We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 77 hotels in Boston
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just finished a three day, two night stay at the Marriott Boston Long Wharf for business. The staff were very helpful, friendly, efficient and understanding. The team managed a group of 20 with ease and grace, met all the needs and wants of the guests not only for rooms, but service at the Waterline restaurant and more. This is Boston at it's very best!

Room Tip: The rooms are all great - maybe a bit noisy on floors 1-3 close to the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Sounds like your group of 20 had an enjoyable experience with all aspects of the hotel, including our Waterline Restaurant. We hope to host you and your group once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    495
    408
    121
    44
    21
See reviews for
381
283
29
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were visiting Boston for college tours and the location was fantastic, as everyone comments. We walked everywhere from the hotel including Quincy Market, the Freedom trail, Little Italy, and beyond. As a family of 5, it was very difficult to find a room in Boston. The Long Wharf brought in a full-sized roll away bed that fit comfortably in the room of 2 double beds and the room was a reasonable price. That said, on the spectrum of hotels, this is more of a convention style hotel. Large hotel, with OK rooms, not especially warm and enviting, but functional with a great location. In our case, the 5 person capacity and great location outweighed the need for a more refined experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
TThank you for your recent review, I am glad you found our hotel comfortable for 5 people during your recent trip to Boston to visit colleges. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, ME
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times over that last couple of years for my companies annual sales meetings. It is a very run fo the mill hotel. There is nothing really special about it. They did do a renivation a couple years ago so it's a little better but nothing to right home about. The pool is very small the bar is nice it looks out at the water. But I do prefer the westin when in boston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am sorry to hear that our hotel is less appealing to you than others you have visited in the market. I do hope you had an enjoyable sales meeting with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My son gave me a gift of a trip to Boston with a 3 night stay at the LongWharf. The location is wonderful for visiting tourists! The Aquarium is outside the front door, the T stops there,too. The area has oodles of wonderful restaurants nearby.

My complaint is with my room. I am not a young person, and they gave me a room that was 150 steps from the only elevator. I was amazed that an hotel of this size didn't have another elevator. My other disappointment was that I had no view outside. My window was on an inside wall overlooking the banquet room. Every morning and evening I could hear dishes and silverware clinking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed the location of the hotel but not your room location. I would be happy to assist with a better room assignment during your next visit to our hotel, Please contact me prior to arrival and I will coordinate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night prior to our recent cruise. We had a big problem as I had left my handbag with our passports and ID in a cab we had taken from the airport. Called their helpline for advice and couldn't get a call back, waited an hour, then down to the front desk....clueless to put it mildly....we waited while they futzed around and finally after several hours they put me in touch with the Boston police dept who handles these situations.....they told me that the Marriott should have known to call their ofc in the first place. Well the Boston police dept are heroes in my book...using only the four last numbers of my credit card, they were able to track the cab and 15 minutes later they had the cab driver coming back to the hotel to deliver my purse!!

A large full service city property should have front desk staff that can give their best to work hard to help a customer (and we are platinum lifetime elite by the way), but their training was so poor they didn't have a clue. We asked to speak with the general manager a couple of times and they really didn't want that to happen! The concierge however, did start calling cab companies immediately, he was compassionate, and helpful.

The room on the concierge level was fine, lounge was good, so they hit the right notes there, but in the service dept no way. After it was all over they asked what they could do for us, anything we want (I think they knew they had dropped the ball here), and after prompting they comped our room and dinner....finally we see a glimmer of the old "Marriott Way"!

At close to $300 per night we expect more, and did expect to speak with the General Manager at some point during this period. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I appreciate your candid feedback in regards to how the staff at the hotel handled your items left behind in a city taxi. I will certainly use take this as a learning opportunity and train all of our service staff as to the best course of action when this happens in the future. I am sorry that we let you down and would be happy to discuss this further with you. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just returned home from a two-day stay in Boston with my family. This was our first time visiting the city, so I did a good amount of research to find a hotel in the right location. This hotel is outstanding. The subway is right outside the door which takes you all over the city. The hotel is located right on the harbor with beautiful views. Aquarium is also right next door. Other very close attractions are Faneuil Hall, the North End, Chinatown, the Old State House. Location couldn't be better. The hotel is bright and clean and updated. The staff is outstanding. Upon check-in we were advised that they had overbooked for the night and offered us a room at a local Marriott hotel. John, the manager, stressed that it was voluntary and we could still have the room we had reserved. We were told that our night would be comped as well as breakfast and parking, and upon our return the next day we would be upgraded to better room. We took him up on his offer, and we were very, very happy that we did. John kept our bags and our car parked at his hotel so we could keep our plans on that end of the city. Once we picked up the car and headed to our new hotel, we found our room was beautiful, we had a delicious breakfast, and parked for free. When we returned to the Long Wharf on Sunday, we had been upgraded to an amazing suite with a private balcony. We were given Concierge level keys so we had access to the lounge which offered breakfast, hors d'oeuvres, and desert. We were also given complimentary internet access and late check out and free parking. John went over and above to make up for the inconvenience of moving to a different hotel. When we thought things couldn't be more perfect, some extra treats were sent to the room. All staff members were friendly and accommodating. The concierge staff really knew their stuff. Jimbo, the doorman, greeted our son each and every time by name and went out of his way to make him feel special. We will be back for sure. Thank you all for really making our stay extra special. We truly appreciate the personal attention we received.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am very happy to hear your comments regarding staff service at our hotel. On those very rare occasions that we have to relocate a guest, we try very hard to ensure that the experience will be a positive one, and in your case it sounds like it worked out perfect. I will personally thank John for a job well done as well as Jimbo at the front door! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed on a business trip in Oct 13, hotel is well placed for all Boston waterfront activities. Room was good, and the trip to the airport by water taxi is a must do - ask at reception or see the concierge to book it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. The water taxi is a great way to get around the Boston Waterfront and Airport. I am happy to see you had the opportunity to enjoy the location and amenities. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.