We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, HUGE, busy conference hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Copley Place

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Copley Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #49 of 77 hotels in Boston
Irvington, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice, HUGE, busy conference hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed three nights in the Boston Marriott Copley Place in mid-April for a conference. It was actually the second time I've stayed at this hotel (first time was in 2007). I have mostly positive things to say about the experience.

I had a room on a high floor that was renovated (all new stuff) and very nice, with a flat-screen television, two cordless phones, a coffee maker (I didn't use it) and nice furnishings. One whole wall was made up of windows, which afforded a striking view looking south (not toward the main part of the city, but you could see the Prudential building and a bit of the river, as well as the harbor and the South End). I'm not sure all the rooms are renovated, so that would be something to ask about. But this one was truly beautiful.

The bed was super comfortable, as were the pillows (I was on one of the feather-free floors).

The bathroom was clean and very nice, but a bit small (not uncomfortably so, though).

The service was really good. The front desk clerk who checked me in went above and beyond to help me with a variety of matters (like arranging for a roll-away for a friend staying over the last night), as did the front desk clerks and concierges to whom I posed questions during my visit (probably four interactions). The housekeeper did a great job and also worked around me without making me feel bad about it. One afternoon, I was doing some work in the room when she knocked to clean it, and when I started gathering my papers and computer to leave so she could clean, she nicely told me not to worry, as I should finish my work and she would come back. I appreciated her attitude.

The lobby area (which really covers multiple floors, especially the first and second, with open areas on the third and fourth related to the conference facilities, all connected by open escalators) was nice enough, although there weren't always enough seats if you wanted a place to hang out for a while and use the free wireless (it's a pricey $12.95/day to access the Internet in the room, but wireless in the lobby is free). I have no idea what the earlier reviewer was talking about with homeless people. I spent the bulk of three days in the hotel (due to the conference), and I didn't see a single homeless person. I felt safe in the lobby, even the night we came back after midnight.

As for location, it's pretty ideal. The hotel is essentially in the Copley mall, and a second mall across Huntington Avenue is accessible via an enclosed bridge. The Copley stop on the green T line is a block away on Boylston, so you can easily get pretty much anywhere you want to go. There are a lot of restaurants and bars on and around Boyslton, and Newberry Street is just two blocks up, which is loaded with shops, restaurants, bars and pretty scenery.

It is important to note that the hotel is huge, not just in the number of rooms but the fact that there are three floors of conference facilities, so the place always feels packed with people. As such, the restaurant and the Starbucks on the second floor are usually packed. The busy nature isn't inherently a bad thing, but if you're looking for a quiet little hotel, this isn't it.

Also, that area of Boston is pricey. It wasn't easy to find a cheap meal in that neighborhood (although good food was plentiful).

I only had two real complaints. The big one is the elevators (if you are on a high floor). The bank that serves floors 28 and above only has four cars. During peak times, it was a wait to get an elevator. One afternoon I waited more than 10 minutes. It was a bit frustrating.

Also, a room near mine was being renovated, and while the construction noise didn't bother me, I was a bit annoyed with the workers speaking really loudly (nearly yelling). People sleep at all hours in a hotel, and for three days the workers didn't seem to have much regard for this fact.

Overall, though, I was very happy with my experience at the Boston Marriott Copley Place, and I would definitely stay there again if everything (price, where I needed to be, etc.) worked out.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been renovated. Also, it might be worth sacrificing some view to be on floor 26...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    745
    266
    83
    27
See reviews for
356
377
90
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

As a member of the Mariott rewards program, we were immediately upgraded to a suite upon arrival. Stayed on the 35th floor, away from the elevator. Great view of city, and we could watch the planes take off from the Logan airport. We had a nice, clean room, and a super comfy bed (well of course, it's a Marriott!). Great gym and pool- fully stocked. SUPER location as well-it is inside a mall, so basically any shop you can think of is just steps away... That being said, it is a little strange that anyone from the mall can just walk into the hotel... Very lax security. Saw numerous homeless people wandering around the lobby/2nd floor. Another thing to consider is that parking is very expensive. I wouldn't stay here again, however, as it was too large a hotel for me, and roughly the same price as the cute boutique hotels in smaller neighborhoods.
Also, (something that may have impacted my opinion of the hotel)... We stayed there when the Japanese Anime Convention was going on, so it was VERY noisy. 8 people were sleeping per room, bizarre costumes, lots of strange people, and the hotel did little to keep order... Less than impressed with the hotel's management of the situation, and the security... Also I was not happy that they didn't inform us of the added activity prior to our stay!

Room Tip: High floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Everything at this hotel is top notch.The staff couldn,t have been nicer and couldn't do enough for you

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I spent 4/5-4/8, 2012 for a convention at the Hynes auditorium at Prudential Center. I was travelling with my adult daugter and 3 teenagers. The convenience was super since you just walk across the catwalk to get to the event. The staff were very friendly and accommodating with extra blankets. We did have room service one evening and found the food very good. I did park my car on my own in the garage with no issues. And i really liked the room and its layout. The daily cleaning was perfect. I appreciated the cleaning staff since the 3 teens werent that neat and the staff picked up.
I am planning already to stay there again next year for the convention!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and the location is awesome. It is right in the middle of everything and walking distance to everything touristy in Boston. The fact that it is so close to Newbury and Boylston Streets is great for shopping, not to mention the fact that it is connected to two malls! I hated the fact that I had to pay $35/day for parking (should be included for rooms over $250/night!), but my stay was great. The room was really clean and comfortable. The hot tub in the pool/gym area was also delightful. Room service was super expensive (but isn't it always?) but involved great service. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you like to bring your gym clothes - this needs to be on your list, when you travel to Boston:

1. Well stocked Gym
2. Pool - Okay its only around 15-20 yards - but it allows you to do some laps
3. 1000 feet from the water, with plenty of tracks to go running

Location on Copley square offers you a chance to go mall shopping - but you don't get the feeling of Boston beeing an "old" town.

Great rooms, nice restaurants - overall a good experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great hotel, great room, great service. I am gold with Marriott, so I always expect to get a good room and good service, but this hotel exceeded my expectations. My room on the 35th floor had one fo the best views I've ever had. The concierge lounge was nice and the exercise/pool/spa was great. Very well done.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.