We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only great thing about it is the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Copley Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Copley Place to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Copley Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The only great thing about it is the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Stayed at the Marriot for a conference and the fact that it is across the street from the Back Bay Station is great. However that's the last time I would use that particular adjective when describing this Marriot. The rooms are starting to show their age and painting a door multiple times will not help. The elevators don't seem to be able to keep up with a large crowd and you'll find yourself waiting quite awhile on some occasions. The breakfast at Gourmeli's is typical of any hotel overpriced for the quality and while the staff is courteous, the size of the hotel will not allow for anything resembling personal service. It's convenient, but I imagine there are other places nearby that would prove superior.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The elevators
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    956
    340
    98
    36
See reviews for
450
474
98
723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

I stayed here last week on business. It is a nice hotel but overwhelming at times. It is well located in the Back Bay and connected to a high-end mall. Plus you can walk indoors thru the mall to another mall and cross about four blocks without going outside. Nice when it is cold outside.

However, this place is huge and difficult to find your way around. It really is a factory, although well run. The hotel has no character but offers nice rooms, typical Marriott amenities, efficient service and a good location. In my opinion, this hotel is perfect for a business trip but a special occasion I would try somewhere more interesting.

  • Liked — good location, business amenities
  • Disliked — Charges for everything, confusing layout
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Nice Hotel.But they need to correct one thing
If you park your car (it cost 35.00)you can no longer go in and out as much as you want like other hotels.You must pay each time.
That sucked.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Without a doubt, the hotel is well situated. Adjoining a mall and with the metro and AMTRAK right across the street, it is easy to get to your destination. In summer, it's a lovely 30 minute walk through the park to the historic area.

I have stayed here several times this year and must say the hotel has been consistant. Sadly though, it's nothing special. On the positive side, the rooms are well appointed. Very Marriott. On the (slightly) negative side, I don't find the staff very welcoming. While they are not rude, I don't find that they go out of their way to impress you, either. Luckily my interactions with them are minimal now.

Would I stay there if I was visiting Boston on vacation rather than business? Yes. But then again, II wouldn't be spending my entire vacation in the room!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of personality of staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

I booked this hotel using Priceline. I came to Boston with my son ,who was trying out for a game show. Most of my comments on this hotel are positive. The location is very good, and it is connected to a mall for those interested in shopping. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby for a quick breakfast. The staff was very professional. There is a small pool and excersice room. My only complaint lies in the noise level. At 1:00 a.m., I was awaken by loud, obnoxious intoxicated people in the hall outside my room. The walls are way too thin. The hotel seems to cater to a business crowd, and I would not recommend it for a family vacation.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt. pleasant, sc
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

My family stayed here for 4 nights starting 10/31. WE booked the hotel as part of a package on Priceline, because we were coming for a college football game and this was the "headquarters" picked for Tiger fans.

Anyway, the location was fabulous...almost couldn't be better. We were so close to the T, so we could get anywhere we wanted. The lobby was really pretty and seemed well-kept-up.

Our corner room on the 31 floor had spectacular city views. The room was pretty clean. I did note a hair on the shower wall that didn't belong to us, but otherwise, I had no complaints about cleanliness.

There were only two things that kept me from giving this hotel a higher rating: 1 - minimal space for clothing (there were 4 of us in this room, with only 3 small drawers) and 2 - (and this was the biggie) the beds and pillows were horribly uncomfortable. The mattresses were really squashy. Not so much lumpy - just really soft. The first night I hardly slept at all. The pillows are similarly squashy...and small...I could ball it up and fit it under my neck. Fortunately, after spending our days walking miles around the city, we were all exhausted enough to sleep even though the beds were uncomfortable.

Over all, though, I'd stay here again. Maybe by next time, they'll update the mattresses.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Squashy mattresses
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

This Marriott is typical of other large Marriott hotels that cater to large conventions and leisure travelers. If you are traveling for these purposes, the hotel is a good choice. It is similar to the Marriott Biscayne Bay in Miami and the Marriott San Diego Marina. For the business traveler, however, the location is good, but there are some downsides: The rooms are very outdated and in need of an update. They have flat screens, but no digital cable or HD. Gold/Platinum Elite members are not treated very well. For example, I was put in an abysmal room that was small, low floor, no view, and substandard. When I complained, I got attitude from the front desk and had to persist to get a decent room. Concierge level is not any better than any other floor. In general, the "standard" rooms are very small.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.