We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good conference location and services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Copley Place

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Copley Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Boston
New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good conference location and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great layout for large conference, reliable food, friendly staff. Rooms were immaculate (we were in a recently renovated room). Did not care for bathroom amenity brand - glad I brought my own shampoo. Layout of 2nd through 4th floors is great for meetings both large and small. Restaurant/bar handled small parties very well for social breakout sessions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the "recently renovated batch."
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    826
    293
    87
    28
See reviews for
400
408
90
615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location is brilliant for business and shopping. Subway access is great and plenty of things to do in area. Service at check in was great- courteous and helpful. Pity about the rooms: tired layout and furnishing. Bath water never really got hot. Really battled with the cold mornings. Was fortunate enough to be on a high enough floor with great views

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed over at the Marriot at Copley Place for our 11th Anniversary. Everyone from the Valet to the front desk person were very pleasant. We had a great view from the 9th floor and were close to everything we wanted to see and do.

Thanks for a great night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Marriott Copley Place is a gigantic conference hotel. In many ways, that's a good thing. It's big enough they can handle almost any need you have or request you make. Service was very good at the front desk.

The downside is that if you're not here for one of the mega conferences going on, the crowds can be a little overwhelming.

Easy walk to the T and connected to two different shopping malls.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
1,724 helpful votes 1,724 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Overall I was very happy with my stay at the Boston Marriott Copley Place. Here are the key aspects:

1. Location- It was located in an upscale area of Boston and connected to a high end shopping mall via enclosed skywalks. Close to the hotel were Neiman Marcus and Barneys.
2. Staff- The staff were extremely friendly. Check-in was prompt and whenever my colleagues and I met up in the lobby, the Front Desk staff invariably said hello to us.
3. Room- My room was spacious and contained a coffee maker, flat screen TV and an empty mini-bar refrigerator.
3. Concierge Lounge- I had access to the Lounge and was surprised to learn that they charged for alcoholic beverages. Normally a basic selection of beer and wine is complimentary in Marriott Concierge Lounges.
4. Internet- The internet was free for Gold/Platinum Elites and worked quickly. If I recall correctly, their std rate was $12.50/day for std. access and more for high speed access.
5. Valet Parking- Our car was redelivered to us in a garage at the back of the hotel. We were there in January when it was bitterly cold (9 degrees) and the valets wouldn’t let us turn on the car to warm it up until we were ready to drive off which made for an initial chilly car ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Marriott copley place is wonderful. the shopping malls attahced are excellent, especailly in the cold. i was on the room on the 38th floor, and could have been happier. I went to the lounge on the second floor, and was extremely pleased. the bartender (female) was superb, and they carry just about every tpe of liquor you could ask for, (including diamond vodka). Dinner was served very well.

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, ME
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We attended a multi-day conference at the Copley Marriott, and added an extra day to be able to sight-see. Our room had a great view (31st floor) and was spotlessly clean. The air circulation was not the best, and every time we re-entered the room there was a slightly damp, stuffiness to the room. Throughout our stay, the housekeeping was very good, and our contacts with housekeeping were invariably polite and friendly and helpful. We really appreciated the impeccably clean bathroom. The toiletries are good quality The bed was very nice - but the down comforter had clumps of feathers that were noticeable when sat upon! The room fridge was a good size and worked very well. The room size was fairly spacious - enough so that spreading out a yoga mat would be comfortable.

The rest of the staff was hit-or-miss in their understanding of working in the "hospitality" industry. I had a very good experience with the person manning the concierge desk one morning, and then on the afternoon of the following day, was treated as if I was a moron by a different person at that same desk. I attempted to order from room service late one night - and in spite of the item being listed on their menu as being available until midnight, was told I couldn't order it. When I pointed out that it was in the room service booklet for that time frame, the person sighed heavily and I was disconnected from the call. To be honest, I don't know whether it was on purpose or an accidental disconnect. I immediately called back, spoke to a different person and was told that yes, that item could indeed be ordered. Having consistency in the level of hospitable service would be a big improvement. On the morning that we left, I called to see if it was possible to get a later check-out time (the conference ran past their stated check-out time) and was told that no, we could not get a later check out. Period. When I asked why, she got very snippy and said that it was "against policy" to allow a person who had already paid their bill to stay longer than the stated time. I told her that I was unaware that we had paid up already and was told that perhaps I should communicate more closely with my fellow-traveler (my husband). If it was meant to be funny, it missed the mark by a mile and merely sounded petty and unprofessional. (And does paying the bill prior to relinquishing the keys equal "checking out" any place else but the Marriott?)

We tried out Champions, the in-house restaurant. Given the proximity to so many other restaurants very close at hand, pass on the in-house and go get real food that costs a LOT less.

The advantage to staying at this place is the fact that it is connected by a pedestrian walkway to the Prudential Center and all the shops. Since the weather was cold, windy and wet it was very nice having the option of never having to drag a coat around while shopping. The parking is very pricey (I know this is Boston and EVERYTHING is pricey) but it certainly made us glad that we didn't drive down! There is a T stop very close by and between that and the multitudes of taxis available at all times of the night and day, you can save quite a bit by not having to pay for parking privileges. Also, the tendency for the "high end" hotels to charge for WiFi is just obnoxious, and the Marriott has chosen to do this rather than add $5 to the room rate that would cover the cost of a secure WiFi for all their clientele. It seemed like their occupancy rate was pretty high, so why act like the airlines with their nickle & dime-ing and ticking off their paying customers? The Prudential Center has free WiFi, but it's not a secured system.

All in all, there are plenty of options for hotels in the Boston area and this one falls into the middle - it was an okay stay, but having consistency in their customer service would go a long way in making this a "can't wait to go back there" hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.