We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This Marriott has a great location close to the Seaport, North End, Quincy Market and all things Boston. The concierge was spot on and gave great recommendations and it was an easy place to stay. It would be great for families who are trying to see the town with the kids!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I noticed that you have almost 100 reviews on record with Trip Advisor. Very impressive! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience and shared such wonderful comments. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    477
    140
    51
    26
See reviews for
443
351
38
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As with most other reviews we have to agree this hotel has a very good location. BUT that's it's only good point. We booked the concierge level and found it to be the poorest by far of any other hotel we have stayed in. The breakfast was very basic as were the canopies in the evening. A glass of wine was $12 at the honesty bar...complete rip off! The honesty bar closed at 10 pm on the dot. This hotel has a lot to learn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were disapointed with the services provided in our Concierge Lounge. I will review the offerings with my team and ensure we are providing the appropriate standards in regards to food selections, offerings and services. I would be happy to discuss this further if you would like. I would like to make sure that you have an enjoyable visit with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This Marriott's main advantage is it's location. It's right at Long Wharf so it's next to the New England Aquarium along with where the charter tour boats dock and depart out of. It's very easy to walk around from this property. Took me about a 5 minute walk to get to the battery wharf area in the North End and about the same to walk in the other direction to where the boston harbor hotel area is.

The property is fairly nice and isn't too large (has about 300 some odd rooms) and both rooms and public areas have been recently updated. I felt the rooms were pretty decent size and up to date. They had a boutique feel to it, so it was a nice change from the typical corporate Marriot status quo.

I didn't partake in any of the property's onsite restaurants, bar, room service, or spa so can't comment on that. Their valet service is fairly quick. Perhaps the only potential downfall is sometimes it gets pretty congested getting in and out of the property just because of it's prime location and the various attractions next to it. The flip side, is everything is very walkable. Without a doubt, this is an outstanding property to stay at for it's location and room quality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Great location with great views. Great workout facility! I stayed there overnight and really wish I had more time. Perfect location as there are lots of great restaurants to walk to as well, and it's right on the water.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the water! Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great Hotel in a super location. The Long Wharf is a two minute walk to Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market and all the restaurants and shops located there. Adjacent to the New England Aquarium and short walk to stops along the Freedom Trail like the Paul Revere house and Old North Church. Subway stop right outside the front door.

Room Tip: The Columbus Park side of the hotel is quieter and has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stay was great, it was a perfect location, walking distance to everything and great view.
We had breakfast one morning and the service was awful. Very disorganized and not worth the $50. Everything else was wonderful though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel on a Sunday evening for business. After landing at the airport, I took a bus to the waterfront, and then I took a water taxi to the hotel. This was a cool experience, but certainly not the most efficient. If time is an issue, take a regular taxi.

Upon arrival, check-in was quick and efficient. The front desk was kind enough to recommend a nearby seafood restaurant for dinner.

The room was ok, not great. A little on the cramped side, but perfectly fine for all of my needs. I will say that the door to the bathroom was an engineering novelty. No way to use the bathroom with the door open. Also, I could certainly hear the folks in the adjoining room, and I'm guessing they could here me coming down with a cold and snoring throughout the night. Not cool.

The best thing about this hotel seems to be the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad you found the bathroom door interesting! I checked the security report for the night you stayed and I am happy to report that there were no noise complaints due to your snoring. We hope to see you again soon and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#23 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.