We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 40 Berkeley to your Saves list
40 Berkeley
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   40 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Great location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had a great time in Boston staying at 40 Berkeley. It was what I was expecting. My room was clean and restrooms were generally clean. I was out the whole day so I just go back to take a shower and sleep. I love their breakfast too! They have free activities per day that will be useful if you want to hang out with fellow guest. The staff were friendly and know the area. Maps are available. So, no complains except for some mild noises from the street. Try to have a room away from the street so it is more quite. Will stay here again when I come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    355
    217
    105
    89
See reviews for
81
249
178
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for a reasonable price so we can't complain. When you enter the property it also seems quite modern and new, but our room on the 5th floor was a very depressing prison style room. Just 2 beds, a desk and a way to big closet. All of these in the style of an old prison cell without any colour or shine to it.
The bathrooms were only cleaned once a day so with all those people using it, in the evening it was just not very clean any more. Also the whole hostel seemed occupied by a group of elderly people that seemed to have been there for a long while, really a big contrast with all the young people.
So it was okay for the price we paid in a city on the east coast, but far from impressive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at 40 Berkeley. This time, I was in one of the basic rooms and was in town for a weekend seminar.

The basic rooms are just that - basic. They have a bed, a desk with a lamp, a mirror and a closet. The hostel provides a towel and plastic cups, but no soap or toiletries. The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was a little hard but I had no trouble sleeping. The room was hot due to the older heating system, but I opened both windows and used the ceiling fan and it was comfortable. There is a separate WiFi signal for the guest rooms, so I had no trouble connecting when I was in the room. Bathrooms were on the hall...I never had to wait. Although they are a little on the small side, they also were spotless.

There is a very spacious lobby and a sitting area with rocking chairs, over-stuffed chairs and sofa and tables and a fireplace. There is also a game room and a small movie room with theater-style seats. In the mornings, there is a full breakfast which is included with the room price. They also serve a mid-day meal, but I was not there for that. They have free local tours and information about Boston available.

40 Berkeley used to be a women's residence for the local YWCA and the rooms still have that utilitarian feel. In the main lobby, there is still a wall of the old-fashioned mailboxes with combination locks that the residents used. Everyone is very friendly and the place was perfectly suited for me, as I was spending almost all day at a seminar and simply wanted a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay that didn't cost an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here two nights in a twin bedroom, because the single rooms were all taken, and paid around 110 dollars per night. The room was very basic, with only two beds and a desk.

The hostel corridors were not noisy, but there was noise coming from the main road during most of the night. There is one common bathroom per floor, which gets dirty (and runs out of toilet paper) by the end of the day. The staff are very slow and not very nice either.

The only good things were the price (the other hotels in Boston were more expensive), and the fact that breakfast is included. The food was basic but there was variety. I would recommend paying 50 dollars more and staying at a better hotel.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get a single room. The twin rooms are more expensive and not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend in October for 4 nights, as we managed to book through an off season deal on hostel world (making this $90 a night for a private room) - which in Boston is extremely good.
Great location on a fairly quiet leafy street, near central Boston (about a 20 minute walk to Boston common).
Free breakfasts were great (cooked, cereals, toast, lots of different juice, coffee etc)..no complaints there!
Downstairs part of the hostel is wonderful...with lots of sofas and deck chairs, pool tables, a popcorn machine that is on most days, and free starbucks coffee all day! Nicest communal areas I've ever been in a hostel.
The rooms aren't great however....very similar to old halls of residence in college (but my halls were even nicer than these!) very basic wooden beds, wooden wardrobe and wooden chest of drawers. The bathroom is veeery old, and feels like a victorian school toilet (but it was clean and the showers powerful so no real complaints there!)
Only odd part was that this hostel has a lot of residents who live there (all elderly), which is very strange and provides quite a weird atmosphere, especially compared to most other hostels we've ever stayed in. No 'young hostel atmosphere' here really at all....in fact it felt a bit like an old persons home, or some kind of hospital at times!
Despite this...still a really nice hostel, really nice area, and would stay here again if was on a budget in Boston. Perfect for couples I think, but not individuals or groups of young travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was visiting Boston from California. The price was something really attracted me to stay in the place. Facilities were clean overall. The location was superb. The one thing that I didn't like the most was the noise level at night. I heard people shouting outside which disturbed my sleep multiple times. I could also hear people walking around and talking in the hallway at late night. I would suggest people to bring earplugs to avoid the noise. I enjoyed complimentary starbucks coffee and popcorns. Staffs were very helpful. I used their advices to visit different restaurants and sites. If I come back here, I would definitely stay here again. I couldn't find anything better than this one when it comes to budgeting. However, if you don't mind spending an extra money and looking for more comfortable places, I would recommend you to find somewhere else. It is due to shared bathrooms and showers. I had to walk quite a bit to just use the bathroom at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room is tiny and seems like an hospital with that creepy bed.
The breakfast seems like a jail meal or the worst school restaurant.
The bathrooms seem as school bathrooms with 3 showers and 3 latrine.

I would not recommend that place for anyone. If you want to stay in Boston near downtown, I recommended you to spend more. And the city is beautiful there's a lot of affordable hotels in good locations, and the public transport is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40 Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.