We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Long Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Boston
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here during Columbus Day weekend. Liked this hotel best out of any we've been to in Boston so far. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was a decent size and very clean. Would have been perfect if it had been a little cheaper but you can't beat the location. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was great. The kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    417
    122
    44
    22
See reviews for
387
295
32
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the Marriott Boston Long Wharf Hotel. This hotel has an excellent location. It is across the street from Faneuil Hall Market Place and just a few blocks from Little Italy. We spent the weekend walking to all the sites we wanted to see, only using mass transportation to take us to our train home. We were even able to check our bags with the hotel both before registration and after checking out which enabled us to extend our wondering even more.
Our room was clean, updated and roomy. The hotel staff was polite,professional and very accommodating( especially Kendra at the front desk), Our only complaint about this hotel was that sound seemed to travel easily. On the busier hotel nights, we were awakened by voices and noise coming from other rooms and the hallway outside our room. All in all we had a lovely time in Boston in part due to our hotel accommodation at this Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I just stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend and we have been coming to this hotel year after year for one reason - it is truly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at anywhere!

From the moment you pull into the drive you are welcomed by warm and friendly staff who seem determined to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The view from the rooms in almost any location are phenomenal- the wharf, the harbor, Fanueil Hall, you name it. I can't think of a better location to start from if you are seeing the city either. You are literally across the street from Fanueil Hall,Quincy Market and the Boston Aquarium, a block from the Freedom Trail and a five minute walk to the North End or the Garden for a Celtics Game. In 10 minutes you can be in the Boston Common area. Even better, you can take the T to see many of Boston's sites for very modest fare as there is a station literally outside the door and down a flight of steps. The area immediately surrounding the hotel is always lively and is a great starting point for tours on the Trolley and other buses.

While we always liked the hotel, a major update took place last year and it is even nicer than before. The lobby is surrounded with comfortable spaces and nooks to hang out and relax and the food at the Waterline restaurant is well above average for a hotel. The staff has been unfailiingly pleasant and helpful everytime we stay. What speaks volumes is that even if our stays are six months apart we frequently see the same faces every time we visit. It's clear that the management at this hotel is top notch and empowers and encourages the employees to do whatever they need to to make guests feel welcome. This is all too rare in most hotels I encounter.

There is so much to see in Boston that one can end up spendiing very little time in a hotel room. But there is something so welcoming and warm about this hotel that when you return you feel happy to be there, like it's truly a part of Boston and Boston experience, not just some weigh station between shops and sites.

I know this review sounds so fantastic that you would think that I worked for the hotel or something, but I don't and it is truly sincere. I have stayed at hundreds of properties around the world (mostly Marriotts) and can genuinely say that my family and I all agree that this is one of our favorite places to be anytime, anywhere. There is something truly special about this place...

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have fantastic views, no matter which corner you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and 3 teenage kids 2 days after Thanksgiving. Doorman was very pleasant. Asked if we needed help with our bags. We declined but he was still very helpful & pleasant. Kendra at the front desk was professional & pleasant. She gave us a bigger room with a pullout sofa instead of a cot for our son. The entire staff here is the best and treat you like family. The room view was nice- looked out over the harbor. The hotel is clean & spacious. The lobby area is comfortable with books to read and tv's to watch. The bar staff is awesome. The one bad thing here is the cost of valet parking-$46 for the nite with unlimited in/out. Pricey, but typical (avg. $30-50) garage parking on the waterfront. I love staying here. The staff makes your stay even better. The room rate varies but is comparable with any other places. Runs $129-400+ per nite. The Chart House Restaurant and Legal Seafood are right at your doorstep. The New England Aquarium and tour boats are next door. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for the Thanksgiving weekend. The staff at the front desk were less than courteous. I was quoted one rate and then told I had to pay a higher rate upon arrival. The woman at the desk said, "You shouldn't complain, the rate was nearly $100 higher the night before." The room was tight for our family of 5. The bathroom was extremely small, as were the beds. The fitness area and pool were great. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is right next to the aquarium, subway, and park. It's an easy walk to the North End. Another thing to note was the concierges hadn't heard of a few restaurants I asked about. They also tried to recommend a restaurant that didn't offer a kid's menu after we told them we needed a place that was kid-friendly, since there were 8 in our party. They weren't that helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We love coming to Boston and decided to be near Faneuil hall and good spots. MLW was it! The lobby has many seating areas where you can just hang out, the restaurant had TVs in the booths so my bf could watch the games, it seemed as if it never got dull down there.

Our room was on the 6th floor which I was happy about. It seems because of the openness of the lobby floors 1-4 could be loud. 6 was perfect, our room had a great view, housekeeping was great, we were very happy. We had a package so parking ($47 a day) and wifi were included which was nice. Business center was good to print out our tickets too.

I did venture out to the gym here too, wow! Top notch equipment, hand towels, fruits it was great. As always with Marriott we were happy with the service we got.

Room Tip: We had a high floor, room 662...it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POUGHKEEPSIE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had planned to spend the day before Thanksgiving in Boston for some shopping and a visit to Boston University. The hotel location is terrific with easy access to the waterfront, Quincy Market, the aquarium, etc. The rooms are a bit cramped though for our family of 5 and the double beds seem too small. Also on our first night the fire alarm went off at 2 AM which made for a poor night's sleep. I realize that the Hotel can't always prevent such events. The onsite parking is also quite expensive but there are cheaper garages nearby if you don't mind walking a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. This Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.