We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Property, Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Property, Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel the weekend after Thanksgiving. The doorman was friendly and helpful. Front desk staff was aloof when checking in and later gave us incorrect information regarding charges for using the phone and internet. I hate that this hotel charges you $14 to use the internet! Location is great. We were able to walk just a couple blocks to Faneuil Hall Marketplace which was beautifully decorated for the holidays. I would like to visit again sometime in the spring or summer since the hotel is right on the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    445
    131
    47
    25
See reviews for
406
325
34
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fantastic hotel with a great location. As a Marriott rewards member I would say the marriott rewards lounge food is average at best. I was pretty disappointed with the overall selection. The restaurant has great food selection and outstanding bar tenders. The two guys have been there for 30 years. Fitness area is outstanding and rooms are nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Chasse, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We ended up staying at the the Long Wharf as for business as Hurricane Sandy blew up the East Coast, so the trip was a bit of a wash due to weather. The hotel itself is modern and clean. We were upgraded to the concierge floor which is the only place we ate in the hotel. There are so many other options within walking distance! Even though the town was a bit shut down due to the approaching storm, the hotel service never suffered the least as far as I could tell. Take a walk to the Black Rose about two blocks up. We went several times to work our way through the menu! Plus it's on the way to Faniel Hall and the Freedom Trail. The hotel is conveniently located walking distance to everything you want to see in downtown Boston.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the harbor if you are looking for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is clean, boasts excellent food service and the staff is very polite and attentive. I rarely give "Excellent" ratings, but the service pushed this place over the top. I called to find out what was causing the noise during the afternoon and was told there was maintenance being performed on the garage on the other side of the wall. I only wanted to know what was causing the noise, which would have ended soon anyway, but the desk insisted on moving me to a suite on the other side of the building. On top of this, I could find not one thing to complain about. This will be my base when working in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My Wife and I checked in to the Long Warf Marriott on Friday November 30th .After battleing Friday afternoon Boston traffic we were relived to finally arrive at the Hotel. We pulled up to the front of the hotel and seemed to break up some sort of staff arrgument.(Doorman pointing and yelling at another worker)After they saw us sitting there for a few minutes the visibly upset Doorman guy approched us and asked us if we needed help.I thought twice about it and relplied "no, we'll be just fine thank you."We collected our car claim check eventually and found the escalator that takes you up to the 2nd floor were the front desk is located.The lobby is very nice and modern and apperently was redone within the last year or so as well as the pool.Our room was a standard Marriott room that had a nice view of a park that was all lit up at night.After settling in we decided to take a walk around the area and find a place for dinner. We found a nice young man in the lobby who recommended a resturant in the North end of Boston that has great Italian food.He took out a map and showed us were it was located, about a10 minute walk to the north end.It was a chilly night in Boston so he recommended we take a cab wich are readily availiable outside the front door of the hotel.After taking the escalator back down to the front door to hail a cab the same Doorman from arrival suddenly appeared and stated "you need a cab,I'll get you one! Then proceded to blow a whistle so loud to a cab that was 15 feet away that cabs on Newbury street probally heard it.After the ringing in our ears went away we arrived at the resturant in the North End were the food was FANTASTIC!(Lucas) To our surprise they had a gluten free menu as well for people with food allergies!Very impressed!After a great meal we decided to brave the cold and walk back to Long Warf and it is really 10 minutes away.After a good night sleep and a visit to the hot tub and pool area we decided to put the bags in our car and mabey walk around the city a little.We checked out and went back down to the front door to see about putting our bags in our car when the Doorman from arrival appeared again! He stated we could NOT put out bags in our car and that he would "Store" them for us. Well after the two prevoius encounters with this guy my wife and I agreed, lets just go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed one Friday night; used points. Arrived at 10:30 AM and had requested early check-in and room on 6th floor was ready. Pretty typical "Marriott room" in good repair. Bed comfortable; shower water pressure adequate; good housekeeping.

All hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel is located adjacent to the Aquarium subway stop entrance (Blue Line) and about as easy to get to and from the airport as possible.

Was able to use late check-out (2 PM) on Saturday afternoon which worked perfectly with my airline schedule.

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here during Columbus Day weekend. Liked this hotel best out of any we've been to in Boston so far. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was a decent size and very clean. Would have been perfect if it had been a little cheaper but you can't beat the location. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was great. The kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.