We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend a summer day cruising waters of Boston Harbor/Hiking the islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area

Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area
191W Atlantic Ave, Boston, MA 02110
+1 617-223-8666
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
Boston Historic Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #31 of 283 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Camping, Fishing, Hiking, Motor-boating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This National Park consists of 34 small islands just off shore in Boston Harbor. The most popular, George's Island, is home to Fort Warren, a Civil War Landmark that housed Confederate prisoners. Visitors to the 12 islands open for exploration can camp, kayak, tour lighthouses, ride harbor ferries, hike and swim.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
477 reviews
265 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a summer day cruising waters of Boston Harbor/Hiking the islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went to Peddocks after making stops at Grape and Bumpkin from Hingham harbor. The boat ride takes about an hour, including the stops in between. Many of the people I saw on the boat were camping on one of the islands. I was only there for the day and took the 3pm ferry back (you can get on at 1:40pm, but won't get back to Hingham until after the 3pm Peddocks stop). There is a great brochure explaining all the structures on Peddocks. One of rangers even explained some of the film of Shutter Island and which buildings were featured (along with CGI to add additional structures). To get to the less rocky beach, you need to walk a small path from one side of the island to the other. There are some privately owned cottages on that beach.

There is some free parking in the Hingham lot...you just need to get a pass to put in your car.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    79
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Under-rated and often missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Boston Harbor Islands Natl Park offers some unusual, family-friendly and good value programs. We took the Harbor Light cruise in June, out to the Boston Light on Little Brewster Island. Wonderful harbor cruise, interesting commentary on the history of the harbor and other islands. Amazing opportunity to climb the oldest lighthouse and stand next to the lens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So close yet so "far away!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been to the Boston Harbor Islands on numerous occasions, and the price is right! On a dozen occasions with my Summer Camp, I have stayed overnight on different islands. It all started with the trip to George's Island then the water-taxi to the respective islands. There is often a warden on the island for the Summer. We then just reverse the process to get back to Boston. A historic, educational, environmental, biological trip all wrapped into one.

On one occasion we got to one of the islands with a private vessel. There is a landing to get on and off the island and the vessel then anchors just off the coast.

Also great trips just to George's Island but no overnights on that island.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“River trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The river trip was great and an opportunity to see the City from a different aspect. It was worth getting off at Charlestown to take the walk up to Bunker Hill. We were then able to catch another boat back to where we started.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Summer Day outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Experience Boston in another way - see it from the ocean. Spectacle island has a beach and a nice hiking path. It also has some intersting artefacts at the pavillion.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.