We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Fine Arts

Museum of Fine Arts
465 Huntington Ave, Avenue of the Arts, Boston, MA 02115-5597
617-267-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$54*
and up
Boston CityPass
Ranked #1 of 195 Attractions in Boston
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boston's oldest, largest and best-known art institution, the MFA houses one of the world's most comprehensive art collections and is renowned for its Impressionist paintings, Asian and Egyptian collections and early American art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent about 5 hours in the museum and didn't come close to seeing everything. We most liked the historical paintings, historical model ships, historical American room setups, and the mummy and Egyptian artifacts. It was also cool seeing Monet's, Manet's, Corot's and Michaelangelo's works even though I'm not a masters paintings enthusiast by any means.

The cafeteria food was among the best we had on our entire trip to Boston which is pretty impressive for cafeteria food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,242
    563
    86
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stunning Samurai Special Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the portraits from the revolutionary war period and the Samurai Armor exhibit was absolutely stunning!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best Egyptian collections in the world. The American arts section is also outstanding. Truly a world class museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“World class museum for all ages and interests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recently spent three hours there to see the Michelangelo "Sacred and Profane" special exhibit, as well as "Saumurai!" Both were excellent. The staff are very friendly throughout the museum. Used a pass from my public library to hold down the cost, but a museum membership can pay for itself in two visits. Even the floral arrangements at the ticket office and the information desks are spectacular. This is worth making a special effort to visit, not just 'if it's on my way."

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Amazing...once in a lifetime show...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't want to be over dramatic...but...unless you are travelling to Japan, your chances of seeing something like this are pretty slim...when you think some of the stuff is 700 years old...or more...amazing.

I would like to have seen more swords though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.