We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
25 Evans Way, Boston, MA 02115
+1 617-566-1401
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$53*
and up
Ranked #25 of 194 Attractions in Boston
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Nature & Parks, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Venetian palace in the middle of Boston, Gardner's home is now a museum displaying her impressive, eclectic collection of European, American and Asian art, including sculpture, paintings, furniture, ceramics and textiles. Visitors can stroll or rest in a spectacular skylit courtyard filled with plants and flowers.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A real gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spectacular artworks presented in a beautiful building very close to the Museum of Fine Arts. Under-visited so usually quieter than MFA!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    220
    98
    50
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seriously overrated.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have to say I was extremely disappointed by the Gardner. The lighting was extremely poor, making it almost impossible to SEE the many works of art gathered there. I understand the compromise between preserving the works and showing the works, but what's the use in having a museum that keeps the art in the dark? It was a thorough disappointment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Somber Afternooon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

There were four of us together and it wasn't a long visit - about 2 1/2 hours. It was the second visit for some and first for others. Although it was a relatively bright day the museum was so dull and somber that it very much affected all of our impressions. The museum is certainly a tribute to Gardner but it strikes me as a place that would be best for aspiring artists (of any pursuit) as it is, in effect, frozen in time by her restriction on changes. The collection appears haphazard, without continuity or theme but the recorded guide messages do help to provide some limited context. For something that it intended as a memorial to Gardner there doesn't seem to be enough of anything to give or even leave an impression of why a particular object is included and only very limited relationship to her life and time or the origin of the piece. We likely wouldn't return unless there was a better and more complete attempt to provide background and context to the exhibits.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Return Trip to Check Out Renzo Piano's Addition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is our second trip to the Gardner Museum. We were curious about the Renzo Piano addition. What this dramatic piece of architecture did for the museum was give it a larger reception area, provide a more suitable place for lectures, events, and provide an independent space for a collection of greenhouse plants. My only criticism as an architect is the addition's stark, modernist design seems to conflict with, rather than complement, the existing museum, whose classic architecture emulated palaces built in Venice. The renaissance paintings are worth the time you visit here. And we did take the architectural tour- it's included with the price of admission, and I learned a lot from it. Worth your 20 minutes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, NH
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We received a museum pass from our local library to visit. Parking is difficult; lots $28.00 for average museum visit. Very interesting-- get audio tour or read all the room cards; it will enrich the experience of visiting.

Cafe pannini sandwich was very nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum also viewed

 

Been to Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.