We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful waterfront!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area

Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area
Boston, MA
617-223-8666
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #18 of 208 attractions in Boston
Type: National Parks, Islands
Activities: Hiking, Motor-boating, Camping, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This National Park consists of 34 small islands just off shore in Boston Harbor. The most popular, George's Island, is home to Fort Warren, a Civil War Landmark that housed Confederate prisoners. Visitors to the 12 islands open for exploration can camp, kayak, tour lighthouses, ride harbor ferries, hike and swim.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfront!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I went for a walk on the waterfront and we enjoyed it very much! We will come back during summer time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    54
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another gem in the boston harbor system.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went on the two location pass to Georges Is, and Castle is. The castle is quite interesting to see how some military and non military people lived there, At one point it was serving as a prison for Civil War prisoners from the South. You take little water taxi to the Georges Is and it is quite natural indeed, Not much there but walk on a few trails but it is beautiful. The water taxi is quite small and on a choppy seas day you will get quite a bit of sea spray. It you have never experianced that it is a little suprising how salty you become. But its the sea,,

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love the Boston Harbor Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I take my kids here every year, usually a couple times each summer. The boys love to run around the old fort structures and my daughter and I love to hunt for sea glass. For us its usually a two boat trip out as we like to go to the smaller islands where there is never a crowd. You can walk the whole way around the island and oftentimes never see another person. I've heard there is camping on the islands as well..can't wait for my little ones to get a bit bigger so we can try that out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Boston cruises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have taken harbor cruises many times. The most fun was to
Provincetown. We always went in the fall. We often saw whales.
Had fun dancing to the band too. It's a great day trip.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Fun Day of Island Hopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took the tour boat to George's Island and did a guided tour of Fort Warren. An interesting and informative tour.

Then we hopped on the boat and headed to Spectacle Island. There we ate, walked around then swam. Refreshing as it was a hot day.

Kids and adults had a great time. Well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area to your Saves list