We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disaster, too hot, seat room is a (bad) joke, too crowded” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shubert Theater

Shubert Theater
265 Tremont St., Theatre District, Boston, MA 02116 (Downtown)
617-482-9393, 800-447-7400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #221 of 430 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venerable theater, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, opened in 1910.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A disaster, too hot, seat room is a (bad) joke, too crowded”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have suffered through the Shubert in the past, but have had enough. Last night's performance of Cosi Fan Tutte was okay, but the Shubert was a disaster. It was incredibly hot. As always, the halls are ridiculously crowded during intermission, with no traffic flow. But worst of all, the seats - downstairs no less - had virtually no leg room. We literally had to swing to the sides to allow room for our knees. With so many options today (HD Theater, e.g.), someone has to wake up and realize that opera will not last (or other cultural events) in Boston if one can not have a pleasant, worthwhile experience. Before, you dish out $90+ for such tickets, check the venue. If it is the Shubert, PASS!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice theater but no tight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We are six feet tall and the orch. legroom was quite tight. Not fun for an otherwise delightful opera in a beautiful theater. We think its is time for folks to complain and vote with their hind ends. Come on theaters - we are not sardines!! The Opera House is much more comfortable. Symphony Hall and the Wang are okay.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
355 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“NICE THEATER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of the major theaters in town. But also one of the smaller ones. Shows here are intimate and nicely done. Front seats in the dress circle boxes are slightly obstructed - not enough so to ruin any show but noticeable. Best seats are straight on orchestra or balcony though all except box seats area bit cramped. Do not be deterred by anything.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comedy show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A beautiful, old style theater where we caught a stand-up comedy show. The seats were comfortable, the sound was excellent, the attendants were helpful and we would go back for another show.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Theater is outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Theater is really something to see, It was in excellent shape and seats were great.

Staff was outsanding and were wonderful to us. Took my wife, grandson and myself to

see mummenshanz was interesting, My wife is handicapped and the staff was extremly helpful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shubert Theater also viewed

 

Been to Shubert Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shubert Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.