We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
SE Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is a typical, full-service Marriott in many ways: a great fitness center, comfortable rooms with no surprises, very good concierge lounge, acceptable bar and restaurant, and a Starbucks (that unfortunately gets too busy in the mornings, particularly if there is a conference at the hotel -- expect a very long line). It is located right on the Wharf, as the name suggests. You couldn't ask for a better base for visiting the sites of downtown Boston.

The layout of the hotel is also typical of big city properties: the lobby is not on the ground floor. If you get to the hotel late at night, figuring out where to go for check-in might be a problem. It's not entirely clear upon entering the building at the main doors.

I also found that the breakfast selections at the concierge lounge were not as good as other Marriotts at which I've stayed. I would have liked some form of breakfast meats (bacon, sausage or even cold cuts would have been very welcome). There were the usual scrambled eggs, but they were only luke warm. Ick.

It may be the location on the harbor with it's views and convenience to sites, but I found the price to be a bit high for late November, after Thanksgiving (almost $300/night + tax). A check of the price for an upcoming stay, however, found the AAA rate to be just above $200 per night, plus tax, which is very affordable for a hotel of this quality and location. Your mileage may vary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    474
    140
    50
    26
See reviews for
441
348
38
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Awesome hotel with many great places within walking distance! You can see many of the historical buildings downtown or walk along the wharf all the way up to the Boston Tea Party ships. The Aquarium and Legal Seafood is nearby. Starbuck's in the lobby stays pretty busy.

Room Tip: Plan on doing alot of walking on Boston. It is a walking city..... Bring an umbrella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sure, We expect to be price gouged on New Years Eve, but we expect value. Paid $429 for a 10 x 15 room. Add 24.45 State Tax, 25.74 Local Tax and 11.80 for ccf tax (whatever that is). Add another $46 for parking. Breakfast was $57.11. Plus, tips for the vallet, bell, waiter. That's for two people. All-in-all overpriced.

The good: location is great. Right downtown in the heart of Boston. Close to the aquarium, Quincy Market, Common, etc. Could walk to everything.

Lots of kids.

Noisy. We were right over the hotel enterance.

Staff was very nice. Room was clean. Lots of kids in the pool. Workout room was big, lots of equipment and nobody working out. Breakfast was a buffett; very good.

We go Boston a couple of times a year. This was our first time at this hotel. We probably won't stay here again. There are lots of great hotels in Boston. We chose this to see the Harbor fireworks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments. Our location certainly is ideal for visitors coming into Boston for all the reasons you mentioned. It was great to see your remarks regarding staff service, room cleanliness and our breakfast buffet, I will be sure to share that with the associates of the hotel. I am sorry that you had a room over the front entrance that may have generated some noise, I would be happy to offer you a larger room that is in a more quiet location for a future stay. Feel free to give me a ring when planning your trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is ideally located across the street from Faneuil Hall, and next to the dock where you can catch harbor tours. There is a subway stop just outside the front door which was very convenient and many things to do within close walking distance such as the still-developing walking path along the water, and Paul Revere's home on the Freedom Trail. Inside, the hotel is very nice, modern and spacious. The rooms are clean and comfortable with excellent service. However, on the weekend we were there (3nights), the hotel was overrun with small children. This could be because it is next to the aquarium or perhaps because the hotel ran a special for families with small children. It did not have any amenities that clearly attracts families with small children, so it is not clear to me why so many were there. Kids were running down the halls, in the elevators by themselves, on the hotel's computers, and there were strollers everywhere. Because my kids are teens, we prefer quieter, less chaotic, accommodations. When making my reservation, I would have liked to be alerted to the fact that there would be more kids there than a Great Wolf Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went there at Christmas and the location could not have been better. Right across from Quincy Market that was beautifully decorated and a 5 minute walk from the North End and it's fine restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in December of 2012. The hotel was huge. They have valet parking and you can pay 46.00 a day here or you can park across the street at Harbor Park for 35.00 a day which we did. It was a very short walk from the two. They have a Starbucks in the downstairs lobby. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Faneuil Hall is across the street in walking distance. The T is located right next to the hotel which made it very easy to get around. The waterfront is beautiful!! Great place in to stay in the warmer months when there is more going on outside on the wharf- but it was very nice even in the winter!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Long Wharf for the night the night my husband and I got married. We arrived a little earlier thanc heck-in, but our room was available with no problems. The room was exactly as I booked: king bed at a reasonable rate. Everything was clean, comfortable and updated. Bathroom is a little small, but perfectly adequate and stocked with lots of towels and great toiletries. We left for the afternoon, and when we came back, the hotel left us champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries with a nice card for "The Newlyweds". It was a fantastic surprise on to round out an excellent evening. We had drinks and appetizers at the in-house restaurant. Our server, Mike, was attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. The restaurant is updated and cool, with large high-tops, lounge areas and cozy booths. Drinks were on par with Boston standards (expensive), but tasty. The pool and hot tub are on the smaller side, but also totally adequate with a great view. Something funny is that they played the best music. We stayed during Christmas, but thank goodness they stayed away from the tired Christmas music. It was upbeat, not obnoxious, and different in all the different common areas.

Parking is outrageously expensive. We were coming from the south shore, so we utilized the commuter boat. If you have to drive, park across the street for half the price.

Staff couldn't have been nicer. Amenities are plentiful. Location can't be beat. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Booking on Marriot.com is the same as the cheaper discount sites and they treat you better! Park acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#23 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.