We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Fine Arts

Museum of Fine Arts
465 Huntington Ave, Avenue of the Arts, Boston, MA 02115-5597
617-267-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$54*
and up
Boston CityPass
Ranked #1 of 195 Attractions in Boston
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boston's oldest, largest and best-known art institution, the MFA houses one of the world's most comprehensive art collections and is renowned for its Impressionist paintings, Asian and Egyptian collections and early American art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Weston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't forget to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you are an art lover or not, you will definitely like this place. So many lovely exhibits to see, wonderful art work, ancient and modern. one day is not enough to see them all.take your out of town guest or visitor, from a foreign land and enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,244
    563
    86
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hippie Chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went to the MFA specifically for the Hippie Chic exhibition. Fun and fascinating, but there was no context as to why they would include Mod into this. I am coming back to see what else this museum has to offer. Also, unlike many exhibits, they had no problem with photos being taken.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the greats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Broad, magnificent collection. Beautifully curated and displayed. Surprises everywhere. You need weeks to really look at all. New glassed in courtyard is dramatic but a bit of a miss. Went to see the Sargent watercolors and found the paintings beautiful, the people ugly! Please, when you go to an art museum don't talk on your smart phone! Ruined the experience for me. Obnoxious!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MFA in an hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is truly one of the great art museums of the world but, because of the weather, I only had an hour before I had to leave for the airport. So I took the highlights tour, knowing that it would not be satisfying on many levels. But what could I do? Better to see a brief plate of hor d' oreurs than to not see anything at all. We spent most of the time on ancient art and artifacts. But zipping thru Egypt, Greece, Rome and Asia in 30 min is no mean feat. Our docent did an admirable job, tho, and focused on one or 2 objects in each gallery. Our hour was up just as we got into the American section, which is what I was most interested in but...oh, well! Save it for next time! Go. And give yourself more time than I had.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great diverse range of exhibits - downside is that need a couple of visits as there is so much to see.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.