We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very good conference facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 77 hotels in Boston
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very good conference facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a conference for 150 people and it was hard to fault any aspect of the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and well fitted-out and there are striking views from the restaurant and many of the conference rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review after your conference at our hotel. We typically receive high praise for event attendees. Meeting planners rank us amongst the best hotels in Boston as well as all of Marriott as well. We hope your travels bring you back to our great city and the Boston Marriott Long Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    389
    116
    44
    21
See reviews for
353
266
28
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The very best thing to share is the location. Right at the inner Boston harbor and 5 minutes max. walking from Quincy Market and downtown. Perfect.
The second best thing was the very friendly staff starting with the bell desk to the receptionist.
Our room was average at best (for the price) going out to a busy street and we couldn't close the curtain correctly. The bathroom was kind of small but otherwise well equipped.
We had drinks at the bar and no complaints. Maybe a bit noisy but that's how it is sometimes.
We don't think the price of more than $500.- per night (no extras, no breakfast, nothing) is justified even if the location is very central.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to recognize our staff members, I will be sure to pass along your praise. As for room rates, there are definitely certain times tha Boston rates are elevated, but in general there are plenty of great times to visit when rates are more reasonable. I hope we have the opportunty to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Long Wharf mid-September. Room was adequate though bathroom was small and no drawers/storage and little counterspace (always an issue for us girls!). There were 6 plugins on each bedside lamp which I really appreciate as the typical room does not have adequate, easily accessed plugins for all the electronic gadgetry we have. We had a partial view of the harbor and full view of a small dog park. The bed was hard; both of us complained about it. The hotel's best asset is its location. The Charter House restuarant and the New England aquarium are literally right outside the front door. If you want to take the Boston Harbor dinner cruise, its only a 5-6 minute walk away. The North End with all its fabulous Italian restuarants is less than a 10 minute walk away. If you are a runner, you're right on the harbor and can run along it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. I agree with you, the 6 plugs in the lamps near the bed make are great. It is amazing how many gadgets people have these days and they all need a plug! Hope to see you again soon, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Boston Marriott Long Wharf was ideally situated for us. We were looking for a weekend in town away from the kids to celebrate our anniversary. This was perfect. We were within walking distance of both the North End (mmm...Mike's Pastries) and the Fanieul Hall-Quincy Market area. The rooms in the hotel were very nice if only average. We did have a beautiful view of one of the parks from our room. While it is an older hotel it is very well maintained. We made use of the hotel pool and gym facilities both of which were beautiful. While the pool is solidly indoors there is an outdoor deck area that some crazy kids were running out too (I call them crazy because we went in February and it was snowing - hard). My only problem with this hotel was the parking. Valet is you only choice and it is a little expensive...probably not by Boston standards...but I am just not one for having anyone else drive my car. The staff was extremely helpful though. We forgot our coats in the car and they concierge had someone run to our vehicle for them and then deliver them to our room. Over all it was a great weekend and we plan to head back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Looks like you joined us during a snowy February weekend. Lets hope the snow holds off during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent location, with a T stop right outside the front door. Spent a lovely happy hour at the Concierge lounge watching the tour boats, a sailboat regatta and the planes coming and going at Logan.

Easy easy walk to the North End and to Faneuil Hall.

Wishlist for improvements - The actual bar area is crying out for a makeover that would let you have a few of the wharf/harbor. Concierge lounge breakfast - very crowded and family friendly. ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed the harbor views from our Concierge Lounge. It can be very peaceful watching all the activity on the water while enjoying the amenities of the lounge itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and provides a comfortable stay. Front desk staff were great. The rooms are large and very clean. The hotel restaurant is excellent and I particularly enjoyed a Sunday brunch there. The concierge lounge is good and staffed with accomodating and friendly attendants. I'd definitely recommend to anyone traveling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the hotel staff. We work hard to maintain high levels of hospitality and service for each guest. It is always refreshing to see when it is recognized. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott at the beginning of our Gaspe cruise. Overall a nice hotel, very comfortable and really close to the Quincy Market (2 minute walk). Only problem was they charge for WiFi. Can't talk about the restaurant because we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Hope you enjoyed your cruise as well as your time in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.