We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for exploring a great city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Copley Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Copley Place to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Copley Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Boston
georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A great location for exploring a great city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Not one to rush to the giant chain hotels but preferring to stay in the more intimate boutique hotels, I simply had no choice this past weekend when I accompanied my husband on a recent business trip to Boston.
Our trip consisted of a long weekend stay in Boston--Friday to Monday with his conference taking place at the Marriott Copley Place Hotel.
I must admit the stay at the hotel was much better than I was expecting. This hotel is huge with 38 floors and a massive facility to accommodate a myriad of conferences and conventions. But yet I did not feel overwhelmed. The hotel is located in Boston's Back Bay area---not in the historic North district but an area with great shopping, dinning, Fenway Park, green space, as well as historic churches, and Copley Square
The hotel feeds easily into two very nice upscale malls---one does not need to even venture outside in the elements in order to explore the malls and connecting eating establishments--which I imagine in the winter in Boston would be great.
We stayed on the 24th floor in a room with a king sized bed. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. The room however is small yet comfortable. The view was tremendous with a sweeping view of the south side of the city but the windows, on the outside, were so spotted and dirty, it truly detracted from the view---however I imagine cleaning windows on the 24th floor is no easy feat.
We did get a little hot at night, while sleeping--however our floor was quiet and being on the 24th floor we were not bothered by any street noise.
The hotel does have a pool and fitness center but I never ventured to take a peek.
We did not eat any of our meals at the hotel so I cannot comment on that.
However the hotel is in easy walking distance to many great eating places as well as walking distance to Fenway Park as well as a block or two from the finish line to the Boston Marathon.
Check-in was a breeze as was the express checkout. Taxis are alway ready and waiting and thee is covered valet parking. We actually took a cab in from Logan Airport which was about a 15 minute drive. I understand that the city bus system is a viable means of transportation from the airport as well.
The city's Trolley Tours stop at the hotel making for a great way to see the city as it is a hop on hop off tour--tickets may even be purchased in the hotel's lobby.
Also Boston's famous Duck Boat Tours is located very near to the hotel. Both tour rides offer informative as well as entertaining ways in which to help explore the new as well as the colonial old Boston.
The only glitch with the hotel is the elevator service. When a convention is not taking place or some other massive event is not converging on the hotel, the elevators are probably relatively timely---however for our weekend it was a time consuming process of getting to and from one's room in a timely manner. Two sets of elevators ran from the lobby to floor 26---the other set ran from floors 27--38. Imagine an elevator jammed packed with people packed in like sardines while the elevator stops literally on almost all 25 floors as folks on all levels, who are pushing the buttons, were wanting to move at the same time.
Other than the elevators--the stay was really good. The staff was great, the facilities clean airy and modern all within a vibrant section of time---A very good place to stay in order to visit a wonderful American city.

Room Tip: The higher the room the more expansive the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    852
    306
    90
    28
See reviews for
414
423
91
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Needs an update but very large and comprehensive services. Generally Accommodating staff. Concierge lounge average. Kept milk locked so you had to request it from staff. No hot water overnight but were told by note ahead of time. Great location/connected to variety of luxury shops/restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you also for taking the time to express your feelings about our hotel. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, although there were some aspects that you thought could have been better. Once again, thank you for your comments.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next trip to the area.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, Kwazulu-natal, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in a properly comfortable hotel. There has been so much comment on this site about the speed of the elevators but that never bothered us at all. One niggle - surely free wi-fi should be the norm in the rooms??

Room Tip: You want a view of the river, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The location was perfect, nearby a lot of different attractions, hotel and rooms were clean and comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was the service. The only friendly person working there was the guy who helped me to my cab to leave. Otherwise, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciate having had the opportunity to host you during your last trip to the Boston area. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, while disappointed at the same time that you felt that the customer service was not at the level you expected. This is unusual and I can understand your frustration.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again during your next trip to the area.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

BIG hotel; got top floor room with view for extra dollars
Elevators less than quick ; half were not working
NO free wi-fi except in lobby and there it was very very slow
COncierge fol were excellent with help and advice
Not enough seating area in lobby and very uncomfortable at that.
Needs some updating everywhere
Restaurant was slow but food was good
Would not come back here though I am loyal Marriott customer
Excellent shopping close by

Room Tip: Pay for the view if you must; not that great
See more room tips
Green Features: they did have a bag for recycle and that was great to see. hung the towels so not to have fresh ones
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
56bbc, Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and loyalty to Marriott. I am pleased to hear our Concierge was helpful and you enjoyed the food in Champions. The elevators can be slow at times. We are in the middle of upgrading them to new technology that will improve speed of service in the near future. I have shared your comments with my team so they can take the appropriate action to deliver a better customer experience moving forward.
Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to having you back for a better visit.

Bob Campbell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had the joy of staying on the 29th floor with a fabulous view of the city. We hopped a cab to Hanover area to a wonderful little Italian restaurant still open at 10 pm. Returned to a perfectly clean room and found everything exceeded expectations. Breakfast brunch on floor 28 was unbelievable! An employee named Patricia made the morning delightful. We would go again. Thank u Marriott!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently attended the North American Teacher's of Singing conference at the Boston Marriott Copley Place. This hotel is huge, but run well. All the staff, from the front desk crew to the bellmen, to the wait staff were very knowledgeable and personable. Hard to find in a big corporate hotel. The maid service was excellent and both of the ladies that I interacted with went above making sure we had what we needed. The internet on the higher floors is a bit spotty but was able to reconnect quickly when it happened without major outages. Another plus.

Don't overlook bringing your swimming suit because they have an excellent pool and hot tub, as well as excersize room on the 5th floor, and I overheard several people bemoaning the fact that they'd not even thought to bring suits.

If you have children with you with finicky appitites consider running across the street to Shaw's grocery and stocking up on cereal, milk and finger foods. This hotel may have the slowest response time elevators I've ever seen, but they do eventually show up and get you where you're going quickly. It gives you a chance to get to know your fellow travelers, and I met lots of nice folks from all over the world.

In house parking prices are spendy, so if you are planning a lenghty stay you might consider finding an off site parking garage for a few dollars less, or leave the car home and take public transport which is readily available at the entrance area to the lobby outside.

Check for the availability of outside tour opportunities. Several leave from eiher the hotel or close to the hotel, including a tour of Boston and the harbor in Amphibous vehicles you can board across the street.

Shopping affectionados should love the Copley which is attached to two main malls, and the food court at the mall is a good option to grab a decent and fairly priced quick lunch between sessions of whichever conference you may be attending.

Overall a GREAT experience and I would consider revisiting this property if I'm ever in the area again!

Room Tip: Lower floors seem to have better wi-fi access
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, towels and bedding changed only when we requested them to be.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.