We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful way to see Boston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles River Canoe & Kayak

Charles River Canoe & Kayak
1071 Soldier's Field Road, Allston, Boston, MA (Allston / Brighton)
617-965-5110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 175 Activities in Boston
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy an outing on one of the most scenic sections of urban river in the country. An experience on the Charles River from our Boston location in Allston/Brighton is a wonderful respite from the surrounding city, with parkland on both shores and rowers plying the waters. Head downstream and you'll encounter local colleges (Harvard, M.I.T., and B.U.) and eventually the Esplanade (a great picnic spot!) and the unforgettable Boston skyline.This nine-mile stretch of river has no current, allowing painless round trips. However, renters can also enjoy one-way trips to or from our Cambridge location in Kendall Square — a unique way to see the city!
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a wonderful way to see Boston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in Beacon Hill, so it was a quick walk across the Longfellow Bridge to Kendall Square. We loved the friendliness of the staff and especially the 3 hour Harbour Kayak tour and our guide, Ed. It was fun to not only kayak, but to hear the harbour history, go through the locks (seriously, how fun is it to be able to say you did this in a kayak?!!), be up close to a war ship and enjoy the outdoors! I would highly recommend this trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Boston by kayak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We did the 3 hour kayak tour where you kayak up the canal, into the Charles river, through the locks then into Boston harbour. The tour was awesome. Our guide was great and she had lots of interesting facts about Boston.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful expercience, especially great that we could get the configuration exactly as we had it in mind (one of our 8-yos in his very own kayak, the other with an adult, two 10-yrolds in a double, and two adults each in a single). Lots of boats and safety gear, no waiting time, great fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Escape from the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Such a nice and relaxing escape from city life! Take a lunch and stop in one of the many wooded areas for lunch to add to a nice visit. Reasonably priced at 20/hour for a double kayak, rentals, and life jackets. Must take a self explanatory safety quiz before renting. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be making this a new summer tradition!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We rented two doubled kayaks. If was simple to rent, good thing we had previous experience. Im not sure there would have been much instruction. They just kinda gave us the gear and set us free. We didn't get a map of the area until we were finished. Great day and location to kayak. It was a bit pricey though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charles River Canoe & Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles River Canoe & Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.