-yikes! Upon checkout, the young female working the desk solicited me to write a positive comment for her so she would get acknowledgement--not really sure what she did out of the ordinary??? Again MIGUEL was extremely pleasant & attentive, and he took note of the purpose of my trip.

Room Tip: Check out their website for room descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my first time in Boston, so I wanted to stay in a conveniently situated place, close to everything...Boston Park Plaza was the best choice. At arrival, the staff were helpful and friendly (most important). When we checked in, we were immediately informed that we were being upgraded to a King size bed on the top floor, which also included free continental b'fast and PM hors d'oeuvre. The room was warm and the bed, extremely comfortable. As well, the bathroom was clean. I would recommend anyone going to Boston, to stay here...

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 15th floor...its the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Park Plaza

Address: 50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 1054
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Back Bay, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel & Towers is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation’s first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boston Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel And Towers
Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.