We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityView Trolley Tours

CityView Trolley Tours
296 State Street, by the Long Wharf Marriott, Boston, MA 02109
617.363.7899
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #21 of 138 activities in Boston
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hop off and hop back on to explore Freedom Trail Sites, go shopping, dine across town and/or visit area attractions, locations, the harbor, and so much more.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great time on the trolley tour! Vacation Vinnie was the best! He was very funny and kept us captivated by the historical part of Boston (and the no-so-historical part). He really knew his stuff. We got the two day pass and went again the next day, and who was our guide? Vacation Vinnie!! We had another tour guide later on, he was good but not as good as Vinnie! We also we on the "haabah" cruise and it was very enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    43
    13
    10
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wish I could give a good recommendation, but there were several shortcomings. First, when we bought our tickets on the trolley ($37 each) we were not informed that they stop running at 4:30 pm. Secondly, when we were ready to board the trolley at 4:15, we went to the closest stop according to their map, although it did not give any specific details regarding the exact location, so we went to the corner where other trolleys were stopping. We waited and waited. I called the company several times and left messages. There was no response. Meanwhile other trolley companies were coming and going. We waited 30 minutes at that stop and CityView never showed, so we ended up walking to our next stop. We found out the next day that we were at the wrong corner, but it was not indicated on their map nor are there any signs. In addition, their brochure does not give the hours of operation.

We were disappointed and felt we certainly did not get our money's worth. I asked for a refund, but they refused. I would not recommend this company. We wished we had tried the Duck tours instead. We have heard good things about that tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishgraphics, Public Relations Manager at CityView Trolley Tours, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not informed of the trolley schedules for the day and that there were not sufficient trolleys stopping as needed.Because hours of operation change seasonally we do not post that information in our year round brochures. The information is on our website. We pride ourselves on service and thank you for this input. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Trolleys great for young and old; harbor cruise kinda weak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Like others suggested, you should ride the trolley through it's entire route. Then take advantage of the specific stops that interest you the most. Plus this gives you the chance to experience different tour guides. Some guides offer a comical experience while others provide a more historical perspective. All guides seemed very informative and offered advice for specific highlights to see (and not see) at each stop.

Yes you may have to wait 15-20 minutes for your trolley at a stop, but for the most part we never really waited too long.

Our group included young children and a person with bad knees. Taking advantage of the hop on hop off trolley allowed everyone to rest in between sites.

The harbor cruise was probably the weakest feature. The tour guide didn't seem very informative and the speakers were barely audible. I would suggest sitting on the dock side to get the best views.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
“Doc gave the right medicine for a fun vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Can't recommend taking a CityView tour of Boston any more than the five rating they allow here. Doc was a true professional that gave a great overview of Historic Boston mixed with background information and with a unique sense of humor. I would definitely recommend this way to see the sights while leaving plenty of room to get off and on during the day. If we ever get a chance to come back to Boston, we will take the tour again and hope to get Doc. He's a very "punny" guy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quick and easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are short on time (a day or even a half of a day) this is a way to see the historical sites that are so important to us. Also there are nine stops where one can disembark and see the sites in that area and after looking around get back on the bus......stop at Paul Revere's house, see Old North Church.....hop back on and jump off again at Old Ironsides in Charlestown. Well worth the cost.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CityView Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityView Trolley Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added CityView Trolley Tours to your Saves list