We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Samurai Special Exhibit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Fine Arts

Museum of Fine Arts
465 Huntington Ave, Avenue of the Arts, Boston, MA 02115-5597
617-267-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 208 attractions in Boston
Type: Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boston's oldest, largest and best-known art institution, the MFA houses one of the world's most comprehensive art collections and is renowned for its Impressionist paintings, Asian and Egyptian collections and early American art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning Samurai Special Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the portraits from the revolutionary war period and the Samurai Armor exhibit was absolutely stunning!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,824
    440
    73
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best Egyptian collections in the world. The American arts section is also outstanding. Truly a world class museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“World class museum for all ages and interests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recently spent three hours there to see the Michelangelo "Sacred and Profane" special exhibit, as well as "Saumurai!" Both were excellent. The staff are very friendly throughout the museum. Used a pass from my public library to hold down the cost, but a museum membership can pay for itself in two visits. Even the floral arrangements at the ticket office and the information desks are spectacular. This is worth making a special effort to visit, not just 'if it's on my way."

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Amazing...once in a lifetime show...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't want to be over dramatic...but...unless you are travelling to Japan, your chances of seeing something like this are pretty slim...when you think some of the stuff is 700 years old...or more...amazing.

I would like to have seen more swords though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First off, I'm not a big museum person. When I saw this was rated as the #1 attraction in Boston, I was skeptical.... until I went. Hands down, this is a must-do activity while in Boston. The MFA displays amazing art (of all varieties), is well laid out, and is very clean. We spent ~4hrs wandering the halls, enjoying the exhibits. As of June 2013, they have an awesome Samurai exhibit that was worth the price of admission alone. They also display all the big names people love to drop: Michelangelo, Picasso, Monet, Degas, Cezanne, Van Gogh, etc. Those are nice and all, but some of the lesser-known, more contemporary artists shine. I agree with the other reviews that put the MFA on par with the nation's other top museums. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Fine Arts to your Saves list