We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Expensive for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Location Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel is in a great location for touring Boston. I traveled with my teenage son to tour Boston. We had a nice stay in a clean room. Close to great dining and all of the freedom trail as well as public transportation. Initially was given an interior room, translucent window into atrium area, requested a change. They gave us another room that had a little bit of a water view. Do not expect expansive water views from this hotel as almost all of the rooms face to the sides of the wharf. Concierge was very busy as only one was on duty all of the times I went to the desk and there was always a wait. For the price I paid I would have expected a little more. Make sure that you make a reservation at Momma Maria for an incredible meal in the north end.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    445
    131
    47
    25
See reviews for
406
325
35
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The Marriott Long Wharf in Boston is not a cheap hotel. It's ranked amongst the best Marriott hotels in the US. What you get for your money is not as expected.
The hotel is very noisy (conferences, people moving in and out all the time, the wharf and port)
Nevertheless it has unique features. CAN'T BEAT THAT LOCATION. Pier in front of the door. Whale Watches, Speed-boats and Dolphinarium. 5 min. to Quincy Market, 15min to Chinatown. Ducktour stop in front of the hotel door.
Rooms are very clean and equipped with queen sized beds and huge LCD tv.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Hotel is in a great location, you can walk everywhere or take a short cab ride. The rooms are small but very nice. The breakfast buffet offered at the hotel is excellent. Just be prepared to spend 40.00 for two people. If you are a Gold member of Marriott you get to enjoy the concierge lounge located on the top floor which offers free beverages and snacks throughout the day. As a Gold member you also dont pay the internet fee which I think is insane that a hotel in this day and age would even consider charging a room for internet access. Another fee that is unnecessary is the valet, its 44.00 per day. Compared to the pricing of other hotels in the immediate area this hotel is priced very well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

In October, we spent a night at the Marriott Long Wharf in Boston. It isn't the first time we've stayed there, but both times we have had a great experience. The rooms are large (we have three young children), clean and quiet. The pool is another added bonus. We love that we can see the Harbor Seals from our rooms and that, of course, is a huge bonus for our kids. Both times we've been there it has been cold, so with just a short walk to Fanueil Hall, North End and the Aquarium, the location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Fl.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Very clean and nice attendees. parking is expensive as it seems to be in all of Boston.
Bob the bellman was very helpful and courteous. Located close to everything eventhough we used the trolley service out front since it was raining the day we were going exploring. The seaquarium is next door, small but lots of penguins and nicely kept fish tank(all the fish were healthy looking and large). We did the whale watching which is also next door, great experience. There are Dunkin doughnuts at every corner-not many Starbucks, I didnt get that. We visited Quincy market and did some shopping.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Just got back from a weekend trip into the city with my family. My children (9,7,6) had a wonderful time swimming in the indoor pool and exploring the North End. We also took in the Boston Children's Museum and Faneuil Hall. Room was very nice; a bit small for the 5 of us with the cot for my son, but workable. Staff was engaging, nice and helpful Great buffet breakfast in the Oceana Restaurant; very affordable for the kids. The North End is 1/4 mile away; but the restaurants were way to crowded at 5:00 in afternoon. It was the Head of the Charles weekend. Plan ahead if you have hungry children. Columbus Park is right next door to the hotel, has a playground. My only complaints were loud hallway noise from other guests in the middle of the night, and the cost of the room was a bit high considering the room size. But, you cannot beat the location. I would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here because of location, and it was just perfect. It was walking distance to the market places and Finneal Hall (SP?) and close to the subway. Little Italy (north end area) is just a 10 minute walk from here. Would def recommend this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly especially the maids. This was also exceptionally clean hotel. Perfect for a long weekend. A big plus for us was that there is a starbucks in the hotel! Although, you can find one or a dunkin donuts on every street corner

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.