We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Wasn't Worthy of a $250+ pricetag” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Copley Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Copley Place to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Copley Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This Wasn't Worthy of a $250+ pricetag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've been to this Marriott numerous times over the years. I've been there during good years and I've been there when renovations were needed.

Last June I was here and I really liked the room; it was large and was recently renovated.

So when I came back recently I was expecting the same updates and i was surprised that my smaller room was no where near as nice as the one I had stayed in a few months earlier.

The King room was very small and the bathroom among the smallest I've seen in some time. And this is supposedly one of Boston's nicer hotels.

What galls me is Marriott's insistence on making people pay $12.95 for Internet. Come on Marriott--don't be such a penny pincher! If you really think Millenials are going to pick your hotel chain over others then get with the program and just make the damn thing complementary. It's 2013! And, yes, it IS ENOUGH to have people choosing another chain that doesn't charge for that.

With all of that said, I would suggest you partake in the chicken wings at Champions bar located inside the Marriott. Those are great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    955
    340
    98
    36
See reviews for
450
473
98
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Close to great shopping and restaurants. Great hotel-love the rooms, restaurants and bars. Very friendly and professional staff. And of course the city of Boston is the best! Would definitely recommend this hotel. It's in the heart of the city with lots to do and close to transportation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days while attending a conference. The hotel is very clean and the location is great, but the staff is pretty rude and unfriendly. I don't want to make a generalization, but Bostonian are not welcoming at all. I noticed this the first time a visited the city two years ago, but didn't want to judge the people at that time. This time I purposefully smiled at people and greeted them with a good morning, good evening, etc, and verified my previous observation. I have visited all major cities in the US and by far Bostonians are the most unfriendly city ever.
The hotel staff is very stiff and rarely make eye contact with you.
The only restaurant at the hotel is a sport bar and the prices are outrageous. For example, the breakfast buffet is $22.00 and it is not anything special. Food was cold and poor quality ( I have had the same breakfast at a dinner for probably $6 or $7 bucks.
I will never stay at a this Marriott and will never return to the city either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was my third stay over several years at this hotel. I like its location and proximity to shopping and dining. The layout is nice, the view was beautiful (this time I asked for a high floor and harbor view based on another review). I was alone and had a "corner room". It had great light and was very quiet. The only issue was the elevators - apparently repairs are being done so they were extremely slow. But this will pass.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location can't be beat for access to highlights of Boston. It's especially great when a conference hotel has a mall attached and a grocery store across the street. However, the beds were really soft to the point of being uncomfortable. Used room service trays sat in the halls for 24 hours. The elevators were awful. Also, I shipped a package to myself, and when I went to pick it up, there was a $20 extra "handling fee" charged by the FedEx Office in the hotel--which was never mentioned by the two hotel people and two FedEx people I talked to when I was shipping the package.

Room Tip: I asked for a river view, but got a "city" view which looked into a nearby building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is a block away from the Freedom Walk. It's a nice hotel with very nice rooms. The beds were great. Legal Seafood is close by, as well as many other places to eat. The service here was good and the hotel is very pretty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

it is a nice hotel, and very nice location. It is very convenience for walk around downtown area. the price is bit high. The service is great. it is family friendly, and have a lot of service that can be used for business trip as well. great location for shopping.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.