We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated on the Harbor short was to Quincy Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated on the Harbor short was to Quincy Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We selected this hotel for the location and were not disappointed. We could literally walk everywhere. It's on the harbor next to the Boston Reef aquarium and just steps from Quincy Market.

The service is always great and Marriott. Rooms were nice and comfortable.

Location location location!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear JasonF 1975 - thank you for the review. The most important thing in my mind is that we are consistent in our service and product delivery. It appears we were able to meet expectations in this respect. Hope to see you back in Boston soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    445
    132
    47
    25
See reviews for
408
326
35
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent three nights here at the very beginning of July before heading to Cape Cod. The hotel's location is great -- right on the harbor, close to the North End, Quincy Market, Faneuil Hall, the Old State House, etc. We loved being able to walk to those areas.

The public spaces of the hotel have obviously been nicely and recently remodeled. Our room, too, had just been renovated, as all the furnishings and surfaces (walls, trim, granite) looked brand new. Our room was a nice size and we had a lovely view of Columbus Park and the harbor. It was also quiet.

We had breakfast two mornings at the hotel restaurant. Both mornings were good, but I particularly enjoyed the New England Omelette which had lots of chunks of lobster, cheese and mushrooms. There is also a Starbucks on the ground floor of the hotel (the actual lobby is on the second floor) which was convenient if you just wanted coffee or a pastry.

We enjoyed the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Bella Turista - thank you so much for choosing Long Wharf for your Boston stay-over earlier in the month. With so many options I am honored that you chose us. It was great that you had the opportunity to enjoy the City as well as the Cape on the same trip. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is located in the perfect place for a tourist visit to Boston. As the name suggests, it is on Long Wharf and is also in the ideal location for Fanueil Hall and Quincy Market along with many excellent restaurants.
My only negative comment would be that Marriott do not have complimentary in-room wi fi. It is free in the lobby but as their major competitors do tend to have a free in room service I think they are lagging behind a bit.
That apart, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The standard double room was spotlessly clean and very well furnished. The staff gave great service and seemed to genuinely want to please. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at the eastern end of the hotel on floor 3 or above because of the great views ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear IB Yorkie – Thank you for your solid review. As a brand standard the full service Marriotts still charge for wi-fi in the guest rooms, however we do offer free in the lobby and business center. I agree that providing it complimentary seems to be more and more commonplace in our industry, and I am sure we as a company will evolve as well in the near future. I will give high praise to our Housekeeping team for a spotless room. Hope to welcome you back to Boston and the Long Wharf soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Boston for a three night stay recently on our way to Maine. We had tickets to see Bruno Mars and decided to add a few days to do tourist thing so we chose the long wharf for its convenient location. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the Boston Common, the downtown historic area, the children's museum, and of course the aquarium is right next door. Navigating the city by car is tricky...lots of closed off streets, construction and one-ways. We chose to utilize the on-site secure parking garage & walk everywhere to alleviate the traffic headache. Our longest walk was to the commons, about 15 mins at what I'd call strolling pace. It was quite doable so if you are able-bodied I'd recommend doing the sidewalk commute like we did for all your city touring. Boston is very pedestrian friendly.
The hotel rooms were recently updated with fresh linens, furnishings, etc. In fact our floor was still in process as new carpet and trim was being installed during our visit. We visited the hotel bar/restaurant to watch US v. Germany in the soccer tournament. Good food, good service. Lots of out of town guests for a nearby convention were staying there as well. The bar/restaraunt was very loud with all the tvs and patrons excited during the match. But the staff were very accommodating, making room for all of us while also saving some quieter tables in a corner room for families with younger kids & tots.
The pool deck was lovely. It overlooks the water and all the boats. We also enjoyed the harbor walk each evening after dinner. If we had another day we would have enjoyed a whale watch cruise, but the first seasons hurricane was heading up the coast so no boat ride for us.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again if we ever plan another visit to Boston.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Shellgrabbers – Thank you for a great review. Glad you were able to get into Waterline and the 3rd floor pool deck during your visit. They are treasures in the city. Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here on a weekend away and will stay there again. If you're looking for a hotel in Boston that is centrally located this is it. Other than Fenway Park, you can walk to so many attractions and restaurants. The harbor is right there so you can hop on a tour right out your hotel door. The inside is a little dated, but other than that a great place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Tracibeth – Thank for posting review on Trip Advisor. Boston is certainly a walking city, glad you were able to get out there and enjoy everything Boston has to offer. Another great alternative to get around the city is the Boston Pedicab. Not only does this bicycle powered buggy operate like a taxi – getting you from point A to point B but they also provide tours of all of the Boston neighborhoods in the downtown from a very unique perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here for a weekend in the North End of Boston. Every detail of our stay was perfect, from check-in to the room through room service! This property is in a perfect location as well and it was a true delight to stay there. We will definitely do it again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Lwdc63 - Thank you for the great review of the Long Wharf. So many people see us as a great destination for a weekend get-a-way, I am glad everything was perfect. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with 3 younger children in tow. Location was perfect for them with the aquarium across the street, the Columbus park right next to it, the Boston Harbor, great shopping, historical sites and the trolley tours all right there, it's got location for sure!! However, it's not cheap. The rooms are very small. But the sunsets of the 3rd floor deck by the pool make up for anything it may lack, which isnt much.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and reinforcing our great location and the 3rd floor deck that is open to all guests of the Hotel. We also have beverage service available in summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.