We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring location is great ,hotel is okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Touring location is great ,hotel is okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

First of all, Marriott considers this a level 9 hotel.... Based on location okay I get it. Based on it being a luxury hotel no way. This place is situated in the heart of the wharf where the Aquarium and trolley tours and wharf side restaurants and bars. It is a good location to leave out the door and start your day of touring Boston whether by foot or trolley. It is close to Faneuil Hall and walking is easy. The hotel on check in was easy but our adjoining room was not ready. Even though we saw the people check out at 10:30, we were going into the other room , it took till 6:30 to get our adjoining room. We were at least thankful for the early check- in of one room. Next thing is on the top floor is the concierge level. It has a fabulous view of the harbor but it is very small , crowded, hot, bad food and bad and unfriendly service. Seating is tight, hard to get and it is very cramped. Go for the view when breakfast rush is over. The rooms are small and the bath is tiny. One side of the hotel ,the back side , has a pretty view. The concierge was not very helpful and really had an impatient attitude . Really seemed bored as if we were asking the same old tired questions and did he really have to deal with us . Although the doormen were on the other hand , quite helpful when we needed advice on directions, attractions and restaurants..... Someone needs a raise. We did not use the restaurant. Our room rate increased by $ 100.00 every night we were there and when we asked why because of " business " travel .. Well we were a family traveling and it galls me to pay an extra $200.00 on the 3rd night . Although, at check in I have to admit the nice girl asked if we had triple A and we do so we got a discount .. We are platinum members with over 2 million points but again Marriott raised this to a cat 9 hotel and the amount of points was ridiculous to use. I would stay here for the ease of touring Boston. It was clean, in a great location. Very crowded with tourists. We were able to rent a car right near the hotel and then carry on to the Marriott in New Hampshire , Wentworth by the Sea, to finish our New England tour. See my review of that.

Room Tip: Choose the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Long Wharf Marriott and thank you for your loyalty to Marriott as well. I appreciate your candid feedback and will use your comments as an opportunty to fine tune our services. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the location and plan to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    445
    131
    47
    25
See reviews for
406
325
35
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you want a place to stay right in the middle of everything that Boston has to offer, this is the place. Great location makes everything within a reasonable walking distance. Helpful staff, including the concierge (who booked tickets for the Aquarium so we didn't need to wait in a long line) and housekeeping (who cleaning up a mess after my 7 yo learned that pool water and pizza don't mix). A very nice stay and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff service at the hotel. I agree, Pizza and Pool water do not go together, I have to give your 7 year old an "A" for creativity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff should be recognized for the high level of customer service they provide to the guests. We were greeted by the doorman who allowed us to temporarily park as we checked-in. When we checked-in the front desk staff was so courteous and genuine. It's rare to come across such great service! Thank you Boston Marriott Long Wharf staff!!!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the end would be more quiet as there are public areas and restaurants on the sides t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I reviewed your comments with my front door and front desk staff and they wanted me to thank you as well for recognizing thier efforts. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Long Warf in Boston with 9 of my friends to celebrate my birthday. Perfect location in Boston, close to the Faneuil Hall, Little Italy and many other attractions. The hotel staff and service were great and really added to our experience. When you go to the hotel bar be sure to ask for Shannon for a taste of Boston humor. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Happy Birthday! Thank you for celebrating your special occasion with us. I am happy to see that you all had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is located by the water overlooking the wharf and water. Excellent proximity to Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market and many other attractions. Rooms were clean, quiet, and roomy. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Boston Long Wharf Marriott! Sounds like you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the service provided by our staff members. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose this hotel for our annniversary weekend over some more expensive hotels and we are very glad we did. The location is perfect for enjoying the harbor while sitting in the deck just outside the pool, take your favorite drink and relax. It's an easy walk to the best Boston has to offer. The room was clean, quiet and had great black out shades. Perfect after getting up at 5 to watch the sun rise over the harbor from the deck, then heading back to bed. All the staff were very accommodating, especially Carolyn at the front desk. Would highly recommend for a romantic stay or a family get away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the pool deck that overlooks the harbor, one of our best kept secrets. I applaud you for getting up at 5am to see the sun rise, I will assume there were not too many other guests up at that hour of the day. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Marriott Long Wharf was chosen by the client. We were working at the BCEC and Seaport Center, which put the hotel less than a 10 minute cab ride away. The doorman had a smile every time we arrived or departed, and always helped with bags and doors without ever soliciting a tip.
We didn't forget that when we left after six days. He lent me an umbrella when I went walking to the bank in a June drizzle. The concierge was knowledgeable and quick, and right past the friendly front desk was a lovely breakfast buffet which magically became a great little happy hour spot at the end of the day. A wall of windows looks over the Aquarium and the docks where the whale watchers come and go...a great spot to check the weather, and a list of regional beers to help get acquainted. Great fitness room to work it off in the morning, and at no additonal charge. My room looked over the docks as well, and when I squinted I imagined I was on a cruise. Lovely room and workspace, and perfectly quiet all night in spite of the action outside. As other reviewers have noted, the location is well situated for walking tours straight out the door, and numerous landmarks lie close by. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the aquarium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Sounds like you not only enjoyed our hotel, but Boston as a destination. The city has soo much to offer and I am happy that we were part of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.