We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standard fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samurai

Samurai
827 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
617 236-7672
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,223 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“standard fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

cool vibe, average sushi, fun drink selection - the boiled spinach was quite good, the sushi definitey better than average but not exceptional. We mostly had Japanese food so can't comment on the Korean side. Prices were fair and atmosphere was fun. Nothing off the charts, but dependable sushi.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool Place, Good Sushi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Sushi was very good as were the specialty drinks. It was pricey for the two of us but I think that is the trend of sushi. There might have been a more reasonable place but the quality was good enough that I didn't mind. They do have many other menu options as well but we only ate the fish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value, good sushi, great bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very good bar service, very good bartenders. It is one of our favorite sushi restaurants in Boston area. Good value, good taste, nice place to watch sports and get sushi. Very tasty Korean dishes as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food. No wait. Excellent overall sushi. Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I visited Samurai while on business. I will be back. The special sushi rolls were great and so was the ginger salad. Everything about the meal including the little frozen cookie at the end was delicious. If you are looking for trendy atmosphere this is not your place. But if you are looking for great food and good service come here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fish and sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great place for lunch. Food fresh, tasty, good variety.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samurai also viewed

 
Boston, MA
 

Been to Samurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samurai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.