We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 40 Berkeley to your Saves list
40 Berkeley
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   40 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
San Diego, California
1 review
“Overall good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was visiting Boston from California. The price was something really attracted me to stay in the place. Facilities were clean overall. The location was superb. The one thing that I didn't like the most was the noise level at night. I heard people shouting outside which disturbed my sleep multiple times. I could also hear people walking around and talking in the hallway at late night. I would suggest people to bring earplugs to avoid the noise. I enjoyed complimentary starbucks coffee and popcorns. Staffs were very helpful. I used their advices to visit different restaurants and sites. If I come back here, I would definitely stay here again. I couldn't find anything better than this one when it comes to budgeting. However, if you don't mind spending an extra money and looking for more comfortable places, I would recommend you to find somewhere else. It is due to shared bathrooms and showers. I had to walk quite a bit to just use the bathroom at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    356
    217
    105
    89
See reviews for
82
249
178
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room is tiny and seems like an hospital with that creepy bed.
The breakfast seems like a jail meal or the worst school restaurant.
The bathrooms seem as school bathrooms with 3 showers and 3 latrine.

I would not recommend that place for anyone. If you want to stay in Boston near downtown, I recommended you to spend more. And the city is beautiful there's a lot of affordable hotels in good locations, and the public transport is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was really desapointing and even the photos showed in their website are very old. The front desk staff was really the worse experience in Boston. Rooms quite simple. The vending machine - the only one in the place was broken and stayed like tthat for 3 days -.Breakfast was OK, but everythng was very greasy. The only good thing about this property is that it is located near the Back Bay center and subway. I only recommend this place if you are low in budget. Otherwise there are other better options.

Room Tip: There is a suite room that is worth on the 7th floor. It's a bit expensive, but its convenient f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, Manager at 40 Berkeley, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Marcelo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and thoughts about us. I would like to apologize for the experience you had here, it sounds very out of the ordinary. We pride ourselves in providing a welcoming environment to everyone. I'm very sorry that this was not in line with what you experienced, and hope that you are willing to give us a second chance on your next Boston visit.

Cheers
Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I started going to 40 Berkely almost 10 years ago ,when it was YWCA
it is much better now, cleaner ,brighter much more happier ...spent 8 nights and
the best breakfasts for an hostel or hotelis very good single room $ 80. a night and $ 84 for week end cannot find better for the price and the situation

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luettgenrode
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had stayed at 40 Berkely before and was happy to find a room for our weekend trip to Boston. It's so conveniently located a few blocks from the T (Back Bay Station) and in a really nice neighborhood. The front desk is very knowledgeable and assists in any questions or inquiries you might have. The only wish I have is that the furniture gets replaced soon, it is really outdated. And the hallways could use fresh paint as well. Overall, this is a great place to experience Boston for an affordable price, unlike the majority of the accommodations in Boston!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

After being treated badly in HI Boston (see the review for details) it was good to experience nice and friendly customer service at 40 Berkeley. This hostel is in a nice area, a good pub nearby, 7-Eleven maybe a block away, a few minutes to the subway station, a great area to have a little evening walk and see beautiful buildings.

The hostel has a huge common area and it's nice to spend time there - even I liked it even though I don't usually enjoy the common areas. The breakfast is the best hostel breakfast I have had with watermelon etc. and the room was good enough - you need to remember you are in a hostel! The wifi worked well, too. The only things why we don't give five points are the showers (low water pressure, first cold then hot) and the fact that two elevators aren't enough for this size hostel.

If going to Boston again, this is easily our choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent 4 nights in 40 Berkeley in September 2012. I picked it for location and cost. At about $100 per night for a twin room in the Back Bay area of Boston, it seemed like a good pretty good price for a really good location. The location is 40 Berkeley's best feature. It's 4 blocks from Copley Square and it's $300/night hotels. You can walk to Boston Common in 10 - 15 minutes OR to the Museum of Fine Arts in less than 30 minutes. The historic, tree-lined residential streets of brick row houses provide all the charm you could want.

And, $100 per night for a twin room is pretty cheap. Breakfast included by the way.

Ultimately, though, the negatives outweighed the location and affordability for me. 40 Berkeley is LITERALLY a college dorm building circa 1960. The rooms have one built-in desk and one built-in closet (so I am assuming they were single rooms when built). The floors all have that 50's hard linoleum tile commonly found in old office buildings. The shared bathrooms are one large men's room and one large women's for the entire floor. (In the men's, three showers, three stalls, 2 urinals, three sinks.) And, the included breakfast is served in the college cafeteria on lower level.....steel steam trays with college-eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes and of course some fruit and cereals.

If I sound a little bit nostalgic about how similar 40 Berkeley was to my early 80s college dorm life, it's probably because I was mildly entertained by the similarities. I was also vividly reminded of how much dorm life and dorm food sucked. And, just like my college dorm, the bathrooms appeared to be cleaned once a day.....so by the time night rolls around, they can be pretty littered.

Three more points to make:
1 - 40 Berkeley is pretty danged big. It's 6 or 7 floors....maybe 50 rooms per floor. So, there are a lot of people there. The number of international travelers there is really noticeable.
2 -- It seemed to me and my traveling companion had a permanent resident population. Women who are probably in a public housing program. That wasn't an issue for us, but clearly everyone there was not a traveler.
3 - Some of the other amenities (the TV/movie theater, the first floor lounge areas, the free coffee and pop corn, the courtyard) were pluses.

I am typically an "all I need is a bed in a room" traveler. However, if I were to go back to Boston, I would look for a different "bed in a room" option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40 Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.